We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Propery, nice room, mediocre service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Propery, nice room, mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Lalit Grand in Srinagar is a beautiful property. The grounds are well maintained, the rooms are nice, but the service was lacking, and for the price of the room, internet should be included. Service at the restaurants is kind of slow, and while food is somewhat pricey, portions are HUGE, and the food was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desiblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    243
    61
    32
    30
See reviews for
471
207
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, Punjab, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently had an oppurtunity of visiting the grand Lalit palace for a meal during our visit to Srinagar on the 19th of this month. The place is beautiful but the restaurant was not even average as what was expected out of so called a five star property. The staff there hardly seemed to be bothered and no cordination between them. the place was extremely hot and the only thing which was there was Flies all over even making diffcult for us to sit. A terrible feeling. Food took its own sweet time to come and was very average. So overall if you are in Srinagar and want to venture to lalit only for a meal beleive me not a good idea, better find some other place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahajanNeeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a palace suite room. Room was very spacious and service very good . The location is out of the world with a stunning view all around . Food was also very good.

Some of the things that I didn't like were the extremely high food tariffs . A normal meal for two (without liquor) is upwards of Rs 2k .. Which I found expensive. Also, the hotel isn't very friendly for prams or wheelchairs, which are a must if u have kids/old people travelling with you

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuklasudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed there for one night on 19th August 2012 and was really disappointed with the service and the overall attitude of the staff. I upgraded from a regular room to a palace suite. The suite as such was nice but lacked some basic stuff like the complimentary items being given in other Palace suites were not given to us. We actually asked for them and were given the ones that were given to us in our earlier rooms. During check out when we complained about the service and overall feel (attitude) of the Hotel we were told that we have received similar comments from many other guests. My thoughts, why are you still receiving them. Improve so that customers go back happy and satisfied. Stayed in Taj Srinagar the next day and the experience was all together different. Check out my review of the Taj Vivanta, Srinagar

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel. Better option is to go to Taj Sriangar even if you have to pay a little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saahilsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you have been out trekking in Kahsmir, this is the place to treat yourselves for a few days before heading home.
Things to improve though:
-outdoor swimming pool area needed
-TV in room doesn't have many channels and NO children's programmes. The least they could do would be to get Tata Sky's big package!
-the travel desk told us that we had the car for 4 hours. 2.5hours into that time, the driver informed us that because it was approaching 7pm, we would have to pay extra for dinner service. We felt cheated.
-first day we only came for lunch. We were not allowed through the first gate with the autorickshaw we were travelling in. We, 2 adults and 2 young children, had to walk in the midday heat for quite a stretch before getting to the main building. For a 5-star hotel, they could have sent out a golf cart to pick us up...a guard took initiative when seeing us coming and came to meet us with his umbrella to protect our kids from the sun, that was a nice thing to do.
-breakfast was out in the garden. A good idea except there were so many flies and t was so hot the food quickly became no-so-fresh.
All-in-all a great stay in a fantastic hotel. The food in restaurant was good and quite good value. The room service did not charge extra service fee which was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UyenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Planned another long weekend getaway from Delhi and zeroed in on Srinagar. The next thing was to pick the hotel and after browsing thru a ton of reviews and related confusion that emerged was the choice between The Lalit and the Taj dal lake. This wasn't going to be an easy one.....so I split the stay between both the Hotels and here goes...

The Lalit Grand Palace is gorgeous old heritage property turned into a hotel. Impeccably landscaped gardens, blessed with greenery, warmth of the sun and colourful flowers that parade thru the open spaces and the rooms have a sit out that open into the infinity of these gardens. Have your cuppa or wine, get some sunshine and be relaxed as the Sunday morning should be. Take the rooms on the ground level, a bit more expensive (Rs. 1000/-) then the ones at the upper level. But worth the extra spend. The setting is majestic and royal - sprawling gardens, mountains on one side and walk ways to the main hotel block that are flush with apple trees. Choice of 2 restaurants at the hotel and the while the hotel staff points to a bar they are all proud of - 'the dal bar' your experience would make you spell it as the Dull bar! You can enjoy your meals in the 'Chinar garden' where you have a breakfast and dinner buffets laid out or evening refreshments. The Dal lake is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you can enjoy the 'Shikara' (local boat) ride for Rs 300 for an hour, we missed the sign board and ended up being charged Rs.700 for the same.

Now let's move to the Taj Vivanta Dal lake. About a 15 minute drive from the Lalit, located on a hill at about 1730 m above sea level and overlooks the Dal lake, no matter where you sit in the hotel every spot has the view of the Dal lake. It is a view to a kill, you can experience the stillness and the picturous beauty of Srinagar and breathe it all in, the clear crisp air, the beauty of the lake and the mountains all at one go. Nice spacious rooms and bathrooms to pamper your senses and all come with sit outs either into the garden or the upper levels have a balcony and have a view of the lake. Take your companion, or enjoy the solitude of your book and drink it's worth it in every way!

Confused between the two? Here is the comparison:-
Location- Lalit :10, Taj: 10
Service- Lalit: 6, Taj: 9. You name it you got it at the taj, at the Lalit even the indelible chicken sandwich needed reasoning and explanation for a change.
Sleep quality- Lalit : 8, Taj: 10 (much more comfortable beds , ask for the pillow options and the 'forest essentials' pillow mist)
Cleanliness- Lalit : 8, taj: 8
Rooms: Lalit : 7, taj:9. The size, layout, the views are just so much better, a much high degree of luxury at the Taj.
Spa: Lalit: 8, Taj: 2. The Lalit has an indoor pool, spa, decently equipped fitness centre. Taj has an open air pool, poorly equipped and dysfunctional fitness centre, spa is not operational yet.
Food: Lalit: 6,Taj : 9. Taj has Much more options, better priced and tastes a whole lot better, want something that's not in the menu, they'll do it for you.
Choice of drinks/bar: Lalit:5, Taj : 8. Much larger variety of beers, wine and spirits and better priced at the Taj.
Value for money: Lalit : 6, Taj: 8. Both are expensive hotels, the room, overall experience, food and drinks prices are all better priced with more options that the Lalit.

If I had to do it again I'd choose the Taj any day over the Lalit. That would be my personal preference, if you choose the Lalit you won't be disappointed either. Go make that trip to Srinagar :-) air tickets are cheap and it's completely safe and don't miss the local Kashmiri food.

Must try: local restaurant about 10 mins drive from Lalit: 'Ahdoos' absolutely awesome local Kashmiri food.

Room Tip: Take the ones in the new wing that open to the gardens, bit more expensive but worth the extra spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Sachin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at both the lalit and the taj. If you can go to both as its a different experience. The lalit has great garden, its like a park, has 3 option for restaurants and overall its nice. The Taj - location location location - on the lake plus an outdoor pool with anazing view.
The spa at lalit is disappointing no costumer service approach and no ambiance. The indoor pool nothing to write home about. But overall its very nice, the old house of the maharajia and transmits this feeling of old heritage.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
1.2 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
3.4 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#24 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
2.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Batoo
Hotel Royal Batoo
#16 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Property: The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Address: Gupkar Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLit Grand Palace was originally built in 1901 for the royal family. It now provides luxurious rooms with views of Dal Lake and the beautiful gardens. An indoor pool, tennis courts and pampering spa treatments are also available.The tastefully designed rooms are modern with a touch of traditional charm. All have a satellite TV, minibar and free tea/coffee making facilities. It is 18 km from Srinagar Airport and 4 km from Lal Chowk city centre. Jammu Railway Station is 300 km away. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage at Rejuve Spa Health Club, practice yoga, or play golf. The hotel also has a gym and 24-hour business center. The Chinar Garden serves North Indian cuisine, while international buffet spreads are available at The Chinar – The All Day Coffee Shop. Other dining options include Dal Bar and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing