We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveler rating
802
303
71
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
303
71
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill topinfinity poollatitude restauranthill overlookingjade dragonpremium indulgence roommain buildingin room diningtulip gardenduty managerbeautiful propertyexcellent viewpanoramic viewrooms are hugef broom servicebreakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
1,229 - 1,234 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We visited Srinagar in June 2011. Though the hotel has an excellent location and provides a great view of the Dal Lake, the service was not good. The staff had to be reminded many times before they could serve us. The restaurant staff were not knowledgable about the menu. Sadly, they did not provide us with the traditional TAJ service and courtesy.

From room perspective, the room size is huge and there is a garden in the front and back of the room where the kids had a nice time and we also could enjoy the cool morning weather and enjoy the panaromic view of the Dal Lake and Srinagar city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParulSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for five nights. A family of four including a four year old and a nine year old. The hotel is located on a hilltop with great views of the Valley and the Zabarwan hills behind. The rooms are well furnished and very large. The fittings and finish leave a lot to be desired. The locks and latches did not work and the room safe was out of order. The shower faucet was broken and the drain was blocked. Was not expected from a Hotel that opened only a month ago. We complained but the staff was not able to fix the issues during our five days of stay.

Be prepared to pay a high cost for taxis if you are staying here as the hotel in nowhere near any public transport and to reach you have to go up a lonely road for two kms or so. Even walking to and from the hotel to the nearest road can be an effort. As expected the hotel taxis are expensive and for some reason they do not allow outside taxis to take hotel guests. I think there is a nexus between the taxi guys and the hotel staff.

We ate at the two restaurants they have and the coffee shop was better than the Chinese. The Chinese food is overpriced and not well made. One has to eat at the hotel as there is no other option nearby. The views from the restaurant are great.

The staff is pretty new and the concept of service is not at par with other five stars in Srinagar or elsewhere.

Mobiles do not work in the rooms due to lack of network and hotel provided Internet has average speeds.

The beds, bathtub and room furniture is very good. All rooms have LCD TVs with a good selection of channels.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pramod Pal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Candolim: Casa Candolim: "Exceptional treatment"
Date: 18 Feb 2010
We booked this hotel for our weeklong stay in Goa mainly based on its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. And it is a unique little gem, really.

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufisayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos los cuartos tienen muy buena vista
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBT T, Director of Sales at Vivanta By Taj Dal View, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews