We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kingsize experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
bhopal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Kingsize experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lalit for 3 nights, out of our 9 days trip to srinagar, as we didnt book earlier the hotel is was fully booked but they were kind enough to squeeze out two rooms for us..so make your bookings well in advance to avoid dissapointment, which you surely will have once you see the property, as the location property is just outstanding..
A huge property need to walk a lot to reach diff places ,be ready to enjoy your walk at the hotel.. The garden is one of the most well kept gardens.. The rooms are nicely done we stayed in the old wing so the rooms are kept less modern, which we liked more then the new wing..
The staff is nice ready to help, the best person and interaction i had was with mr chaudhary the chef, you can always find him at the buffet, he is well versed with the history of the property and is always ready to go beyond the norms to help you, do catch hold of him :) you will love your stay more..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivangi_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Sharma,

Namaskar !

Thank you for the kind and detailed feedback and rating our services generously.

We are glad that we were able to accommodate your request and eventually offering you a satisfactory stay. Your special mention for the efforts of Chef Shyama Nand Choudhary are motivating and he has been applauded for the personalized service that he offered to you and excelled in.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    243
    61
    32
    30
See reviews for
471
207
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a awesome journey to Kashmir. And the property "The Lalit" worked the way of salt & pepper to the journey.

The Lalit would be always my first choice whenever I re-plan to Kashmir.

Suggestion:
Service can be more better & fast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaskar !

Thank-you for your brief feedback. While I am thankful for the generous ratings provided by you for the various attributes, I have also shared your suggestion with our service team so that they can make it crispier.

Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

You cannot just keep on holding or hang with its beautiful Gardens and Lawns, its the best in Srinagar, but the question is how much can you Hold on with this Jewel. Travellers need other things also, specially when you enter this Legendary property through its magnificent Gates and location. I stayed with my family in one the entry level Suites, though big room but very very small bathroom and without balcony. It makes lot of sense if you give access to lawn through a personal balcony or door may be, when its so near and beautiful. Lalit hotel management is wasting this precious property with services Old enough of our Grandparents time. Time has changed, You seriously need a change of Authority. Taj will eat you up. Its not bad, its boring and makes no sense.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maneet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Singh,

Namaskar !

Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and for taking time out to share your feedback online.

Your praise for the Gardens we offer is appreciated.

Our esteemed guest's over the years have appreciated the heritage and old-style offered in the Palace wing of the hotel and they always prefer to book their accommodation in that wing to get a feel of the past. For guest who have a modern taste and do not prefer old world charm we offer Super Deluxe and Deluxe Rooms in the new wing and also Cottages for those who prefer privacy.

As the hotel is a Heritage Site, we cannot to any alterations to the main structure like adding a balcony and hence have purposefully kept the Palace wing the way it was in times of the Maharaja, however we offer balcony on all our Super Deluxe and Deluxe ground floor rooms and cottages.

We appreciate the facilities other hotels have to offer and have pride in the property that we have to offer as praised by guests of all generations over the years gone by.

Thanking you again.

With Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

the great lawns...overlooking the dal lake..siiting under the chinar tree and basking in teh sun or under the blanket of starry nights the mammoth looking gentle and sturdy chinar trees with lovely blossoming flowers.....what a space and beautiful way to enjoy the rustic landscape of kashmir...surrounded by ferns and lakes and mountains a visuall treat and a medetatitve space....wow....just what one requires for a momentary peace.........for very exceptions the staff was not all that courteous at reception desk...though the lady gave us a good welcoming smile...and at last while leaving it took the luggage boy at least thirty minutes to get our luggage into our car after several reminders at the people at desk and at entrance door.......food was great but heavily priced.....and breakfast was fanatastic.......overll worth while to stay here...

Room Tip: palace room are big sized to fit in a family of five comfortably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajvaswani1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Vaswani,

Namaskar !

Thank you for your feedback post your recent stay with us at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar. I am glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay which you have kindly shared in motivating and poetic words.

Please accept my apologies for the services you highlighted for the reception and for the delay in getting your luggage during your departure.

Your feedback on food and breakfast has been shared with the relevant team with applaud.

Thanking you
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

On arrival to Kashmir we spent three great days in the Mascot Houseboat and that was a special experience. On our return to Shrinagar fron Pelgham and Gulmarg we stayed at the Lalit. A Magnificent hotel. Everything about it was exceptional and special The gardens, the open air breakfast area, the lovely room we had. Our room on the ground floor had a terrace with direct access to immaculate and beatiful gerdens. At breakfast you overlooked lake Dahal. Wonderful peaceful beatifully kept and run hotel. Food a bit pricey but enjoyable

Room Tip: ground floor room with veranda overlooking and opening on the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margherita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Margherita,

Namaskar !

I am happy to know that your recent vacation to the Valley was satisfying and am glad that we were a part of it.

Thank you for your kind words and generous rating of all the service attributes.

We look forward to many more visits from you in future.

Thanks
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

* we were a group of 20 persons, we stayed for 3 nights - 24 - 26 may 2013
* we had booked 3 cottages with 2 bedrooms each with extra beds
* we paid an exorbitant price for the cottages thinking that a luxurious stay would be a fitting end to our 8 night kashmir holiday. but we were disappointed with a lot of things
* the bad points:
** travel desk: hopelessly ill - equipped. a hotel of this standard having such a useless travel desk is just not acceptable. the person at the desk did not even have a map of srinagar. to top that he did not even have a printed or handwritten list of attractions / sightseeing places in srinagar. during my discussions with him i could make out that after 5 minutes he was visibly very bored with my asking him about sightseeing in srinagar & he became busy with other jobs and was responding to my questions in a very uninterested manner.
** i did not take down his name but this was on 24th may 2013 at about 6-6.30pm. i hope that the management of the lalit can find out from their records who the person was
** general service: very poor in all respects. there is a particular call button in the room phones which promises to be a one stop call for all your needs, which is good, but you have to call 2 to 3 times to get anything delivered or done, whether it be room service, water or even umbrellas. * on our last day (26 may 2013) i had gone out sightseeing with the 2 nos. in room umbrellas and when i entered the hotel they asked me to deposit the umbrellas at the main entrance as they were wet. understandable. they also promised to give me fresh umbrellas if i should need them. after 3 hours i called them for umbrellas and must have a long time but the umbrellas did not come
** such a big hotel but they have only 1 restaurant called Chinar. a 5 star hotel cannot have just 1 restaurant. i am sure there are some critera to be fulfilled before a hotel can be categorised as a 5 star property. The Lalit falls way short of fulfilling such criteria
* the good points:
** the garden and the flowers are just too good. they can beat any of the famous gardens of srinagar. if you have seen & strolled in the gardens of The Lalit you might as well not go to the many public gardens of Srinagar. i believe there are 44 gardeners in all
** very helpful lady at the front reception -- name: Gurbaksh. She gave me a full printout of all places to see in Srinagar and also told me which ones are worth going too
** breakfast was very good but again the service was a problem
** the rooms in the cottages were very spacious & nice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeshkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Rajesh,

Namaskar !

Thankyou for your detailed feedback.

I am extremely concerned about the points highlighted by you and assure you that relevant measures have already been taken to rectify the mentioned lapses. Specially the Team at the Travel Desk has been dealt with extremely seriously and the concerned staff has been reprimanded.

Only in unfortunate case of rain do we have to limit our dining options, otherwise the Guest can choose from The Chinar Coffee Shop in the lobby, open air Al-Fresco at the Porch and The Chinar Garden, these option justify our categorization as a Heritage Property and we have won may awards in that category.

Despite of the inconvenience, you have generously rated the Location, Sleep quality, Room and Cleanliness and mentioned and appreciated the gardens over the Mughal Gardens of Srinagar - Thank you for the same.

I thank you again for the candid feedback as such feedback's are taken as a scope of improving our services.

Please get in touch with me directly should you plan a visit to Srinagar in future and I assure to provide you the best of the services - The Palace is know for.

Warm Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had booked 3 rooms for a family holiday with our parents and children...The property is mind blowing beautiful.....u don't feel like leaving the place...3generations at one place and everyone enjoyed ..The staff were very courteous and helpful...The heated swimming pool.,the gardens....time just flew by..the buffet spread was excellent...all in all an experience to be repeated and shared with everyone

Room Tip: The garden rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mundra_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Mundra,

Namaskar !

Thank you for the recent stay with us and following it up with such a motivating and generous feedback.

I am glad that all aspects of our product and services added up in making your stay a memorable one.

Feedback like yours is an assurance that we are on the right track to providing the best of the services so that the guests that stay with us take back the best of the memories of The Palace.

Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
1.2 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
3.4 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#24 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
2.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Batoo
Hotel Royal Batoo
#16 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Property: The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Address: Gupkar Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLit Grand Palace was originally built in 1901 for the royal family. It now provides luxurious rooms with views of Dal Lake and the beautiful gardens. An indoor pool, tennis courts and pampering spa treatments are also available.The tastefully designed rooms are modern with a touch of traditional charm. All have a satellite TV, minibar and free tea/coffee making facilities. It is 18 km from Srinagar Airport and 4 km from Lal Chowk city centre. Jammu Railway Station is 300 km away. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage at Rejuve Spa Health Club, practice yoga, or play golf. The hotel also has a gym and 24-hour business center. The Chinar Garden serves North Indian cuisine, while international buffet spreads are available at The Chinar – The All Day Coffee Shop. Other dining options include Dal Bar and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing