We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel but not up to 5 star standard”
Review of The White Hotels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Hotels
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Katra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we went to katra in the month of 24-26 Nov 2012 and stayed in white hotel. the hotel is good but the sound of toilet flushing in other room is true as was told in other post. the pick up service is very good .food is OK.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrDineshMIttal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings !!

Thankyou for your honest feed back and appreciating our services.We will also look into the the issues mentioned and your sugesstion will be considered at the earliest.

Waiting to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 656 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Polite staff with excellent food. When I am there for vaishodevi trip, definitely I stay there. Hotel is situated at excellent location with view of trikuta hills. Good welcome service when first time enter in hotel. Clean rooms with excellent housekeeping service.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shantanuparadkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings !!

We are delighted to know abt your confortable stay with us . We promise you to render our best of the services in all your future visits too.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was at The White Hotel for one night. Hotel is a good option in Katra with good service, but is not a 5 star as claimed by the hotel. The rooms are nice and comfortable, but decor is old and TVs in room are from the late 80's. Shall be nice to have a wifi at the hotel. The service at hotel is good and staff is courteous and welcoming. Did have the room service and quality of the food was great. Breakfast choice and quality though was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Go for a Valley facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings !!

Thankyou for your honest feed back and letting us know our strengths and weaknesses. We thankyou for all the appreciation and promise you to rectify the issues you wanted us to ASAP.

Waiting to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

i had a trip to Vaishnavodevi temple this month and we preferred to stay in this hotel as it seemed the best from the trip advisor reviews.On checking in we were greeted with fabric band garland highlighting Jai matha di with a kunkumam on the forehead.The reception and lobby area is very vast with restaurant on the left hand side.The front office staff is very courteous and check in was done in no time.The rooms , though a bit old fashioned, are spacious with neat toilet .The most outstanding feature is the stunning view of the distant snow capped mountains of Kashmir from the huge window of the room!!The dinner buffet was pretty ordinary where as the breakfast buffet was awesome with a wide variety of dishes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishnakumar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings !!

To learnt abt your comfotable stay with us , is a pleasure.We appreciate your appreciations and would definately add a variety in our Dinner Buffet .

Waiting to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was there for 2 nights the food,ambience,service was excellent the location is also good but they should upgrade their rooms with lcd or led of 32" & they should have wifi service available in rooms.They have pickup & drop facility at helipad,banganga,market etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chirags79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thankyou for you honest feed back and liking our services.Your sugesstions are already discussed and in the pipeline. You will surely find changes in your next visit to us.


Waiting to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is the choice of the plush customers who wish to settle for a comfort stay along with divine darshan of Mata Vaishno devi.

The small town "Katra" is flooded with range of hotels for all pockets. This particular hotel is not for masses, but for people who are ready to pay a little extra on there holy trip.

Pros:
The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are very tidy, the staff is very co-operative and responsive. They treat you well right from check-In till check-out.
The food in the hotel restaurant named "Valley view" is super nice and is recommended avoiding any junk from roadside restaurant. Further, the breakfast served is also decent enough.
The hotel offers some amazing spa and are a must try after tedious journey to and from bhawan. The swimming pool is in open so i was not able to try that.

Cons:
The rooms are having only 2 charging points, so technically for two people, two cellphones get charged, so other devices slightly suffer, no night lamp, the TV sets used is old fashioned.

Room Tip: The rooms on lower floor facing Valley are better. The rooms on the front side face a drain. Further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParitG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thankyou for posting your review on The Trip Advisor and appreciating almost all the aspects of our services .As far as you sugesstion for the 02 plugs in the room will be done.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited this place in Nov 2012 and it was a great experience.The staff was nice and even arranged for a doctor for me in the early hours of morning.Was down with fever coz of tiring journey from Delhi to Jammu in winter

The positives:
1.Good vegetarian food .Great service
2.Ambience is great
3.The rooms are clean and of good quality
4.The cabs are complementary till the helipad and for the town
5.There are plenty of paintings displayed on each floor.
6.The staff takes care of all your needs.
7.There is plenty of sitting space with good interiors

There isn't any negatives as such.The swimming pool needs attention.
And it would have been great if all rooms had balconies.:-)

Room Tip: Check out for any package deals or meal inclusons with the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prprnandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The White Hotels, Vaishnodevi.

We are delighted to know about your comfortable stay with us. Thankyou for all the appreciations and we promose you render the services to our Guest's with the same gesture in future too.

Regarding the pool, as rightly said was little dirty because of the heavy rains for Continuously two days and it requires 4-5 hrs sunlight after putting the cleaning agents along with the running of filters to get it cleaned which was not happening coz. of the rain. But we will definately devise some method to keep it clean in the odd weather too.

Thankyou once again for your appreciations and sugesstions.

Waiting to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katra hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno
0.5 mi away
The Atrium on the Greens
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#9 of 62 in Katra
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Katra
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Inn
Hotel Maharaja Inn
#8 of 62 in Katra
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hotels

Address: Off Katra Reasi Road, Vaishnodevi, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katra
Price Range: $90 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
The White Hotel Katra
The White Hotels Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing