We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - Stay Away - Pathetic”

Pincer Vegetarian Foods
Ranked #18 of 89 Restaurants in Srinagar
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Description: It is a affordable clean and quality food restaurant located in the prime tourist hub of Kashmir in Srinagar City.
Restaurant details
Description: It is a affordable clean and quality food restaurant located in the prime tourist hub of Kashmir in Srinagar City.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Avoid - Stay Away - Pathetic”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I believe that this restaurant has a tie-up with budget tour operators who get them customers in a group. Otherwise this restaurant is absolutely empty. Since this restaurant was fully packed on the 4th Nov. 2012, I visited this restaurant with my family on 5th Nov. 2012. We were a group of 5. I chose this restaurant based on the previous reviews.
The ambiance is pathetic & needs an urgent renovation. After we entered there was no one to attend to us. I went to the kitchen only to find that the owners along with the staff were fighting loudly & abusively. The owner told us that most of the cooks were on leave for 'Karwa Chaut' which happened about a month ago. Atleast 3 items on the menu card were not available. One of the items we were served was different than the one we ordered.
There was no staff even to provide service during our lunch meal. We could clearly see 2 other families who came in & waited, lost their patience & then left. The man at the cash counter didn't even try to apologise or stop them from leaving.
In the end just to get our bill, we had to wait for about 15 mins.
There are many better 100% Veg. restaurants as a better option than this one. They don't accept credit cards here either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishTela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Big surprises come in Small packets...”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

the outer look of the restaurant doesnt compliment the good quality veg food they serve... the best veg restaurant for me, as far as the quality of food & taste goes...the ambience is not great. try the kadhi, dal dhokli, dal khichdi... a must try. south indian dishes are also yummy... truly, it was a 'lucky find' in srinagar.. great food at throw away price... definitely recommend for veggie lovers !!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ParekhDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice and tasty food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

had a good vegetarian food as it is rite acroos the Delaila houseboats . for our lunch . it was wonderful taste good food .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ajitchauhan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Non eatable food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We went to eat at this restaurant after reading good review from trip advisor. The ambience of the place was shabby. We were a family of four. We ordered one vegetarian thali on trial basis. The food was non eatable the roti was hard and not chewable. Even the curries were not palatable. Without going for any arguments we left the food and paid for the order.I suggest people to go for any other place for eating and avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank knp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place for veggie lovers”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Situated at the banks of the famous Dal Lake on the Boulevard road. The restaurant serves north Indian, Jain and south Indian food (vegetarian).……
The service is very good and the taste is great. The cost of food is also reasonable. The restaurant is among the best in the valley.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Amjad_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pincer Vegetarian Foods also viewed

Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 
Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 

Been to Pincer Vegetarian Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing