We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced, very friendly and understanding Hotel Staff”
Review of Walisons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walisons Hotel
Ranked #5 of 333 Srinagar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Reasonably priced, very friendly and understanding Hotel Staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife wanted to visit Srinagar for a week enroute to Chennai from UK. Searched Walisons on the internet and booked it for a week during May 3rd week. Hotel is clean, reasonably priced and very courteous staff's
Unfortunately for my wife she left the foreign currency back in UK and her SBI UK ATM card which is suppose to work in Indian ATM machine, didn't work. To add to the issue this was on Saturday and she has to leave on Sunday.
She was left with very little money and with no options left, requested the hotel manager to help her by providing additional cash (10k) and requested that gentleman time till Monday to settle the taxi bill (12K), total 22 K.
To my surprise that gentleman immediately accepted to my request without any questions and trusted my words and gave the cash to her.

I would like to really thank and appreciate the kind gesture shown towards my wife and the help extended to her in the needy time. I settled the hotel bill on Monday through a friend.

Based on my wifes experience the hotel was very good and the staff were very polite and she is happy to recommend this to other guest planning to visit Srinagar.

Once again many thanks for your timely help and the trust you had in me.
Thanks - Chidambaram

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chidambaram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    94
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
131
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We Stayed recently at Hotel Walison, Srinagar. It was a very comfortable Stay. Entire Staff is very friendly and ready to help. The rooms are very well maintained, with all the modern amenities.
Its proximity to Dal Lake makes the stay more memorable. And all this comes at a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend every one who is travelling to Srinagar to try Walisons hotel once. Looking forward to come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi_1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is located near Dal lake ghat no2, and very close to the market hence the location is very good.
The hotel Staff is very very Courteous and helpful. The food quality was good and rooms were well lighted and clean. We stayed there for four days and had a very wonderful place to stay with family.
Thanks to all the staff members at Walisons for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amitdalmia2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We visited the hotel in March 2013.And were unfortunate to get stranded in mist of curfew. Although we had booked only for 2 days, we extended stay by another 2 days without any regret. The Manager is very co operative and helpful. He advised us well how to get on with the tense situation in Srinagar. Although the restaurant was under renovation he had food served in wi fi zone and made us feel very comfortable. The place is located just a min walk away from Dal Lake which give the maximum value of the time you spend in Srinagar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCKVCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed recently at Walisons Hotel along with my family. It is a good place to stay, and the hospitality & attitude of the staff were very warm. The rooms were spacious, decent and pleasant. The hotel is located very close to Dal lake and also market. One can just walk down to lake and spend hours around the lake.

While I was prepared for some irritants, surprisingly the hotel gave no option for me to complain. Though, there was not much of open space or gardens available within the hotel premises. these issues were ignorable, thanks to the well mannered attitude and friendly service of the staff. Had to cut down my visit by a day, due to cancellation of flight, however, the hotel staff (Sajad & Habeeb) were very accomodative and helpful.

Walisons Hotel is a place you would definitely wish to come back to and recommend to your family and friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant. Look forward to coming again!!

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor - ask for suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krishnan_ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our 4 night stay here was good. the staff is very cheerful and helpful. we always left early for our trips and the hotel staff was kind enough to arrange for our breakfast early at 0700 hrs.
Dal lake is close and you can trek up the shankaracharya temple from here easily.
The food in the hotel is good although for kashmiri dishes you have to order in advance but thats the case in all the hotels.
the heated mattress will be helpful during cold nights.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms will lack privacy, prefer rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

its location is very convenient,management in general & sajjadbhai in particular are very tourist friendly.market,eataries,dal lake are all at walking distance....overall a good choice.i would recommend this hotel to those who need a hotel for a good night sleep...& dont need luxurious resort tupe stay.becoz we as tourist go to see the places & not the hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramnikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#30 of 132 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#23 of 132 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Grand Mamta
Hotel The Grand Mamta
#41 of 132 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#111 of 132 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 132 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walisons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walisons Hotel

Property: Walisons Hotel
Address: 1st Lane, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walisons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your stay in Kashmir blissful by choosing to stay with us, at WALISONS HOTEL where luxury is combined with unmatched comfort and unparalleled ambience.The hotel sits on the peripheries of the majestic Zabarwan Hills, providing an awe-inducing spectacle. We are just a stone's throw away from the breathtaking Dal Lake; providing a unique blend of serenity and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walisons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walisons Hotel Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing