We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveler rating
801
303
71
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
303
71
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill topinfinity poollatitude restauranthill overlookingjade dragonpremium indulgence roommain buildingin room diningtulip gardenduty managerbeautiful propertyexcellent viewpanoramic viewrooms are hugef broom servicebreakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
1,156 - 1,161 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We atayed in this hotel in July twice on our trip. The first stay of 3 days were memorable while the second stay of 1 day took away some of the pleasant memories. Sometimes they seem to be incapable of managing things well when the no. of visitors increase leading to deficient services. You'll definitely expect very high standard of service for the money they charge. However, if not enything else, go here just for the views of the Dal Lake - any time of the day is beautiful and the evenings are magical, sepecially at the time of the sunset. The infinity pool also looks nice although the water appeared green. Definitely worth a visit. Well, the food tastes good too. If ordering kawa (Kashmiri tea), look for worms and insects. Sometimes the AC won't work. So, try some alternatives (like keeping the door open - but save yourself from the mosquitoes). And if the water kettle looks broken or doesn't work, please ask for a replacement rather than a quick fix service - as it'll still not work once the service guys show you it works!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel seemed to be bigger and better than the rooms at the back of it. However, there can be so blockage of the view of Dal Lake from your room balcony depending on the location.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubhro_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Veventa By Taj, a good hotel at the gr8 location. View from the rooms is very good. We stayed in for a day and had very good experience. The food at restaurant @ “Lattitude” is yummy. Staff was very cooperative. Room service will take some time as the rooms are distributed very far away from main building.

Overall, we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viswa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Recently I was in Taj Dal View.Srinagar for a family vacation from 20th July 2012.Otherwise,the hotel is great in location and rooms are great ,the main areas of deficiencies are ; transportation to and from the hotel and dining in their only restaurant LATITUDE.The dining experience in Latitude is horrible if U R used to the Taj services in other Taj properties.Whether it is b/fast,launch or dinner ,it is always the chaotic scene and senior hotel staffs are nowhere to be seen,Senior staffs and General manager are more interested in arranging RAVE parties at Hotel lawn rather than helping the resident Guests.
As the hotel is located in Hill-top,U need to have a car whenever and wherever U want to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpchoudhury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We visited "Latitude" for lunch during our recent visit to Srinagar, which is the only restaurant open for lunch. It was clearly not a Taj or Vivanta experience...we asked for a starter on the menu and the chef came back and said, we are out of the ingredients...wow ! The manager said that they have a new menu but not ready to serve all dishes....well done ! I think the local staff is a bit inexperienced...it took couple of reminders before our order was taken..they served soggy papadams...and on pointing out mentioned that they only have pre-cooked papadams.
On taking this up with the restaurant manager we got the replacement..he did get the tsaff to be more attentive towards us...but this is not Taj !
I think Vivanta Hotels..and I have stayed in 4 of them will take the Taj brand down...other than the one at Kovalam...the experience was very average

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Kash8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had been to Taj in Srinagar. This is a relatively new property.
The best part about this property is the location. Above a hill top this is amazing. The day I was there, it was also raining and the view of the DAL from the balcony was excellent.

As i understand, all room are big villa size and are Dal facing. Rooms are big and well laid out. Have not sen such big hotel rooms in a long time. The pool is good but did not use it.

The Staff at the restaurant was very helpful and friendly.

Only thing I missed was that during the time, they did not have a Bar license, so no LIQUOR.

Not sure if they have that now.

Overall , amazing place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews