We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Katra
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best value for money hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hi,

I recently travelled to Katra for pilgrimage to Vaishno devi shrine. Have been there twice earlier, so was familiar with the place so decided to book hotel after reaching there. This is also one of the best ways to get discounts as during this period there is "off season" and hotels normally offer high discounts.

After checking a few high end hotels, I decided to check out this hotel as it was recommended by my taxi driver. It is located on the main road but inside a small lane so not most easy to locate initially. I was with family therefore wanted a nice room with a clean bathroom.

I was not disappointed on both fronts. In addition, I was offerred a good discount therefore decided to stay here. My room also had a nice view of the mountain. Room was small but neat, bathroom was quite large and had all necessary fittings and hot water.

Best part about the hotel was its courteous staff and excellent food. Room service was always prompt and helpful. We had a small kid thus had specific request for his food, but were never disappointed. Their food was delicious as well as in decent quantity.

We wanted to travel to patnitop (a nearby hillstation) for a day and were looking for transportation. After checking with few operators we took the one offered by our hotel as it was almost the same as the best rate we got from others. Hotel also provided us free transportation to the starting point of the "Darshan".

I would rate my experience at the hotel in the top bracket as I was more than pleased with their service and work attitude for a very reasonable price. Definitely a go if you want to spend few days in Katra.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor are newly furnished thus opt for those
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    142
    46
    10
    9
See reviews for
267
85
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were told by our friend to stay in Sree Hari Niwas in Katra while visiting Vaishnodevi. We talked to Anurag Sharma of Shree Hari Niwas and informed him about our intension to stay on 31 October 2012. Once we reached Jammu Airport, he called up and to find out if we have faced any difficulty. We reached the hotel and checked in with a warm welcome from Anurag. All the people there are very helpful and courteous. Anurag arranged hotel car to drop us near the entrance of the way to the temple which is about 3 Km from the hotel. Anurag told us to give a call to the driver once we return after the darshan. We came down at around 4:00am in the morning and gave a call to the driver. After 12-13Km of walk down from the temple we were completely exhausted and were extremely happy to see that the driver is waiting with the car to pick us up. Finally rooms and toilets are clean and service is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was the most difficult task to choose a hotel in Katra, but thanks to tripadvisor review that i selected Hotel Shree Hari Niwas.

The place is located little off the main road so its quiet possible to miss out in the first place, but once you experience the hospitality and service of the hotel, you will never miss it. Katra bus stand is at 5 mins walking distance from the hotel.

The room and bathroom was very clean and well maintained. The hotel ambiance is good. Food is delicious particularly the aloo parathas with curd.

The staff is very polite and always ready to help apart from one person from the reception, unfortunately i don't remember his name.

Bahadur singh from the security, will always be there at the entrance and will definitely make you smile by his politeness.

The only thing which i din like in particular was the food bill which had to be paid every-time you order something. It becomes very inconvenient. I guess it would be good if you could get into settling all the bills together while checking out.

Overall the place is good value for money and worth staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viator_iter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were 5 members, so booked a family suite. It was quite spacious and well cleaned. Hotel staff is very helpful. Room service is also quick. Enjoyed my stay there. Would certainly recommend. Food was average. Overall value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyogesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in the hotel from 26 oct. to 28.Hotel Shri Hari Niwas katra is almost perfect in terms of hospitality,Hotel is neat and clean,provides free drop and pick-up service to banganga round the clock. Manager Mr. Rajinder is nice , quick and attentive in his service, i would like to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munish1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were four person and hotel have good rooms according to no. of of person. very good and affordable hotel for pleasent stay in katra, service is execellent, food is good, neat and clean in every manner,specialy the hotel situated at the entrance of katra not in the rush area, free pick and drop service by their vehicle from hotel to start point of yatra for mata darshan(Max 5-6 min. distance by car), Staff was very nice and helpfull specially Mr. Jeet Sharma who help us in every manner. I will recomend please visit this hotel once for experiance, after that you will find every thing I have written is very true. Jai Mata Di.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABHISHEKSINGHMECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katra hotels
0.2 mi away
Anurag Hotel
Anurag Hotel
#7 of 57 in Katra
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Atrium on the Greens
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Katra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno
19.0 mi away
Ginger Hotel Katra
Ginger Hotel Katra
#8 of 57 in Katra
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#9 of 57 in Katra
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shree Hari Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shree Hari Niwas

Property: Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
Address: Opp ICICI Bank, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Katra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shree Hari Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shree Hari Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing