We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service great property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Mr. Siddharth was one the rudest people i have come accross dint know how to talk the service was really bad and after paying so much the service is bad you wouldnt enjoy it.

The property is superb and it is undoubtly a great hotel.
The facilities are also superb hope they do something about their services.

Room Tip: cottages are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AayushKoradia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Karodia,

Namaskar !

Thank you for your brief feedback. Also as shared in the mail directly as well, I am extremely concerned for the experience you had due to the said employee, I assure you that this is not the kind of experience we want any of our esteemed guests to have and that the said employee has been spoken to along with the importance of politeness in the Hospitality Industry.

I am grateful that you were kind in praising the hotel and facilities and in rating other attributes of the services generously.

Thanking you again and looking forward to your next visit to The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar.

Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The area is very scenic having a very beautiful garden. The property is outstanding and the staff is warm and kind. As the property is very big it will take a lot of walking just to reach your room. The Check-in was fast and was greeted by a hot cup of (bland) Kahwah. The hotel can't change much of the property as it's a heritage site.

Property-
The property was outstanding with a huge and a well maintained garden. Most of the fixtures were new but some were kept like the 350 year old carpet in the Darbar Hall.

Rooms-
The rooms were good being centrally heated and having a split A/C and fan. There was a huge TV in front of the comfy bed and a small dining table in the next room with a sofa. The in room amenities were good (Tea/Coffee, Mini Bar). the bathroom was very small, with a dirty bath tube a very small shower cubical and the toilet at the edge of the bathroom between the shower and the sink.

Service-
The service was quick.

Food-
The food was very good, but didn't serve local cuisine in the buffet.

Things to do-
We went for a Shikara ride in the Dal Lake in front of the property. We also visited the local market.

The place is very scenic and good, but could improve with a bit more renovations. The hotel has managed to maintain the garden beautifully and anybody would like to give them a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karan_Lobana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Karan,

Namaskar !

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the detailed feedback.

I am glad that most of our services were enjoyed and appreciated by you including the quick check-in, gardens, service time and food. I have also taken a note of some issues and suggestions by you and have discussed with the relevant HOD's to take corrective actions.

Warm Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent excellent hotel.....gorgeous! Stayed for 4 nights with kids & in-laws. Everything was perfect.....being in the midst of so much beauty helps. The grounds were wonderful, the kids loved the swings & slide (the see-saw needed repairing though!), the swimming pool was an added bonus. Very close to Dal lake, though the one way system of traffic was a big problem in the evening. Had to travel a lot to get to the hotel. Extremely well maintained property, the staff was most attentive, the breakfast spread was quite vast.....the entire family loved the hotel. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easier access to the grounds/ lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShipraBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Ms. Bansal,

Namaskar !

I thank you for choosing to stay with us and for being kind in sharing your feedback and generous ratings about our product and services.

We are also glad the your kids equally enjoyed themselves here.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar !

Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lalit for 3 nights, out of our 9 days trip to srinagar, as we didnt book earlier the hotel is was fully booked but they were kind enough to squeeze out two rooms for us..so make your bookings well in advance to avoid dissapointment, which you surely will have once you see the property, as the location property is just outstanding..
A huge property need to walk a lot to reach diff places ,be ready to enjoy your walk at the hotel.. The garden is one of the most well kept gardens.. The rooms are nicely done we stayed in the old wing so the rooms are kept less modern, which we liked more then the new wing..
The staff is nice ready to help, the best person and interaction i had was with mr chaudhary the chef, you can always find him at the buffet, he is well versed with the history of the property and is always ready to go beyond the norms to help you, do catch hold of him :) you will love your stay more..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivangi_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Ms. Sharma,

Namaskar !

Thank you for the kind and detailed feedback and rating our services generously.

We are glad that we were able to accommodate your request and eventually offering you a satisfactory stay. Your special mention for the efforts of Chef Shyama Nand Choudhary are motivating and he has been applauded for the personalized service that he offered to you and excelled in.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a awesome journey to Kashmir. And the property "The Lalit" worked the way of salt & pepper to the journey.

The Lalit would be always my first choice whenever I re-plan to Kashmir.

Suggestion:
Service can be more better & fast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNTPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Namaskar !

Thank-you for your brief feedback. While I am thankful for the generous ratings provided by you for the various attributes, I have also shared your suggestion with our service team so that they can make it crispier.

Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

You cannot just keep on holding or hang with its beautiful Gardens and Lawns, its the best in Srinagar, but the question is how much can you Hold on with this Jewel. Travellers need other things also, specially when you enter this Legendary property through its magnificent Gates and location. I stayed with my family in one the entry level Suites, though big room but very very small bathroom and without balcony. It makes lot of sense if you give access to lawn through a personal balcony or door may be, when its so near and beautiful. Lalit hotel management is wasting this precious property with services Old enough of our Grandparents time. Time has changed, You seriously need a change of Authority. Taj will eat you up. Its not bad, its boring and makes no sense.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maneet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Mr. Singh,

Namaskar !

Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and for taking time out to share your feedback online.

Your praise for the Gardens we offer is appreciated.

Our esteemed guest's over the years have appreciated the heritage and old-style offered in the Palace wing of the hotel and they always prefer to book their accommodation in that wing to get a feel of the past. For guest who have a modern taste and do not prefer old world charm we offer Super Deluxe and Deluxe Rooms in the new wing and also Cottages for those who prefer privacy.

As the hotel is a Heritage Site, we cannot to any alterations to the main structure like adding a balcony and hence have purposefully kept the Palace wing the way it was in times of the Maharaja, however we offer balcony on all our Super Deluxe and Deluxe ground floor rooms and cottages.

We appreciate the facilities other hotels have to offer and have pride in the property that we have to offer as praised by guests of all generations over the years gone by.

Thanking you again.

With Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the great lawns...overlooking the dal lake..siiting under the chinar tree and basking in teh sun or under the blanket of starry nights the mammoth looking gentle and sturdy chinar trees with lovely blossoming flowers.....what a space and beautiful way to enjoy the rustic landscape of kashmir...surrounded by ferns and lakes and mountains a visuall treat and a medetatitve space....wow....just what one requires for a momentary peace.........for very exceptions the staff was not all that courteous at reception desk...though the lady gave us a good welcoming smile...and at last while leaving it took the luggage boy at least thirty minutes to get our luggage into our car after several reminders at the people at desk and at entrance door.......food was great but heavily priced.....and breakfast was fanatastic.......overll worth while to stay here...

Room Tip: palace room are big sized to fit in a family of five comfortably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajvaswani1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Vaswani,

Namaskar !

Thank you for your feedback post your recent stay with us at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar. I am glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay which you have kindly shared in motivating and poetic words.

Please accept my apologies for the services you highlighted for the reception and for the delay in getting your luggage during your departure.

Your feedback on food and breakfast has been shared with the relevant team with applaud.

Thanking you
Jagdeep Nambiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
3.8 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar - Member ITC's Hotel Group
3.7 mi away
Mascot Houseboats
Mascot Houseboats
#18 of 142 in Srinagar
56 reviews
1.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#23 of 142 in Srinagar
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
3.5 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
1.6 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#21 of 142 in Srinagar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Address: Gupkar Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Spa Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $268 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLit Grand Palace was originally built in 1901 for the royal family. It now provides luxurious rooms with views of Dal Lake and the beautiful gardens. An indoor pool, tennis courts and pampering spa treatments are also available.The tastefully designed rooms are modern with a touch of traditional charm. All have a satellite TV, minibar and free tea/coffee making facilities. It is 18 km from Srinagar Airport and 4 km from Lal Chowk city centre. Jammu Railway Station is 300 km away. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage at Rejuve Spa Health Club, practice yoga, or play golf. The hotel also has a gym and 24-hour business center. The Chinar Garden serves North Indian cuisine, while international buffet spreads are available at The Chinar – The All Day Coffee Shop. Other dining options include Dal Bar and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing