We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let the day of departure arrive, only then do they show true colours”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dawn Group of House Boats
Ranked #56 of 570 Specialty Lodging in Srinagar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“let the day of departure arrive, only then do they show true colours”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was in Srinagar for my honeymoon. At first the things were good. We arrived, they welcomed us warmly.

1) On arrival, there were three types of rooms. And because we had booked them through an agent, we got the smallest & shabbiest room. Not to be too critical, but the room actually looked like an adultery house. When we got a view of the other rooms, they were gorgeous. So its basically upon your luck.

2)the food was awful. Was completely bland and cud not be eaten, instead you can eat at the other nice restaurants nearby on the road.
Since we were two couples, we were bound to get two complimentary shikara rides. We did get them, but while we were departing, the shikara owner asked for a payment for 1 shikara as only one was complimentary. When we tried to speak to the owner of the houseboat, he simply was not interested to intervene and asked us to pay for 1 shikara saying it was not included. We were thankful that our tour operator handled the situation, else we were definitely to be ripped off.

Please avoid if possible. Not worth a single penny of your money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rushik1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for 3 NIghts here in this house boat " Happy Dawn" which is one of the 4 Dawn Group Houseboats, The first impression itself of this houseboat makes you feel at home away from home. Right from the time you step in to the large beautifully decorated living room with plush carpets and upholstery and nicely carved furniture. As you walk in next you are greeted by a large dining room with a huge carved dining table with nicely decorated side tables and carnishes. This leads to a narrow corridor leading to three nicely appointed rooms complete with embroidered bed sheets and curtains complete with everything making you feel being in your home. The bathrooms are complete with running hot & cold water and even goes with a bath tub. The staff - a single care taker ..Nazir..always smiling and your " man friday" for all errands right from bed tea to breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is the best kashmiri authentic cuisine I have ever had starting from Mutton,Kofta, Nadru Yakhni, Rogan Josh and lot of vegetarian delicacies. Now the most important aspect of the stay which if not mentioned would not do justice to this houseboat, the owner Mr. Mohd. Aksar Tunda, the most hospitable, curt and polite gentleman I have come across. He took personal care of us and made sure we had the best of the experience during our stay. Always available to guide us and made us feel at home. On our request for Wazwan ( Kashmiri traditional cuisine) he specially got prepared some delicious food for us and made our day. The last but not the least, this houseboat is located away from the hustle bustle of the groups of other house boats and is moored at one of the ends of the Dal Lake. The verandah has a commanding view of the Dal and the mountains giving a splendid backdrop. I would encourage and recommend anyone who wants to experience the serenity and peace of Kashmir in the luxury of being at home should definitely stay with the Dawn Group houseboats. I shall definitely come back again. My sincere thanks to Mr. Aksar for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MysticMinstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed in Happy dawn houseboats from 14th may 2011 to 21st may. The location is excellent . It has crystal clear view from the boat upto 1 km .There are no obstructions in between from this boat.U can feel the beauty of lake from the boat.The quality of food, cleanliness of room, hospitality of the owner Shri .M.Aksar Tunda is really superb and appreciable. There is 24 hour running water in the bathroom and all taps.Laundry service is also given.We also were served with Jain food. I felt like A Home away from home.Morning is damn beautiful and shikara ride of lake makes u feel so relax....Vimalbotadra@gmail.com,mob:-----

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vimalbotadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at the Dawn houseboat and we truly enjoyed the stay, the location, hospitality and facilities were great.

We stayed for 4 nights, the room was clean and well maintained, the home made food was great, but you will have limited choice. The owner made us feel at home as he was personally making sure his guests are happy and comfortable.

Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Avi3639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I would agree with the previous post that a lot of the locals are trying to get a lot of money out of you, but it is their job. It is how they make a living. If you kindly decline you can usually move on.
I did not find that to be the case here at this place at all. It was rather warm and welcoming and I was able to get to get a reduced price through a friend. It helped me save the needed for the shikara rides back and forth and around.
As far as the room, it was well kept and VERY clean. It was well decorated and made me feel very much like I was at home. The staff there was very polite and spoke english well. The only draw back i could find about this place is that the walls are a bit thin. Actually the walls are open at the top. As an American, I tend to sleep earlier than most Indians. This made it hard for me to get sleep as i was about to start sleep the same time a lot of the guests were having dinner. Another time family was being checked at the same time I was taking a nap and I was abruptly woken up due to thin walls. I adapted over time.
I would totally recommend this place also for the amazing view around it as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chiefstingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The house boats on Dal LAke are an absolute rip off....Please bargain on the price for a night stay before you decide to board one..They can be very friendly and buttery but when it comes to money they will squeeze you for every penny. The Dal lake is absolutely beautiful but the locals are greedy and are only interested in making a quick buck out of you.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank detoxf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Dal lake has many faces - there are parts which are congested, some parts are very dirty and some parts very serene. This group of houseboats are located in the open, quite and serene part of the Dal Lake. The view of the open Dal Lake is amazing from this houseboat. The lake is really wide over here. Takes 10 minutes by Shikara to reahc the shore. There are dedicated Shikara walas who will wait for you at their stand unless you come back. We came back pretty late sometimes and found them waiting in the shivering cold.

The interiors are pretty good and rooms spacious altough I am sure they may be even better decorated houseboats in the lake. The hospitality of the staff (Manzoor Bhai) and owner (Aksar Tunda) was very good. They kept us very warm in the cold Kashmiri november nights. We stayed in the Happy Dawn boat. Food - we had dinner once with them - it was homemade delicious stuff. The rooms and toilets are pretty clean.

No hassles here of floating salesmen trying to sell you their stuff. I have heard that in some places the salesmen keep on appearing through out the day. Here, it is only if you ask the staff - they will arrange for their preffered salesmen to appear at the time you want them to come.

The kitchen comes in very handy for getting your quick cup of coffee. Running hot and cold water in the bathrooms almost through out the day - no issues even in November.

Overall - very good. We had planned to stay here for 2 days. Ended up staying 5 days. We also got a very good deal as it was off-season. Our team consisted of a 3 yr old, 3 people above 60 and 3 people in 25-35 group.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — Mode of transport (shikara - 10 min)
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Puranjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
0.0 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
0.0 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akbar Inn
Hotel Akbar Inn
#26 of 133 in Srinagar
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawn Group of House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawn Group of House Boats

Property: Dawn Group of House Boats
Address: P.O. Box 67, Nehru Park | Near Maharaja Place, Dal Lake, Srinagar, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 570 Specialty Lodging in Srinagar
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Dawn Group Of House Boats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing