We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth considering”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nehrus Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nehrus Hotel
Ranked #144 of 327 Srinagar B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“worth considering”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

looking at how terribly overpriced hotels are on dal lake, this one is worth considering.
most of the hotels quoting Rs 3500/4000 a night are not worth more than 1200-1500 looking at the property. In fact many of them reminds as if they are straight out of 1970's with decor resembling that era. Its not common to find hotels with dingy alleys/corridors and room devoid of sunlight, rooms smelling due to damp walls suggesting bad plumbing!!

hotel nehru is welcome change as the hotel has well lit & airy corridors. add to that its not located in very busy touristy section of road. Although the hotel has more of basic rooms, nothing lavish.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caprijaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from 17/Aug/2013 to 19/Aug/2013 great location with a good scenic view and a beautiful park in front of the hotel the staff was really helpful the service in the room was great the staff was at their toes for any kind of service. The food was good we would love to come back again and stay in this property. Last but not the least it is Value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This property is an unpretentious one which focuses on the comforts of a guest.Its not too high on looks or style but is clean and provides all the basic amenities. The staff is courteous and helpful.Special mention of their guard Param who serves as a guide, will hail a cab or an auto.The hotel is located right next to Dal lake and offers an excellent view of the lake.They planned and did all our bookings for further travel to Pahalgam and Sonmarg.The Property has s beautiful garden with lovely roses..

Room Tip: Choose a room on 4th floor which offers an excellent view of the Dal lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakunNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is a good hotel (unfortunately on this site there is no rating as good after average it is very good)The best thing about the hotel is its location ,opp Dal lake very near Nehru Park. The hotel has recently renovated its rooms on the first and second floor. The lake facing rooms are deluxe and deluxe suite while the rooms in the back( facing the shankracharya hill)are standard
.Standard rooms are ok but deluxe and deluxe suite with a private sit out are good,.Rooms are spacious, toilets clean,There is no wi fi , no tea coffee maker in the room
.I had all my meals in the restaurant, the food was simple, economical and nice the staff was courteous,.there is parking and a garden in the compound between the rooms and the road.

Room Tip: lake facing rooms give a lovely view ,avoid standard rooms though quieter are average paying a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

On our way back from Ladakh, we had planned to spend 2 nights in Srinagar and do some sight-seeing there, before leaving for home. After some research, we stumbled across this hotel. Since we were a group of 5, we booked their cottage room. The location of the Hotel is really good; right on the banks of the Dal lake.

We reached the hotel, checked into our cottage, and got the shock of our lives! It was the worst room ever!! The paint from the walls and ceiling was coming off, the carpet was torn everywhere, there was a stale smell in the room. 30 seconds and we were back to the Reception. We asked the manager for better rooms! He started quoting very high prices for the double bed rooms. We bargained and finally managed to get 2 Rooms. Thankfully these were recently renovated, so they were in a much better shape and felt like luxurious rooms, when we compared them with the cottage that we had booked earlier. The Flat screen TVs in the room were new, but the satellite connection was pathetic; we could hardly see or hear most of the channels. We didn't dare to eat at the Hotel, most of the meals were outside, only had Tea/Coffee in the room which was okay.

Basically this is one of the oldest hotels in Srinagar, but they've just not been able to maintain the hotel which is a pity. Definately wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Srinagar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
3.6 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 129 in Srinagar
344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Zamrud
Hotel Zamrud
#56 of 129 in Srinagar
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 129 in Srinagar
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake City Guest House
Lake City Guest House
#68 of 327 in Srinagar
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duke
Hotel Duke
#148 of 327 in Srinagar
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nehrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nehrus Hotel

Property: Nehrus Hotel
Address: Dal Kake Boulevard Road | Opposite Nehru Park, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Nehrus Hotel Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing