We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Nearby Hotels
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ahdoos Hotel(Srinagar)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Renaissance Hotel(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar(Srinagar)
$242
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Centre Point(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$44
$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveler rating
772
294
70
40
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
294
70
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill topinfinity poollatitude restauranthill overlookingjade dragonpremium indulgence roommain buildingtulip gardenin room diningbeautiful propertypanoramic viewexcellent viewrooms are hugef broom servicebreakfast spreadfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Location is the best it gets, even in Srinagar. You can see the "char chinar" and the Dal lake right from every room. The property is new, but very well maintained. The rooms are spacious, clean and each room has a good front lawn which overlooks the lake (on the ground level). It is a very peaceful experience, and the location of the hotel cuts off the city noise 100%. The restaurants are very well managed and the food quality is excellent. The breads they serve are made off their own bakery, and we found that to be a fresh addition to the morning breakfast spread.
The drivers of the hotel are very well taken care of and trained, and we had a good experience right from the airport to the city tour they took us on, right till the time we were dropped back to the airport.
Since this property is on a mountain, it is not recommended for people who have problems in walking up and down, though the hotel does have electric carts.
The pool is smaller than what you expect, but it is a heated pool and probably has the best view in Srinagar.
Overall this property is highly recommended for couples and families.

Room Tip: The Ground floor has a front lawn, but the first floor has a better view. otherwise all rooms seem identical.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aiyesha_rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a hotel with a stunning location, you can even see the Dal lake from your bed!!! Unfortunately even though it's a new property it seems to be falling apart as someone here remarked a few months back the slab on the side of the pool is missing... When we were there there was a huge gap with a warning sign at the top of the stairs near the pool which led to the rooms, this was not repaired for 3 days... It is far if you want to walk somewhere and the hotel charges a lot for a drop, howevere now they have radio cabs which come quite easily...A great place but still needs to improve services etc to reach the Taj standards...The cafe should have a doorway onto the terrace where there is alfresco dining, else the purpose is defeated...

Room Tip: First floor rooms beyond the swimming pool probably give a better view of the Dal lake
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi33India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went their for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. Its an amazing property and situated at a very beautiful place. Taj Srinagar proudly carries the legacy of Taj services and what I call a 'personal touch' to its guests.

Overall the best place to stay in Srinagar. Entire team at Taj is really humble and always there to help.

Just had two bitter experiences - On 01st Dec. morning (Breakfast time) at the day of our anniversary when we reached to the restaurant (Latitude), we found out that there is some group arrived and it was completely crowded because of that. There was no space to stand, leave sitting. After long wait, finally we got one table; however there was not much space to even comfortably push out your chairs (unfortunately that seat was very close to buffet table and people were standing near to it). Even the food was not hot and staff was taking time to refill the dishes. Though the staff tried their best to offer us better service from there on, but it was clear that restaurant is not meant for such large group and there was lack of planning.

I am surprised by the fact that the hotel knew about group arrival and still they haven't planned anything about it; they should have created some extra space so that more people can have breakfast comfortably. It's very clear that Hotel gave preference to 'Groups' then single/double occupancy guest.

Another shock for us was when we saw a cat eating from the plates which house keeping staff removed from our room. They kept it just outside the room and cat enjoyed our leftovers.

These were the few goof-ups from hotel side, else the property is wonderful and staff is really nice. being a hardcore Taj fan, I am really disappointed and wish to see things changing. I am still loyal to Taj and will have Taj as my first preference to stay.

Room Tip: All the services (Restaurant, bar, pool etc.) are in the main building and rooms separate. In case you dont like walking, choose room nearby. I personally like room at first floor; it has separate sit-out area and lovely view. Especially in winters when trees don't have leaves, first floor rooms gave lovely view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NitinnWalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

what a stay, it is simply fabulous. Very warm reception, terrific infrastructure, excellent food beautiful environment. I have started the journey with TAJ and have seen most of the beautiful hotels in Kashmir. I don't know how TAJ is been rated by Trip Advisor as 4th. It is the best hotel in kashmir by all standard.
If you can't afford, no problem but it is the best in everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, u don't require to make any choice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagnik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

the location is excellent ;perched on a hill with a beautiful view of the dal lake on one side & the valley on the other...the rooms are large with a private sitout with every room...service was good & the food was good too....would recommend this hotel.....truly heaven on earth...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meeta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews