We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Srinagar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed there for three nights in their premium indulgence room. The room itself is very spacious and well heated. They maintained their rooms quite nicely with a mixed flavour of kashmiri tradition and contemporary flavour, i also must add wonderful big bathroom. There was a little bit of confusion at the time of checking in but i wouldn't blame them for that. Wonderful service, people in taj were very helpful as you would expect. Truly wonderful views of dal lake from the window and our private sit out places.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandipanChakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days from 16 December. Location is good with a great view of the Dal lake but the lake is almost 25 minutes climb down from the hill. The rooms are well heated and large with palatial bathrooms. Service is good but can be still better as in other vivantas. But our requests at the front office, restaurants and house keeping were promptly considered and done in keeping with the Taj tradition. Only disappointment was there is no fireplace in the main building or rooms which could have added a great traditional touch. The swimming pool is heated but there is no staff at the pool and everyone in the hotel discouraged to use the pool in winter so it was just showpiece. The gym was ordinary. The real letdown was no spa no sauna or steam and in this cold weather it would have fun. It fled more of a gateway hotel than a Vivanta. There is no travel concierge and no information regarding travel to gulmarg or pahelgam. So you are cheated and taken for a grand ride literally as unknown tourists. The children do not have any activity centre or videos game centre really not engaged or indulged. Now the good part the restaurants are very well managed and chef Gurjyot sethi takes personal interest in every guest and the cuisine served. Excellent food and Kashmir cuisine. Clean and spacious hotel ,small but well kept. The hotel is good but still has a long way to go to be one of the best. Autumn can be as good as spring should be the motto

Stayed: December 2013
Thank drashishdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel located over hilltop with excellent views over Dal lake on one side & beautiful valley on other side. Room are spacious with balcony with nice decor. Special mention of Large bathroom with bathtubs, rainshower & ample space. Service standard very good - all staff very courteous & more than willing to help. We were lucky to have snow fall all over the place. Breakfast at latitude restaurant , was reasonably good but not excellent. Since this hotel is bit away from main city , Hotel cars always required for sight seeing, hence better to book package with Taj ( inclusive transfers, sight seeing etc). Went to Gulmarg & had very good day with snow all over.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but preferably go for first floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RANJU30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was the best experince I ever had ...after travelling around in India. Amazing property having Dal view .. Very Good Rooms.. Execllent Staff..very friendly.... and Very Nice, suberb class treatment catered by the staff while having Dinner.. at Chinese Restaurant in the Hotel... Taj people took care like anything...I am Lovin it.....Now onwards prefer to select Taj only.....anywhere in India.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumitHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

After staying in lalit we wanted to try Taj & staying at both the hotels we can convincingly say that Taj is a better managed hotel with better food & service. Location of Taj is better as it enjoys a picture post card view of dal lake but it lacks the magestic lawns of Grand Palace, another small issue with taj is that the rooms & main lobby/ restaurants are not connected so you have to walk in freezing temperatures which is quite inconvenient at times otherwise everyting else is just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puniitavadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed in Taj srinagar from 3rd to 5th dec & would rate our experience as good. Hotel has amazing view of the entire valley, rooms are nice and bathrooms are large, room service is slow but otherwise service in their all day dinning & chinese is good. Food is good as had a la carte every time we ate there. Overall best option to stay in srinagar

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaikaransinghoberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Superb location and an excellent property located on the slope of a hill in front of the Dal lake with an excellent view of the lake. The rooms are huge and are very good. The service is top class. They have a heated infinity pool, which is amazing.

Room Tip: Go for villa rooms located on the hill slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek_Bh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
1.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
2.3 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
3.4 mi away
Mascot Houseboats
Mascot Houseboats
#20 of 139 in Srinagar
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#31 of 139 in Srinagar
471 reviews
3.3 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
3.3 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta By Taj Dal View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta By Taj Dal View

Address: Kralsangri, Brein, Srinagar 191121, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $209 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta By Taj Dal View 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta By Taj Dal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta Dal View Srinigar By Taj Hotel Srinagar
Vivanta By Taj Dal View Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing