We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”
Review of Hotel Jammu Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jammu Ashok
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Jammu City
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I didn't stay there but stopped as we were looking for a hotel.
We arrived in a very let down hotel, reception looked horrible. We asked to be shown a room before deciding and were taken through some halls were old chairs and broken furniture was laying around. The room was so depressing, the bed looked a 100 years old, I would have rather slept in the car than staying there. A really depressing place!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tweetybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good hotel but inadequatly maintained. If given to professional hands, it would be prime property in Jammu.

Food is very expensive and service is poor more like goverment style. When we stayed one wedding party was going on and everyone was busy in that.

Restaurents are not properly maintained and smells.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKS1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

DO NOT EVEN THINK TO STAY HERE.
we were in the hotel on 23rd march.
the hotel it seems havent been upgraded since it was built in 1972.
the bathroom is in appalling situation;leaking wc,taps,geysers.
the switches were old. tv was a box type.
we had three rooms and even after changing the rooms the story was same.
we had a early morning flight the next day and it was chilly morning; low and behold no hot water in the hotel.
we had to pick up buckets and bring hot water from kitchen to room after fighting with management.
JUST DONT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.
PICS MAY DECEIVE YOU LIKE IT DECEIVED ME.
THIS HOTEL SHOULD DIE WITHOUT GETTING CUSTOMERS.

Room Tip: every room is as shabby as other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surajruia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

hi all..!quite disheartening to share with you all that this hotel was perhaps my worst stay at a hotel ever . Me and my husband stayed for two nights and three days...and it wasnt comfortable at all..., the housekeeping was pathetic , the staff was scanty , lost and mostly not responsible for any requirement not available . The electric appliances / provisions in the room didnt work properly at first , an old t.v the box types with very poor connectivity of cable and a useless remote with umpteen rolls of taping around it.!!. Despite several calls for a change of the remote the staff was unfazed..!. The food was satisfactory ONLY .Great lawns and view of the Jammu Tawi river bed..n valley yet obstructed due to lawns been booked for weddings n functions hence no view..at all. and to add as icing on the cake...one can not stand in balcony to spend some serene time watching the sunrise or even relaxing due to the havoc of monkeys..!! . The Ashokas plight is horrible and worse..and with such an approach how can ever Govt funded hotels ever function properly..?.A typical govt.office functioning..it seemed..of whats going on and on for ages , without any change or even to come ! . With such beautiful locale and scenic beauty around and wonderful connectivity to the main road..which also connects to Srinagar highway , what a waste of resources!.It could have been much better if authorities take even 1 percent interest in attracting tourists n customers!.what a shame. ! In my opinion a big NO for this hotel .

Room Tip: no need for finding a room here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

was there for 3 nights....room are very old n so it d ac...service is just ok...reception is not friendly...for everything they say its chargeable.....more then d front desk staff security people were friendly and helpful overall i dont recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshokChhetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was Pleasant and Relaxing Stay at Ashoka , The Nature Fresh Place where you can find peace of Soul , i enjoyed d stay with my family. The ideal season to visit is sep to mar, away from the hustle bustle in a good atmosphere

Room Tip: If you prefer to stay away from hustle bustle in a calm place then the Ashoka is the great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohuSaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

It seems this hotel is operated by government tourism department and signature of it is shown every where. The rooms are not so good and room service is very slow they took almost one hour to serve snacks and tea when ordered. It seems they are running shortage of man power but the staff is honest and helpful. The view from room is good and there is ample parking place but the rest is not so good. Seems they are short of budget so can not maintain the rooms. Plumbing in bath room is so poor that during stay of 10 hours they repaired it twice and still it did not work in morning. No room service in early hours so one can not even get teat if leaving before 5 am. Overall i would strongly advice not to go there unless you don not find anything else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldieMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jammu City hotels
0 mi away
Le ROI Jammu
Le ROI Jammu
#5 of 30 in Jammu City
38 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Jammu City Centre
Ramada Jammu City Centre
#17 of 30 in Jammu City
4 reviews
0 mi away
The Shikargah Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cygnett Park Asia
Cygnett Park Asia
#2 of 30 in Jammu City
183 reviews
0 mi away
Mango Hotels Jammu
Mango Hotels Jammu
#7 of 30 in Jammu City
11 reviews
0 mi away
Fortune Inn Riviera
Fortune Inn Riviera
#3 of 30 in Jammu City
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jammu Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jammu Ashok

Address: Opposite Amar Mahal | P B No-60, Jammu City 180001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Jammu District > Jammu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jammu City
Price Range: $42 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jammu Ashok 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jammu Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jammu Ashok Jammu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing