We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”
Review of Hotel Brown Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Brown Palace
Ranked #44 of 142 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed June 25, 2014

If your are looking for an oasis of peace and quiet among the hustle ,bustle and noise that is found on he boulevard road at dal lake in srinagar then this the place for you. There is no view of the lake from the hotel but being a stone's throw away one can walk down anytime one feels like.Large neat and clean rooms with window opening out onto a large central garden give a feel of openness.Courteous ,helpful staff coupled with good food made the stay very good. Not in the category of boutique exclusive or luxury hotels it more than makes up by the quiet ambience and quality. A view of the shankracharya temple on top of the hill is a bonus. A definite recommnd

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms are spacious and clean. Very well maintained park with lots of flowers. There are swings for children to play. Location is very good ... close to dal lake. Staffs are very friendly. Their room service is also good. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UmaAshok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days from 6th of June to 9th June. Very good hotel as far as the location and looks are concerned but the service is poor it takes half an hour for your tea to be delivered to your room. The choice for the breakfast is very limited plus it is not up to the mark. The housekeeping to is bad on the 1st day I spotted a cockroach in the bathroom and complained to the reception but it was cleaned only the next day.
The management is not concidrate about the general guest as it was peak season and the hotel has understanding with touropraters and they fetch the clients for the hotel.
Overall not a very happy experience

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The rooms are very spacious. very helpful staff. Decent food. Located at dal lake. Clean rooms with a nice view through window. u can always walk outside to the Dal lake. Enjoyed the stay over there. I would stay there again if visiting srinagar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplyshahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We( group of 2 couples) stayed for 4 nights in brown palace during 10-15 April 2014 in our Kashmir trip. The property is decent with great service by the staff.

1. Location: On Dal Lake, shikara ride, houseboats, market etc all are nearby.
2. Rooms : Are very well maintained, neat, clean, equipped with electric blankets, heaters etc. The size is big which you rarely see in hill stations.
3. Staff was very courteous and helpful and they really helped us n making our trip memorable.
4. Food: Good options for Non Veg, Limited veg options.
5. dine in: They have a restaurant on the ground floor and unbelievably they served us hot food (including hot chappatis)

overall good and satisfying stay. recommend for location, value and guidance by the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinaychouhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were speechless to see our super deluxe rooms. Huge and clean, with screened dining areas in one room and comfortable couches, wardrobes, dressing table and stool. One can put 2 extra mattresses and still there will be enough space left for children to keep playing around.
Amazing garden with flowering trees, rare birds and lush green lawn.The building blocks were beautiful too and the hotel looks exactly like their webpage. The food was very good with good quantity, taste and very cost effective even with service charge. Wifi is not free.
It is just 1 minute away from a nice part of Dal lake. There are shops, ATMs and other eating joints within walkable distances. We booked in advance and got a more than reasonable tariff which was inclusive of breakfast. The breakfast was lavish and filling (tea/ coffee, juice, any 2 items from toast, paratha and milk cornflakes.
Caution - Very high expectation of tips amount and multiple recipients.

Room Tip: Super deluxe rooms on 2nd floor (we stayed in B block).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mriduchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Hotel is Beautifully located in a ideal place on Boulevard Road .DAL lake is just a turn outside the Hotel.Even though it is located in the main area it is less noisy ,as the hotel is located sliglty inside which makes it a ideal choice for every one.The rooms have excellent views of Shankaracharya hill.There is a beautiful big lawn which is frequneted by lots of birds most of the time.If you stay for some days you can notice that the sweet birds sound will be the first you will hear in the early morning starting almost exactly at a particular time daily. Room service is excellent and the rooms are really big and spacious and family suite is much bigger than anyone can imagine.They have a decent restaurant which servers clean and good food.

The staff at the reception are very good ,especially Mr.Naseer and Mr.Mohamed Yousuff were of great help for us during our stay.Each day they would provide us the tips for the sites we were visting and also they would tell us about some do's and dont's.Its something great to see such good mannered staff these days.

The owner of the Hotel Mr.Imitiaz is a man who has loads of information about the natural beauty,places,flora and fauna about the valley.I had a great intersting conversation with him during my stay there.A very helpful and polite gentleman who never ever feels tired answering all querries,especially if you are first timer to this place .

To make it short, Hotel Brown Palace is a real defeniton for how a Hotel should be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snow_Leopards_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Zamrud
Hotel Zamrud
#66 of 142 in Srinagar
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillscape Inn
Hillscape Inn
#33 of 142 in Srinagar
88 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#34 of 142 in Srinagar
147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#21 of 142 in Srinagar
379 reviews
4.6 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#24 of 142 in Srinagar
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brown Palace

Address: Boulevard Road, | Next to Passport Office, Opp Ghat No: 12, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 142 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range: $39 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brown Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brown Palace Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing