We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARM RECEPTION-COLD FAREWELL”
Review of The White Hotels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Hotels
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Katra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is 3rd time I'm here in last 19 months. As-usual I got a very colorful warm traditional well-come. This time I had checked-in to room no 416-nice corner room with twin bed(as per my requirement).I took lunch then.As previous it was mouth-watering food. Housekeeping service is really appreciable.
But this time I had faced 2 bad experience through out my stay.

1. I had noticed that a mechanical sound was coming out from AC vent. I had called house keeping.Person came and told that as it was too late hours,so next day morning their electrician will check the problem.In very early morning we went to MATA-DI darshan,but when returned and entered into the room saw the same problem is still existing. I called front office,house keeping separately but due to some unidentified reason they couldn't stop that sound.

2. At the time of Check-out, despite of several call to front office,none had came to carry our baggage and help us for check-out. At last we had closed the door of the room and deposited key to reception and boarded into car.Then all on a sudden a Bell Boy came and stood infront of us with a very sweet smile-because its time to earn tips.

This is for sure that next time when I'll be at Katra,I'll check in this hotel again as because I think Hotel White is the best property at Katra. I hope that at that time they will rectify themselves.

Room Tip: If possible,its better to choose valley view room;specially in winter and spring season.Because one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrajchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings !!

Thankyou for your honest review and letting us know the entire experience of you stay . I have gone through the entire details and the staff briefed accordingly. I apologise on their behalf for the inconvinience and we will make sure that this won't be repeated to any of our guests in future.

Please inform me on your next visit, when ever you are here with us. I am leaving my contact detail below.

Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 668 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Katra is primarily a pilgrimage town for pilgrims visiting the shrine of Vaishnodevi. It is approximately 2hrs drive from Jammu. Checking in at the White Hotel after such a journey was a pleasure. We travelled in a group of 4, and we had rooms that were close. We had a drop off for the walk on the night that we walked. Room service - the menu is that of the restaurant. It is all vegetarian. The prices were very reasonable. Laundry services were also efficient and reasonably priced. The rooms themselves were a decent size and most importantly clean. There was a lingering smell of mothballs though. We had double beds, a seated area and cupboard space. The bathroom was basic- shower, toilet and sink area. The breakfast consisted of both typical Indian food and cereal and pastries. Main meals range from 350 rupees to 650 rupees, and there is a Chinese menu and Continental menu available. The view from the hotel of Vaishnodevi and the mountains is breathtaking. The spa was quite expensive, with a full body massage at $50.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings !!

We appreciate your feed back and thankyou for posting it on Trip Advisor. Yes, we have best things in place in terms of infrastructure and the services.We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and we will be looking forward to welcome you soon.


Warm regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great rooms, superb valley view, excellent house keeping, tasty food, and more,,,,,,,, A great place to stay if you go to Darshan of Maa Vaishnodevi. We had a stay during March-2013. They provide to and from travel facility by a new Innova Car from Jammu Air port. They also provide free local transportation as many times you wish. Staff is very cooperative and level of service is also high. We had a classic experience. This was the third experience in the same hotel and I will continue staying whenever, I visit there.

Room Tip: Please ask to have a room on back side of hotel, which is having a clear valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitink05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings !!

It feels nice and a sense of satisfaction at the end of the day that we lived upto your expectations every time you stayed with us .We will always try hard to continue with the same gesture and scoring your appreciations.

Thankyou for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Undoubtetly the best hotel in Katra.The rooms were good,food was great and also the staff was friendly.The gymnasium and spa was also good.They also provided us with complimentary steam and sauna.In short go for it without even thinking.
JAI MATA DI!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vansha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings !!

We thankyou for posting you experience on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to know abt your comfortable stay with us. We will be looking forward to see you soon at The White hotels, Vaishnodevi.

Warm Regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Realy beautiful & comfortable place to stay, before & after the MataJi's Darshan.
Located at the base of the begining of journey, close to helipad. Supportive and excellent Staff.
Normal vegetarian food available which was clean and tasty. The Restaurant 'Valley View' provides good service. There is a nice garden restaurant that serves coffee / tea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krupayash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings !!

Its was really a pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay with your family here at The White Hotels vaishnodevi.Thankyou for all your appreciations.

We will be looking forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards,

Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The excellent service of the hotel brings you back at this hotel. This was our second time stay at the hotel. The duty Manager - Mr. Ram immediately upgraded us to valley view hotel when we requested for the same inspite of the hotel running at high occupancy. The buffet offered variety and tasty food which is very important when you are away from home. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the area. We stayed in Room no. 415 & 419 which had awesome view of the route to Mata Vaishno Devi shrine. The spa service was also good and refreshing. The staff like it has always been was very warm, hospitable, helpful and courteous. I will definitely stay at the hotel in my next visit and will always recommend it to everyone. The shuttle service offered by them is also worth mentioning. Just one thing where the hotel can add on is maybe increase the level of cleanliness especially of the cutlery specially to cater to cleanliness obsessed people. It was clean and nice otherwise. And please also offer chocolate ice cream next time. Thank you for welcoming us warmly and for your superb hospitality.

Room Tip: choose the valley view room to enjoy the green in the mountains, especially those who travel from me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from The White Hotels, Vaishnodevi !!

Its our pleasure to hear that you had a very cofortable stay with us . Thankyou for appericiating our services rendered and we will make sure that we continue with the same gesture on your every visit to us . Your sugesstions will be taken care of and will be implemented shortly .

Lokking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the White Hotels, which is definitely not white in colour where it's facade is concerned. We had booked it online as it advertised itself as the only 5* hotel in Katra. We had taken the room with valley view with breakfast.
Check in was smooth. There was no welcome drink but only a traditional welcome.
The room was good with a beautiful view of the valley. Went in for breakfast and I must tell you, there's nothing to write home about it. The spread consisted of Puri, aaloo ki Sabzi, dosa, vermicelli, baked potatoes, parathas along with the usual fruits n cornflakes. Everything from dosas to puris was soaked in oil. The Sabzi was awful. Baked potatoes were ok, but did not have butter but oil.had vermicelli n fruits and doughnuts. Next day, chhole bhature replaced puri aaloo and were no good. Pao-bhaji was the worst I have had in years. Asked them to serve us parathas not cooked in oil, after waiting for long got the parathas in which it seemed the filling had flown over it. Tasteless...
Room service is slow but all your requests are heeded to.
It certainly isn't a 5*, but you can call it 4*. They have pick up and drop facility for market as well as Banganga 24*7.
The spa is expensive with one hour massage costing you 3,500/ + taxes. Not worth it.
But, let me tell you that the next night, we had dinner and instead of going for the buffet , went a la carte and ordered spring rolls and Tandoori Pizza, half baked in tandoor n half in oven. It was certainly among the best we have had. Spring rolls and the hot garlic sauce was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Mam,

Greetings !!

Thankyou for your honest review. We appreciate your feed back and letting us know our pro &* corns. We will surely we making changes as desiresed by you.Number of our guests ask us this question of our hotel building being red in colour and name is White Hotels .Let me clear it that the name of the Hotel is "The White Hotels " because Maa Vaishnodevi's Abode is a Pious palce and since the white colour is a symbol of purity ,thus the name.Its nothing to do with the colour of the building and as far as the breakfast buffet is concerned, it is prepared for all the guests taking into consideration the taste of masses .However if you ask the hotel staff to prepare something according to your taste ,they won't hesitate for the same.
We are again thankfull to you to divert our attention to few things which we will definately improve, as learning and improving is a never ending process.

Thankyou once again and looking forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katra hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno
0.5 mi away
The Atrium on the Greens
1.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Katra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
0 mi away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#10 of 65 in Katra
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Sharan
The Grand Sharan
#7 of 65 in Katra
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hotels

Address: Off Katra Reasi Road, Vaishnodevi, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Katra
Price Range: $79 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
The White Hotel Katra
The White Hotels Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing