We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Taj”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Amazing view which cover complete DAL Lake!!! And the food was also delicious that we had...
The Best part is the Outdoor deck dining adjacent to steam water outdoor swimming pool.
If you want to refresh and want to have real heaven touch please be there and enjoy the FEEL!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank om4rohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a fabulous property, excellent views of the Dal lake and the Mountain ranges behind.
Nice rooms all facing the Lake side fairly large rooms with nice bathrooms.
Modern fittings and very good service and food is delicious.
The views offered by this location is amongst the best that I have stayed in all over the world.
If in Srinagar, you must stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are elderly couple, select he room in the main building. If you are young/fit you should opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHazarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The taj is probably the best property in srinagar as of now. Perched on a hill top it has the best view of the Dal Lake backed by a pristine mountain range. Secluded and silent the hotel is a great getaway from the commotion in the city caused by truck loads of tourists that are flocking to the valley this summer. The rooms are well equiped and up to the Taj standards and have very well appointed bathrooms as well. The food is where it begins to go downhill, the menu is unimaginative and quite average and offers nothing special. Since the Taj is so secluded there is little to do around the property and you will need to make a day trip to the city or other attractions. The service was warm and friendly however we came back with a feeling that something was missing in the entire Taj experience.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmehra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here on summer vacations with my wife & 2 kids.
Highly recommended for families with Kids.
Hotel is located on a beautiful hilltop overlooking Dal lake in the front & Hills at the back.
Rooms are very, very spacious, equipped with all modern Amenities. Bathroom has a luxurious bath tub.
Also u can sit in bacony for hours watching the beautiful dal lake.
Staff is extremely kind and helpfull.. price to quality.
For faster service u may take the room which is near to the main building or within the main building. Also if u r travelling with kids u can ask for Golf Cart to go to ur room.
The only problem was that they have just 1 or 2 carts so u have to ask much in advance.
I would also reccomend to travellers to take car from the front desk as they have good cars & good drivers & also its very safe.
The pasrty shop in the lobby serves some tasty pastries, me & my kids loved it !
I doubt if someone could find better accomodation in Srinagar [i know there is lalit but this hotel is level up in comparison as i have seen both]

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were a group of 26 who stayed with Taj for one night on June 4. Its a very well located beautiful hotel with nice spacious rooms. But unlike most other Taj hotels it lacked the basic human touch expected of a 5 star property at a steep room rate of Rs, 114500-17000 per night. I guess while a part of this is owing to the fact that its now owned by the Taj group and reflects the general lack of service quality in Jammy & kashmir but can there be an excuse enough?

We all reached there around 1 in the afternoon after a tiring wait and fly from Jammu. It took the reservation desk more than an hour and a half to check us in after inefficient prcedure where they demanded id card of all adults and children.

It was nice of them to offer us the customary welcome drink but does not explain why they chose not to offer us Kahua that they are so well known about.

They were perpetually confused about which cottages where they providing us and how many rooms they had in each of these cottages.

meanwhile my mom got locked up in the lobby's restroom to a point where she was fighting for her breath and was in tears. The reception simply blamed it on her inability to figure out the double lock and apart from junior staff, no one showed the grace and courtesy to look after her. It was gross cruelty and indifference.

Porters took for ever to take our luggage to our respective rooms and a couple of them were ghastly preposterous to ask if they would need to .lift and transfer the luggage of one of our groups ti their first floor cottage room. Eventually while they did so, they left one handbag outside.

Rooms have two small bottles of water and one needs to ask for water constantly.

In the evening we decided to have our dinner outside the "Latitude". It took more than half an hour for the attendants to arrange for our table despite several request. Waiters were not rude but nice, however they seems confused and untrained.

They had no alternate arrangement fr maids or helps which normally a 5 star would have without failing.

Next morning they could not entertain the simple request for complimentary breakfast for children below 12. Its rather stupid that while they mention their site that children below 12 are complimentary, their breakfast is charged. Even the best of hotels worldwide, that we have been to whether 4-5 star category have been far more accommodating. The breakfast layout was good although desserts were not so great.

Check out was efficient and pleasant and perhaps the best part of our un-welcome stay.

I am a frequent traveler world-wide and member of many of the hotel groups & chains and I must admit, I would never like to stay here again. Once again, while the property is good, please do not expect to be welcome here.

Room Tip: As if they care? I guess being the only one of the two decent hotels in Kashmir they do not have d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoj_Poddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in taj for a night after staying at LALIT and Khyber at gulmarg. I wish we could have stayed for more. But for the extra drive that one has to take to reach the hotel, everything was perfect. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms, the view and the size of the room was gigantic.
The front office staff was very friendly and immediately made us feel very comfortable.
The variety and quality of food was top class. Kudos to have built such an amazing property in Srinagar. Next time will come for at least few more nights.

Room Tip: Have the room at the first level with a view of dal lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakeshsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you regard Kashmir as Heavenly place in India then you shouldn't afford to miss this heavenly hotel in Kashmir. Yes, Taj Group's newly built property in Srinagar is really worth staying. Built beautifully, the property promises you almost every luxury you desire to make your Kashmir trip complete and memorable.

Their all day dining multi-cuisine restaurant Latitude serves delectable food. Their cozy hotel rooms provide beautiful views of the beauty of Kashmir. I 'm sure their nicely done interiors and ambience would make you fall in love with this beautiful life once again.

Let the spirit of Vivanta by Taj enliven you :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capricorn_sachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
1.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
2.3 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
3.4 mi away
Mascot Houseboats
Mascot Houseboats
#19 of 139 in Srinagar
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 139 in Srinagar
471 reviews
3.3 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
3.3 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta By Taj Dal View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta By Taj Dal View

Address: Kralsangri, Brein, Srinagar 191121, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $209 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta By Taj Dal View 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta By Taj Dal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta Dal View Srinigar By Taj Hotel Srinagar
Vivanta By Taj Dal View Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing