We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience than Dharmshala”
Review of Hotel Varun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Varun
Ranked #1 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Katra
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked the hotel online during August and selected the Super Deluxe Room. we were 2 family and the worst part of the whole trip was Hotel Varun Stay. U will find small cockroaches,Stinking Carpet , Uncleaned Toilet and worst is Khatmal on the bed.On complaint manager changes the room at 1 AM and worst is as soon as u are ready to lie on bed there were more cockroaches on bed.
I recommend u dont even go to check the rooms . Better Pay 1000Rs more rather than wasting 2000Rs as I have become a joke to book such a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ravi1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently travelled to katra on 29 sep.I stayed in hotel varun for 1 night.The rooms are clean and the pick and drop service provided by hotel was excellent.The hotel rate are less then the other hotels of similar star.They even booked my tickets for volvo bus.I would definately recommend this hotel for stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mav1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hello everyone.

This is regarding our stay in Katra during the period 24th -27th July 2012. I have booked online hotel based upon reviews and photos in various website. I have booked hotel @ 1937 per night for two nights when i reached the hotel i noticed the following horrible things :-

- Cigarettes ashes on floor & smell of same
- AC not working
- uncleaned and unhygienic washroom
- water leakage in washroom
- Far away from the local market

Seeing this i complained regarding this to Hotel manager which he asked to shift to their another hotel- Hotel Vishal which was normal and again of that is not value for money in terms of comfort and fooding.

Recommendation- Do not book Hotel Varun online first check the room before paying for it!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PrashantSapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here on 27th July 2012 for one night, this hotel is one of the the worst hotels I have ever stayed, we had booked an A/C Deluxe Room and had series of problems.

When we checked into the room it smelled terrible we had to keep the balcony open for half hour to get rid of the stale smell, the linen on the bed was stained we had to ask them to change the bed linen and pillow covers, the over all condition of the room was very poor.

We suddenly found out midnight our A/C stopped working we were dead tired as we had to change two connecting flights (International & Domestic) before getting here so didn’t do much latter in the morning we realized they also have their A/C controls outside the room and our A/C was intentionally shut just wondering how cheap they could get.

We had evening snacks and breakfast and found both the meals very average.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location from the Helipad and the staff at the reception was polite and helpful apart of that the room quality was very disappointing.

Defiantly would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone as just next to this hotel there are many new hotels with the same rate and better standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AjayMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel Katra's offering is well suited to the needs of a Vaishno Devi pilgrim. I would also recommend it for families (basically if women / children are travelling). My wife and I stayed here in August 2012.

Pros:
1. Rooms are basic, but nice. Most of a pilgrim's time will be spent trekking / on a horse to the Vaishno Devi shrine. Your hotel is Katra will largely be used to rest and have a hot water bath. Hotel Varun is good for both
2. Services offered are tuned to requirements of pilgrims. They had a massage which was at a good price point (around INR 200)
3. Complimentary pick-up-and-drop service to and from Banganga (the starting point of the Vaishno Devi trek)
4. 24 hrs hot water, plus the hotel has a generator in case the power fails
5. Value for money pricing
6. A cheerful manager enhanced our experience
7. The hotel makes small adjustments. We had a room booked for two days starting the day we completed the Vaishno Devi trek. We did not have any booking for the day we arrived (we needed a room only for an hour to take a bath and change). The manager offered us a room for 1 hour without charge. The hotel also held our luggage as we departed on a trek, to come back and stay with them for the next 2 days
8. They have a lift (which will be thanked by legs worn out from the Vaishno Devi trek)

Cons:
1. There were lots of baby cockroaches in the room, and especially the bathroom. They were really tiny, so we got by
2. The food was average, at best

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, and will stay there if I ever visit Katra again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights - 01st to 03rd July 2012. Located towards the end of the busy hotels' strip-that was a relief! It has a lot of plus points. Drop/pick up from Banganga (starting point for the 14km trek), though, at 2am return we did take a rick. Really good staff and manager,(we had a Mr.Pandit). We had booked a deluxe a/c room which was fairly decent. At the start we needed to remind them of a couple of things but they quickly got the hang of it. The towels were a bit run-down but the bathroom was clean. They have a lift - that's handy for people who can't do the stairs. I'd suggest you stick to simple desi food-avoid the hi-fi stuff. The foyer is good. We enjoyed sitting there chatting to fellow yatris and sharing experiences. All in all, I found it Value For Money. Good people and a nice environment. Jai Mata Di.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Trikuta mountain are a bit small so we opted for the one facing the road. Carry you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeenaSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband & I visit Katra every year in the month of April. It is a ritual that we have being following for years. We have now become experts in everything KATRA! After traveling there for so many years, most of the hotels in Katra are tried & tested by us! We have finally settled for this hotel now, because of the following important reasons:

1) Location: Every year we take the helicopter to Sanjichat & the easiest & closet way to the helipad is from Hotel Varun. The hotel provides free pick up & drop to the check point of the helipad, which is very comfortable.

2) Rooms: The rooms are quite big, neat & clean. The bathrooms are nice & big.

3) Service: Though we always try out different eating joints in Katra( there are many ), we need room service, which is not bad considering the fact its not a 5 star & we are not paying in dollars!

4) Cheap accommodation: We always take a package for 1 night 2 days with breakfast, transport, help tickets & special entry passes for the darshan & it turns out to be very cheap for this particular hotel.

Keeping in mind the fact, that we have to spend only a night or two, this suits our budget & theres nothing to complain. Its seems to a safe & right bet for Katra.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katra hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Inn
Hotel Maharaja Inn
#7 of 65 in Katra
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Katra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#9 of 65 in Katra
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anurag Hotel
Anurag Hotel
#10 of 65 in Katra
183 reviews
0 mi away
Van Durga Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varun

Address: Kashmir Road, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Katra
Price Range: $30 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Varun 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Varun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Varun Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing