We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful houseboat, very welcoming people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What made our stay (of my sister and me) at the Heaven Breeze houseboat so special were the people that run it, they were very welcoming and warm, like a family.

After a challenging 28-hour bus ride from hectic Delhi, we arrived in a very contrasting world: a delightful houseboat located on the idyllic and very quiet Nageen Lake. It was so peaceful there, seemingly far away from the touristy areas, and yet still pretty close to some major landmarks. The boat also proved to be a great hub for us to leave from on daytrips and on a trek into the mountains.
We also loved the food, delicious Kashmiri meals prepared by the family at the houseboat. The family was also amazing when my sister was sick (on arrival in Srinagar), no effort was too much to get her to recover.
I planned to stay in Kashmir for 2 days and eventually it turned into 15, needless to say I had a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilGujjar, Manager at Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thanks for the rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying on this boat in May, and found it very comfortable, and welcoming, especially the very warm hospitality that comes along with the stay. My hosts were always very attentive, and provided excellent advice, and the cooking was delicious. I would also say that it's preferable to stay on Nageen Lake versus Dal (it's less busy). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilGujjar, Manager at Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

This is the management of the heaven breeze Group of the houseboat we are missing one review which was done by facebook it was very important one and since from 1 week our customer's are reviewing us of trip advisor but the review's are not reflecting please we are really concerned about it.We have already some customers who have reviewed our houseboat almost five times so it is not Reflecting and it effects our business please we request TripAdvisor To see this matter we are looking forward to hear from the management.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Beautiful boat in a perfect location on Nageen lake, which is a lot quieter than Dal lake. Our bedroom and the living room was beautifully decorated - it felt like we were on a floating palace! We were made to feel very welcome by the family who gave us some useful travel advice The food was great too, and included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jakeg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I am currently sitting aboard the Heaven Breeze Houseboat, using the laptop and USB internet stick provided by Shafi, our generous host. This represents just one facet of the excellent hospitality my brother and I have received at Heaven Breeze, beginning from our first moments in Kashmir,

Shafi met us at the airport when we arrived in Srinagar 10 days ago, personally oversaw our stay, and organized our 6-night trek with Yousif, our guide.

I cannot more highly recommend Kashmir as a region and Heaven Breeze as accommodation. Only when we saw the jam-packed boats on Dal Lake did we understand our luck in staying on idyllic and picturesque Nageen Lake.

Arriving at the boat we were delighted at the beautiful interior: all carved wood, carpets and lace, a cross between a gypsy caravan and an antique parlor. My brother, a photographer, took dozens of pictures of the distant Moghul fort as the sun set over the lake. Heart-shaped paddles propelled the shikara boats across the water, bearing mobile merchants of jewelry or flowers, or loads of harvested lilies.

After a day sightseeing (Shahiamadan mosque was a highlight), we began our trek. Shafi and Yousif organized the food, tents, bedding, and ponies for our trek, which was fantastic.

Knowing that we would return to Heaven Breeze--the great food, endless supply of tea, lace-hung beds of carved walnut wood--made the end of our trek easier. That and having slaughtered our last chicken... we lived like royalty on fresh chicken and fresh fish in the mountains.

We leave Kashmir tomorrow but are already planning our next stay at Heaven Breeze.

Amenities:
Hot water
Fans (though it was cool at night)
Fridge/freezer
Comfortable bed

Room Tip: At the Heaven Breeze, you are the only guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank asheline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Würde immer das Deluxe Zimmer wählen, obwohl das andere Zimmer auch sehr gemütlich aussah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manta89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anastasia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: contacter l'agence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leïla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.3 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#13 of 142 in Srinagar
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
2 mi away
Young Bombay Group of House Boats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Houseboat Lily of Nageen
Houseboat Lily of Nageen
#4 of 610 in Srinagar
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fantasia Houseboats
Fantasia Houseboats
#5 of 610 in Srinagar
235 reviews
2 mi away
Chicago Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats

Address: | Nageen Lake, Near Bagh-e-Shagufa, Srinagar 190006, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 610 Specialty Lodging in Srinagar
Price Range: $20 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander De-Husband a foreign writer says "What is on the back side of the Kashmir is the front side of Switzerland". Welcome to Heaven Breeze, Group of House Boats! Heaven Breeze is located close to the old city of Srinagar, and offers a breathtaking view on the idyllic and peaceful open Nageen Lake. The houseboat, built in classic Kashmiri style, is currently run by Mohammad Shangloo and his lovely and warm family. They are the third generation to enjoy welcoming travellers and making them feel at home. Their delicious home-made Kashmiri food always proves to be a great hit among visitors. Walking in the footsteps of his father and grandfather who managed one of the first houseboats built by the British in 1880, Mohammad has safely guided travellers on adventurous treks into the mountains and on exciting fishing and hunting escapades for over 50 years. Today, he is working closely with Shaffi Shangloo, who has also been in the family business since childhood. Come and enjoy a restful stay at Heaven Breeze by lounging in the traditional Kashmiri sitting room, sipping a cup of tea on the porch while taking in the idyllic view of one of the most beautiful lakes in Kashmir. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heaven Breeze - Group Of House Boats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing