We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grt Location, Reasonable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at JH Bazaz for 4 nights during our srinagar stay. Our experience was a mixed bag but would recommend the hotel for people who would want to stay close to dal lake at reasonable prices ... We also asked Sarwar to arrange taxis for visiting local places including Pahalgam, Gulmarg etc. We were happy with our taxi and drivers during our visits...

Pros:
Location: Just 2-3 min walk from Dal Lake
Rooms: Clean bathrooms with running hot and cold water. LCD TVs in the rooms are a plus.
Staff very friendly and helpful. The attendant in the hotel was very prompt and service oriented..
Reasonable Prices.

Cons:
Rooms: Rooms have low ceilings which can be claustophobic during days when temperature is on higher side. I understand that this might not be a issue for 9-10 months in Srinagar during colder climate but it can cause discomfort during summer days.

Approach to hotel. The hotel is in narrow lanes next to Dal Lake. you would usually see garbage dumped in these lanes. Although this does not impact the hotel cleaniness but something to see everytime you cross the lane to go to and fro from the hotel.

Food: Bazaz offered basic food options for Bfast/Lunch/Dinner. Bfast & tea is okay but We found the main food items to be more oily than our liking. Lots of options outside the hotel on Dal Lake..

Overall would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumbai_Traveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a string of JKTDC stays, we wanted to break the routine. JH Bazaz was rated extremely high, so we thought that we would check-in into this homestay. Lets first talk about the location - it is slightly off the Boulevard in a narrow lane, which is generally unclean. So, walking to & fro from the hotel leaves a grimace. Rooms are small, with low ceilings (I could touch the ceiling... it is that low) and the commode in the bathroom was fitted in a manner that its right side was so close to the wall that I had to sit in a crooked manner, which is not comfortable. Also, it had no tissue paper. Room floor was carpeted, but that carpet was unclean.
Service is good, yes and the service-man is very efficient. But I fail to understand their fondness of using tons of oil in every kind of preparation. Sarwar tries hard to help you with your queries and requirements... but he really needs to take care of these basic aspects.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 10th August. The hotel is very neat and clean and is in close proximity to Dal gate. Mr Sarwar was very caring. The room service was efficient. We had a nice stay despite the unexpected hot weather in Srinagar at this time of the year

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmahajan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in a Hotel for 4 days and it was a Home like feeling with Good service, hospitality and was very helpful in guiding the local travel.
Taxi can be booked from hotel and will be helpful.
Hotel is Walkable distance from Dal Lake.
Hotel is Excellent in terms of Value for money and is good in terms of Location.
Hotel is good to stay for family and couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saket J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarwarjavidbazaz, Owner at Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks..

I wish you all the best for both of you and a happy life in future.
We hope to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me, my husband and my 1.5 year hold son visited Kashmir on 14th June. Our entire stay was with JH Bazaz and we are happy we did so. Indeed the trip was better because of their arrangements. They took care of almost everything, from arranging the car to helping us choose which place to go first. The room service boy Bashir (who took care for our room) was very good. He would give us almost whatever food we wanted and no matter at what time. Families traveling with kids will know how much this counts in an unknown land. In all Sarwar Ji thanks for your arrangements, Kashmir became all the more beautiful because of your hotel. To all those reading this review from a professional view point I would say these people are doing a very fair business. Not for once will you ever feel that your stay was not worth the money. They do really take care.

Room Tip: Room 101, although the rooms are small and not as they appear in the picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subhra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mr Hussain made all the bookings for stay at houseboat, pahalgam and sightseeings as well.
It was a comfortable stay at all places where arrangements were made.
The caretaker Basheer is very enthusiastic and helpful and also made me try a salted tea which I believe is a traditional tea beverage in kashmir. Also try Kahwa.
Abdul ji, our driver for Pahalgam was very entertaining and also got us to a very good vegetarian restaurant.
Overall the trip was a very memorable part because of the beauty of Kashmir and part due to the hospitality served out by Mr Hussain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bharat2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere clean, competitively priced and very, very hospitable, Happy Cottage is your best choice in Srinagar. Mr. Sarwar Hussein and his father provide an extremely high level of traditional Kashmiri hospitality that is difficult to emulate. Bashir our attendant was always available,extremely efficient, and service is always provided with a happy smile. It is like staying with family, because Mr. Hussein provided every conceivable travel plan support in the middle of the curfew, and also all possible help when my mother fell ill!!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pratimapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
2.7 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Hotel Asian Park
Hotel Asian Park
#11 of 139 in Srinagar
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Address: 1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $31 - $975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More of a "HOME STAY" with amidst a lush green garden, cozy rooms with posh baths. Exotic food served with great hospitality.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing