We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hospitality and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Hopes Group Of Houseboats
Ranked #34 of 591 Specialty Lodging in Srinagar
Reviewed August 10, 2013

i stayed in this houseboat for around one week.the houseboat and its furnishings have original kashmiri wooodcarving and handicrafts work giving it an exquisite touch of artwork.i experienced the genuie and traditional kashmiri hospitality during my entire stay in the houseboat.i got promo fares for my booking and the fares were simply value for money ; a royal class accomodation and service in this budget has never been heard of by me before.The rooms , attached toilets /bathrooms are very clean and there is provision for hot as well as cold water.There is on call boat service which can take you to the market inside the lake or to the roadside on a nominal charge.There is also boat service which shows you around the lake for which hourly charges are as per government rate and discount can be negotiated.In short , being a kashmiri myself i would definately recommed you to stay a few days in this houseboat with your family and also advise you for advance booking to avail of promo fares.

Room Tip: i advise you to book well in advance to avail promo fares on internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sanjeev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Me and my wife had a homely experience during our stay in this houseboat during December 2012... Its purely value for money.. You cannot have better facilities and services at such a reasonable rate in entire Kashmir... Great Place... and we must mention about the owner... Mr. Tariq... You have done a great job... Keep it up... Next time when we will visit Srinagar, surely we will stay at your houseboat...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dhruba42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

the houseboat was excellent value for money.clean and homely.home cooked meals provided and our host ray was available at all times to take care of our needs.trips to mountains and other sightseeing places/airport pick up and drop off were organised by ray at a reasonable cost.boat situated in a quieter part of the lake surrounded by lotus flowers and the mountains and this was great to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature.thanks ray for a wonderfuland memorable stay can't wait for our next visi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asif C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Srinagar is an amazing place, but like many popular tourist places, touts can disturb the wonderful experience.

Staying at Golden Hopes Houseboat was a truly amazing experience. Tariq our host a truly wonderful person. He helped me book the 3 day trek, which was amazing. Also gave the best advice about the area. I was on the little budget and he made anything possible to make my stay in Kashmir unforgettable.

The house boat is a great value, in a quieter location with amazing view. A true peaceful getaway from bustling streets.

The hosts are hospitable and can arrange all the needs.

In house kashmiri food was excellent, and much better value than in the outside overpriced restaurants.

Overall i recommend this place to anyone, and will comeback many many times more

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yevmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Good:
1) Really great location away from the other houseboats and looking out into the lotus garden of Dal Lake
2)Staff are friendly and you can have nice evening chats with them
3)Food prepared is good -although a bit pricey (250rs/pp)
4)Big room, clean sheets, cleanliness overall is good considering it's India!


The Bad:
1)Staff like to talk really loud early in the morning and the houseboats are not soundproof!
2)Staff move around a alot as well in the houseboat so the room moves a bit in the middle of the night
3)There is a mosque near by on the shore and when there is a religious festival or happening, it tends to stay really noisy all night -when we were there it was almost Ramadan and the singing went on until 4am!

The Ugly:
1)Staff talk about other guests behind their back -not so cool
2)We booked a shared jeep thing through Tariq to get to Leh. To make a long story short Tariq (pretending to be so "honest" and good spirited all along otherwise) cheated us out of 400rs, when we complained, pretended he couldn't speak English anymore...

It was a good stay overall but would not recommend you book anything from them though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VHRCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Golden hopes is perfect in every way....incredible stunning location in a quiet part of Dal lake, the most friendly people, beautiful houseboat, delicious food...my stay could not have been better. Tariq and Jhon offer loads of things to do from lake tours, treks, days out but are not at all pushy...they just want you to enjoy your stay to the maximum and to feel at home. They welcome you into their family and I have never felt so relaxed. Perfect for singles, families, couples....dont hesitate to book here. I cannot recommend more highly. Truly paradise on earth.

Room Tip: Don't worry....all are good...i booked a single but got an amazing double...you wont be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C2theJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a decent 4 day stay in this houseboat.

I booked for a single bed but was lucky enough to get a double bed to stay in without extra cost

The best part of this houseboat is the location as its located in a quite little corner at the end of dal lake (away from the crowd)
Food wasnt good as i found dead mosquito/fly in it so i advice everyone to not eat here. But as far as staying is considered-i had no complaints

Both tarik and his brother are good and trust-able people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abujug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.6 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 136 in Srinagar
1,144 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
2.1 mi away
Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#16 of 136 in Srinagar
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Houseboat Lily of Nageen
Houseboat Lily of Nageen
#4 of 591 in Srinagar
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hopes Group Of Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hopes Group Of Houseboats

Address: Nehru Park Dal Lake Gate No. 14 | behind Hotel Leeward, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 591 Specialty Lodging in Srinagar
Price Range: $12 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Hopes Group Of Houseboats 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMMODATION:We offer you the most peaceful and relaxing accommodation, that can be found on Dal Lake in SRINAGAR. Our HOUSEBOAT is situated in the more quiet outbacks of the lake with a full view over the lake, the waterlilies, the castle and mountains in the background. Still you are only 5 water taxi minutes away from the mainland and the city center.FOOD:You shall be served with typical ttraditional food from KASHMIR. I is made only from fresh organic ingredients and we will be happy to consider your individual wishes.TREKKING:My brother and I, we are certified professional mountain guides. We offer to show you all the beauty, that the surrounding Himalayan Mountains have to offer - unbelievably high altitudes, glaciers, animal- and plant live... This includes Hiking tours and Horse riding tours and we can alter the tours to your level of fitness and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Hopes Group Of Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hopes Group Of Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing