We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Katra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

unhelpful staff, you have to write 5 emails to get one information, they just give you a room to stay and then the rest is a Self-help service. They will JUST NOT provide you with any service further like help in booking a room at the bhavan or getting yatra parchi, which is not in the interest of the pilgrim who has traveled from so far. Their policy it seems is buy our heli darshan package or get nothing !!

Room Tip: Ask every question before booking, else you will be fleeced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisKatra, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback and we appreciate the time taken to write about your experience with us. Your sentiments are of great concern to us as we pride ourselves in exceeding expectations at all times.Our Guests do not have to wait in the queue to get the yatra slip but it is printed at the hotel being preferred hotel of Shree Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board.

We apologize for not being of help in getting the room booked at the Bhawan & had to send multiple emails to get your queries answered.

I would really appreciate it if you could send me your contact details to discuss your time here with us more constructively. We would really appreciate the opportunity to make it up for you.

Kuldeep Sharma
Manager Operations
Cell: +91 9906060554
Email: mo@ciskatra.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 796 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked a heli-darshan package for the family at Country Inn and Suites, Katra. The property is 7 Km away from Katra on a quite peaceful, serene landscape. The rooms were very clean, well maintained and regularly serviced. The vegetarian food at Maple restaurant was simply delicious. The hotel planned a Vaishnodevi Helicopoter Darshan and a car was provided for pick-up and drop. The staff at the hotel, restaurant and elsewhere were respectful and cordial.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgsalunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We booked our package through IRCTC (Delhi-Vaishno Devi Package) and it turned out to be a fantastic deal. Generally, the quality and choice of hotels in religious places leaves a lot to be desired - leading to a general reduction in the inclination to visit such places.

However, with the coming up of Country Inn at a place as revered as Vaishno Devi, making a trip here has become comfortable, convenient and luxurious. The rooms are excellently done and the service is fantastic. The lawns are spacious and well manicured and its joy to sit outside and sip well made morning tea in the area. Price-wise as well it is very competitively priced and provides much more amenities at a very small incremental premium.

The hotel inspires you to visit Vaishno Devi again because of the comfort it offers - one of the key reasons why I would visit Vaishno Devi again would definitely be this hotel!

I will recommend the entire package to most travelers - shed the inhibitions that you have had about IRCTC and book a package - its well organized and has strong participant reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I planned a family trip to vaishno devi in first week on Aug. Booked through IRCTC, i was little scared being IRCTC a govt agency. But after coming back from trip just yesterday, Its one of the most beautiful trip for me & my family.
I found the facilities provided by IRCTC excellent and hotel is really awesome. We completed our darshan around 1.40 in night and called hotel to pick us from banganga. The hotel cab just came with-in 25 mins & provided dinner as well at 3 AM. The food was awesome and the willingness to serve as well.
I really enjoyed my trip and stay at Hotel. Thanks to IRCTC & Country inn for the sweet memories.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramsingh_noida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I visited the hotel between17-19 August as part of IRCTC Vaishnodevi package. Hotel is good, value for money but sad part is about the promise of taking the group to different places in Jammu during Katra to Jammu trip. Hostel staff never wants to show you all the places. They will leave the hotel late or will have some other excuse to not show all the places promised in itinerary. I am not sure if hostel management is aware of this. If they know they should take the corrective action.
Naveen

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NaveenKKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at the hotel on 25 th june 11 on my way to vaishno devi. The hotel is excellent with huge lawns play rides for kids and a swimming pool. Service is good and breakfast is good. The hotel is ideal if visiting with families as kids will love the place

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitpartap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We booked this hotel for the vaishnodevi trip through irctc and it is indeed great value for money.The rooms are spacious and clean.The room we were given was overlooking the pool.The property is well kept and beautiful however it is around 20 min drive from katra.The beds are very comfortable and the staff serves with a smile.Some of the pros and cons----
1. The menu is nothing great but I believe it has been decided by irctc so the hotel says it cannot do much about it.
2. However I felt atleast the choice of the dining area should have been better.The Shalimar restaurant where the meals are served is quite small and it becomes stuffy in there when all the people turn up to eat.On the 3 occassions I ate; twice the hall was very hot and it is difficult to eat if you are wiping your forehead(beads of sweat appear instantly) all the time.
3.Tea/coffee/soup are served in horrible dirty brown cups.I am sure the choice of cups can be improved as even the local tea vendor serves in better cups!!!!
4.The pick up from Bandganga is efficient, you just need to call the hotel 20-25 mins prior to reaching and they pick up without a fuss.
5. The best part is that they serve you dinner in your room whenever you reach back to the hotel after the Darshan.We reached at almost 11:40 pm but dinner was served within 15minutes.
6. Pool is clean and well kept
7. Spa is really good and after is long climb and back it feels great to get pampered.
8.In our case the electronic key/swipe card to the room door never functioned and each time we were locked out and had to wait for atleast 15min before a staff appeared sheapishly mumbling that the card was not charged.I failed to understand how this could happen on all the 4 occasions that we went out!!!!!
9.Lastly we did not like the transfers to and from Jammu in a non A/C bus.I feel that even if they have a budget to follow maybe for future the package cost can be increased by few hundred Rupees but travelling in this heat just washes over the whole experience.

overall GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY and I think I enjoyed my trip and will definitely return next time and recomend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller_bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisKatra, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review.

We have contracted rates & Guests are being served all the meals as per the Menus supplied by IRCTC at a special venue. Moreover transfers are as per IRCTC'S requirement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience faced during meals.

We would love to serve you again on your next visit to Vaishno Devi & to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson.

Kuldeep Sharma
Manager Operations
mo@ciskatra.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katra hotels
2.8 mi away
The Atrium on the Greens
2.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Katra
3 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Inn
Hotel Maharaja Inn
#6 of 65 in Katra
84 reviews
2.7 mi away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#10 of 65 in Katra
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Sharan
The Grand Sharan
#7 of 65 in Katra
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno

Address: Jammu-Katra Highway, Katra 182301, India (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Katra
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First & Only International hotel in Katra. Set amidst 9 acres of lush green landscape in the Himalayan ranges, Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno Devi, Katra is located just outside the Katra town. With its secluded environment, the hotel offers charming and homely amenities ideal for leisure or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Vaishno Devi, Katra
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno Devi, Katra Hotel Katra
Country Inn Katra
Katra Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Radisson Vaishno Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing