We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful stay”
Review of Mascot Houseboats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mascot Houseboats
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights on Mascot houseboat and loved every minute of it. Our every need (even those we didn't know we had!) was catered for - great food, very attentive and friendly service - and what a houseboat. Our room was most comfortable (great beds - not always so in India) and what a view from our bedroom window, it was a joy to wake in the morning. The houseboat is beautifully made and we were interested to see the new restoration work on the next Mascot boat, very talented craftsmen.

I wanted to read - but sitting in the sunshine on the top of the boat, there was just too much to watch: kingfishers, kites, the occasional shikara gliding past ... and the snowy mountains across the lake. Just heavenly.

Yaseem and his staff made us extremely welcome - we do so hope we'll be able to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the one at the end of the houseboat is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yaseen Tuman gets to choose his guests. Starting right from Royalties of Ancient India, to Fashion scions, he has hosted them all. During our trip to the valley in January, sub-zero temperature, the houseboat was very well-heated. Food was yummy, the satelite TV worked, personal attention to every need was present. Shikara pick-up from the bank of Nigeen Lake, to the drop at the Airport was seamless. Tumans own an export house, so shopping can be done there only. The cook Baburam, the steward Bishnu, all of them are very well-coached & par excellence. All these come at a very reasonable package. Thanks, Yaseen...for your unmatched hospitality. Me & my family felt like as if, staying at a friend's place in the valley.

Wish to see you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, so you don't need to bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aruntrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: la stanza al piano di sopra è sicuramente la più bella
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giovanni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ytuman, Owner at Mascot Houseboats, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Thank Giulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ytuman, Owner at Mascot Houseboats, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.3 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
2.9 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
3.7 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.2 mi away
Wangnoo Houseboats
Wangnoo Houseboats
#25 of 138 in Srinagar
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zaffer Group of House Boats
Zaffer Group of House Boats
#26 of 138 in Srinagar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mascot Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mascot Houseboats

Address: Nageen Lake, West Side, Srinagar 190011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $118 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mascot Houseboats 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mascot Houseboats - Artistically crafted and beautifully furnished Houseboats with Two, four & 5 bedrooms having modern amenities. Located on Nageen Lake: Crystal clear, spring fed, away from humdrum of busy life. A natural setup of beauty and tranquility, Nageen lake is an ideal place for surf riding, water skiing, swimming and boating. Mascot group of Houseboats are moored near the most charming sites of Nageen Lake with a varied abundant form of bird life seen around the houseboats. Holiday on Mascot houseboats is like living in Paradise. Since 19th century Tuman family have been the Pioneering of Tourism in Kashmir. Mascot Houseboats has been one of the first and most reputed name in the foundation of tourism in Kashmir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mascot Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mascot Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing