We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De-Laila Group of House Boats
Ranked #87 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Jalandhar,Punjab
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had booked super deluxe room in this Houseboat through Makemytrip for 1 Night i.e 15-June-13 to 16-June-13

Our first impressions for this houseboat were not good as when we reach at Ghat no 9 of Dal lake to board in for the houseboat and requested Ghat incharge to call Shikara of De Laila he asked to load our luggage in the Shikara of De Laila ourself as shikarawala is not a Potter or Coolie.Anyway we hired a Coolie and got the Luggage loaded in the Shikara.

Secondaly When we reached the houseboat the caretaker shifted our luggage in third class room with a stinking smell of matresses and water and which even do not gives a look of deluxe room although we had booked a Super Deluxe room so we refused to check in then he showed us other rooms of same standard finally we decided to checkout then caretaker of the houseboat talked to some lady in the Office of De laila and showed us the room that we had booked for and we checked in.This is the way how they cheat thier guests.

The quality of breakfast was also very poor it is suggestive to skip the breakfast rather then taking it here.also no internet or wifi access available as mentioned in the website.

On the other hand the super deluxe room bears a traditional kashmiri look and gives a royal feeling .Sitting outside in the balcony/Deck of the houseboat and enjoying views of Dal and Zabarwan Hills gives very heavenly feeling.Staff was also very helpful and Co-Operative

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located in Golden Dal Lake at a perfect location the De Laila houseboat is a super deluxe facility. It has got some very beautiful wood carved exteriors and equally beautiful interiors done in traditional Kashmiri style. The bathrooms are quite modern with bath tubs and all. The rooms also have all modern amenities one might need.

I wish this was enough to make a stay memorable. The service and hospitality was lacking and negated the positive impact of the wonderful location and beautiful property.

I had booked this accommodation through make my trip and some of the inclusions advertised were not provided or provided only on request, which felt awkward. The caretaker was slow and lazy and I doubt if he understood the basics of customer service.The breakfast menu was very limited and the quality was just ok.

A little effort to improve on the service angle and this property can be a wonderful overall package.

Room Tip: Go for rooms towards the front as they are more spacious and have better window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmilePriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was the best stay i had at the De-Laila Hoouseboats. The food was excellent & the services were very homely.. I really enjoyed staying for my Honeymoon at the Beautiful Houseboat.It was wonderful to have a candle light Dinner at the deck of the houseboat under the beautiful moon light with the glittering waters of Dal- lake with Houseboat lights

Room Tip: If you need to travel to a destination find the local agent always'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank simrankhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashik, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Awful stay!
We were here for 2 nights in dec. 2012.
Welcome tea was served after one hour.
Rooms were spacious but unclean,bed heaters were provided but not working .
Room heater were provided with extra charge,one heater was working in common room for 2/3 hours only in evening.
Power was available between 8 pm to 6 am with several power failure.
water cut off ,they gave only half bucket of hot water for bath per person.
Breakfast served was single egg omlet & one cup tea per person.
Dinner was of minimum quantity without taste
Staff was lazy,rude,unfaithful and liar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Srinagar hotels

Pune
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Horrible.Terrible. Cheaters....
Stay here at De laila only if they promise to pay YOU. Dont spend any single paisa here. The Staff is all cheaters & just looking for an opportunity to milk money from us. You pay them money & they will provide you `Everything!' Dont pay & they will be so rude. Food is Bakwas. They told us on th efirst evening that they do not provide Non-Veg on this Boat, Next day a Rs.500 note made them bow to us & provide Non-Veg of our choice!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan220, Manager at De-Laila Group of House Boats, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
There is no point that if a person wants some thing extra has to pay for it . and in our menu there is non veg mentioned there . if one takes a package and is included non veg we provide it and if he is on EP without meals he has to pay extra for the non veg . We above all prepare fresh and take the pre order for the same to prepare it . at the time on dinner if one ask us and has not orderd in advance we will not be able to provide it ..
If one goes to any corner of the world there is no free lunch one has to pay and it is strictly business .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

De laila is the best house boat you would find on the dal lake, amazing infrastructure, amazing facilities and equally amazing people to help you..Ours was a group of 8 people and we stayed for 2 nights ..the stay was really wow as i never in my dreams thought that you can get so many things in a house boat..hats off to these people who run this place..we just had breakfast there which was also good..overall a really good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rajat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Cheaters.

I don't disagree that the rooms are extremely good but it's not worth the price. I had done the booking for 3 nights and 4 days for deluxe stay. The last day, after we came back from the local sight seeing to our surprise they had kept our stuff at the reception. I went with 2 senior citizen ladies, they misbehaved with all of us. My mother was having high fever and had to face the dirty ruckus. They made us shift to a different house boat which had a drunkard the next room and holes all around.

We went and filed a complain at the police station and also with the Tourism police dept.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NaritaBagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
3.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
5.7 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
3.0 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
3.0 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#17 of 135 in Srinagar
349 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De-Laila Group of House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De-Laila Group of House Boats

Property: De-Laila Group of House Boats
Address: Opp Park Hotel Boulevard Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — De-Laila Group of House Boats 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your De-Laila Group of House Boats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De-Laila Group Of House Boats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing