We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel- exceeded expectations”
Review of The White Hotels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Hotels
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Katra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

White hotels pleasantly surprised us with outstanding service and frankly we did not expect such a superb hotel in a small town like Katra. The staff was smiling and helpful, excellent food, a very good spa (and we had a lovely massage there after the long walk to vaishnodevi) and spacious, clean rooms - all at a price which is fairly reasonable. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudipto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashishanand_12, Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Greetings from The White Hotel!!
We sincerely thank you for your kind reviews of The White Hotel,Katra on TripAdvisor.We are glad that you have left with the positive impressions of our products and services.We assure you that we will do our best to continue to exceed your expectations on your future visits also.
We look forward to your return and hope to be your preferred destination on your future visits.
Warm Regards,
Ashish Anand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 666 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Only thing I liked in this hotel was the location. It is located just near the centre of town. Since the hotel claims itself to be the first five star hotel in vaishno devi i was disappointed. The service was not upto the mark. No extra comfort for a five star. The food was not good in buffet. we had to complain to get fresh bread (paranthas). I dont think i will stay there again when i visit vaishno devi

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjayArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dae Mr. Arora
Greetings !!!

Thankyou for your honest feed back about you stay . I tried to reach you but was not having your contact . In fact I had a talk with Mr. Aman Garg ,as you came with him to the hotel on 5th Feb 2012. I checked your feed backs but every thing was OK .With conversation with Mr. Garg , he explained me that there was a issue regarding the food only and rest every thing was in place.
Sir, I am thankfull to you that you have diverted our attention towards our shortcomings and given us a chance to improve on the same .We hardly get any complains regarding our food as we serve the best of the food in the town and may be because of that we were over drived .
I am thankful to you that you gave us a chance to look into this matter and make the things more perfect .We promise you to serve the best of the food in your next visit.
Incase of any quiries you can call me on +91 9906077350.

Regards
Vivek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Before starting yatra we stayed in hotel country inn and were very satisfied. On return we came to know about this hotel and thought of trying it. It has very good ambiance and more beautiful interiors as compared to country inn but we missed the calmness and big lawn of country inn . rooms were very good , staff was helpful. we got free vehicle for city tour and buffet breakfast in our package. Both are very good hotels, choice is personal whether one likes to stay near city , likes interiors more or the other way. I enjoyed my stay at country inn more although i had no problems during stay at hotel white.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest ,
Greetings !!!

Thankyou for your wonderful review and letting us know that u had a comfortable stay with us .We would be looking forward to see you again in "The White Hotels" and please let us know that what all we can do for you so that we can be your first choice on your visit to Maa Vaishnodevi's Abode.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I booked this hotel for two night three days from 19 to 21 st aug and two rooms .When we reached hotel check in was quick and welcome was done in a traditional way with tikka and welcome drink.Rooms were very good and spacious specially washrooms were clean n big. There services for pick and drop at baadganga for us were also available 24 hours.We had a real good time here with buffet in night and there spa was too good .We also used the internet facility available at ground floor.During check out person at reception and billing were unable to provide us the supporting documents or my signed copies of bills so i request them to kindly do not let this happen again.But i am very sure to stay at this hotel again in my next visit.......JAI MATA KI

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sachin774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for leaving comments with the hotel, post stay. We value your opinion and have shared your comments with the appropriate management staff. I'm glad to read that you had an overall positive experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice place to stay in Katra. Very upmarket type hotel with spacious rooms.
Yatra parchi and pick/drop to yatra dwar is provided by hotel itself.
Reservations executive Saniya Jamwal helped me with bookings and pick/drop from Jammu station.
Morning breakfast buffett was good with a lot to eat. I wish they could have changed the menu next day. Food is good in taste, portion and reasonably priced.
Plan your yatra to bhawan and journey in such manner that you do not need late check out. Otherwise, they'll charge you for half day. Also, rooms require Curtains that can blackout the room so one can sleep in day time after tiring yatra to bhawan.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are extremely good! Insist for that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panjain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Sir,
Greetings !

Thankyou for your comments and for holding us to the highest standards of service. We truly appreciate your feedback and noted the areas of concerns to ensure that they are addressed.

Thank you for the gracious compliments about our services at " The White Hotels" .

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which the White hotels is known .

Warm Regards
Vivek Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We go every year on 1st jan to Katra and visit the shrine on 2nd Jan. For the past 3 years have been staying in this hotel. If you see my earlier reviews this hotel has improved quite a lot in the past 3 years. We go in a group of around 25 people so we do get some benefits in that regard.

The hotel rooms have become much more comfortable. The breakfast menu has also improved.
The room service was quiet efficient on this particular trip. The staff was really cooperative and understanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankurgupta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek_5251, General Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Mr. Gupta,

Greetings !

Thankyou for letting us know that "The White Hotels Team" is doing a good job and are maintaining the expected standards, with improvement on your every visit to the hotel. We will be looking forward to many more associations with you and won't let your valuable comments go wrong .

Thankyou & Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hello Readers, I would say if u are going to Katra for Vaishnavdevi Yatra and if u want ur yatra be pleasant than this is the best hotel blessed by the goddess Devi.... They had all the comfort u name it and they have it. Again I have my uncle and he is physically Challeged but we stayed there for 3 days and we didnt had to worry for him at all...Food was excellent, service was excellent. 200 character wont be enough to compliment this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mounang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashishanand_12, Manager at The White Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!
We are heartened by your generous compliments and it is certainly very rewarding for The White Hotel team that they contributed significantly towards your pleasent stay.We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed a comfortable stay and our hospitality.
It is very nice to know that your uncle had a great time here and was well looked-after by our staff.
It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Ashish Anand
Operational Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katra hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno
0.5 mi away
The Atrium on the Greens
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Katra
0 mi away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#9 of 65 in Katra
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Inn
Hotel Maharaja Inn
#7 of 65 in Katra
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hotels

Address: Off Katra Reasi Road, Vaishnodevi, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katra
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
The White Hotel Katra
The White Hotels Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing