We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4 star hotel... Maybe 2 star at best. DIRTY SHEETS. LOOK AT MY PICS.”
Review of Manali Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manali Heights
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Manali
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Manali Heights

This was definitely the most disappointing hotel stay from my three week trip to India. Definitely not a 4 star hotel by any standard. 

DIRTY SHEETS should be enough said, but I've attached pictures as well (SEE PICS). When this was mentioned to guy who brought our bags up he ignored it. 

No wireless Internet when we arrived. It was fixed about 2 hrs afterwards, but stopped working again the next morning. 

They only put a small amount of toilet paper in the bathroom so we were out by the following morning and needed to request additional. They do not put an extra roll like every other hotel does. 

TV looks good from far away as its a Samsung LCD, but there are multiple streaks thru the picture on the lower half (pic attached). 

No a/c in rooms only a fan attached to the wall. Probably not a big deal as long as weather's comfortable out, but definitely something one should be aware of. Windows don't have screens either so somewhat difficult to leave open in evening as there are too many bugs out. 

It is beyond me how this hotel was rated a 4 out of 5 on Trip Advisor. That drove our decision to stay here and that was a big mistake. We tried to change hotels or reduce our stay, but hotel would not allow us to leave or change our reservation. I guess any hotel that requires a 7 day advance change period should make people weary (since all standard hotels are 24 hr advance notice). WE WERE SO DISAPPOINTED IN THIS PLACE WE CHECKED OUT A DAY EARLY W/O REFUND. THIS PLACE IS NOT THE PLACE TO STAY. I DON'T CARE HOW MGMT RESPONDS TO MY POST JUST LOOK AT MY PICS OF THE DIRTY SHEETS. NO POINT IN TAKING THE RISK AND WASTING YOUR MONEY LIKE WE ENDED UP HAVING TO DO.  

Staff is also not all that attentive when I was asking about the internet the guy was more interested in watching cricket in the room behind the check in desk. 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SNP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 315 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel is away from hustle bustle of mall road but quite a distance uphill. We stayed in deluxe room ( garden view). view from balcony was pleasant large deodar trees were looking beautiful. Room service was good. But on negative side bathrooms .Rooms look older.

Room Tip: Select room at hill side.Select upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent hotel with nice lobby and beautiful garden. Very good staff, they upgraded us to suite. The suite was beautiful and huge with amazing view. The bathroom was big but the only thing missing was hand shower next to lavatory. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rahamathulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had stayed with my family (Wife and 4 year old daughter) at this property for 3 Nights. The hotel is nice in terms of the room ( had a Luxury Room ) and service.

The room was decent. It had a LCD TV, a pedestal fan, a centralized heater (for winters only). The bathroom had 24 hour running Cold & Hot Water along with a Bath Tub. The service of hotel staff was really good. They were courteous and always ready to help. I remember calling them once at 3 am to heat some milk for my daughter since we were leaving early morning for Rohtang Pass, and they were able to provide it within 10 mins even though they do not have 24 hr room service.

The Buffet for breakfast is just ok. Nothing much talk about. There is a small garden in the backyard and behind which there were Woods full of the Pine Trees. There is not enough place to park your vehicle though luckily I did not face any problem during my stay and was able to find a spot easily.

Even though there were a few limitations, I would rate this hotel as Very Good totally on grounds of Room and Service.

Room Tip: I think the Luxury Room, Studio Room and the Suite should the ones to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inder2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

we, group of friends, stayed there for 3 nights. For positive side, Hotel is away from hustle bustle of mall road but quite a distance uphill. We stayed in deluxe room ( garden view). view from balcony was pleasant large deodar trees were looking beautiful. Room service was good. But on negative side bathrooms were small, bath tub was quite old and stains were there on it..Rooms were not sound proofs as there were doors( although locked) connected to other rooms so you may hear voices from nearby rooms. It looked like old hotel by looking on switches , lights etc. Food quality was just ok ... and DJ was too noisy....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohitjadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The entire stay was quite pleasant & satisfactory. Front Office team was quite supportive & tried to
maintain the +ive approach towards the guests. The best part of the hotel was the F&Bs team & the Chef. Food was good, although could not come up with a better menu for all 4 days of our stay during our dinner & few of the items was quite horrible. The gym & the spa was in a sad condition - most of them in the gum was out of order. The worst experience was with the Travel Guy placed in the hotel. Was responsible for fixing up our trip to rohtan pass which finally didn't happened due to bad weather but as we had payed the whole amount in advance to the guy, he finally tricked us with the help of his cab drivers & refused to pay the balance amount & the amount which we had already payed for skeying but could not go for due to bad weather by the end. And the best part was the hotel was least bothered to make sure if the correct amount was charged to us or not.
So I suggest as for the tourist, they should be little more careful while dealing with these travel agents & should never pay the entire trip or package amount in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 81Abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went to Manali in April and had booked the valley view room online. The hotel is extremely well maintained and in a great location with the view of the snow clad mountains and the forest right from the room. Rooms are spacious and staffs are simply excellent. If ever I go back to manali this is the place I would stay again

Room Tip: Choose the valley view rooms for breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.8 mi away
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
#32 of 141 in Manali
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Manali
Golden Tulip Manali
#43 of 141 in Manali
87 reviews
0 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts
Snow Valley Resorts
#14 of 141 in Manali
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shingar Regency
Shingar Regency
#28 of 141 in Manali
149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#5 of 141 in Manali
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#4 of 141 in Manali
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manali Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manali Heights

Address: Log Hut Area, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manali
#10 Spa Hotel in Manali
#11 Family Hotel in Manali
#16 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range: $45 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manali Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manali Heights is a magnificent luxurious resort within the surroundings of apple orchards, gurgling streams and set along 500 years old Dhungiri forest, amidst ancient Deodars. Our 43 tastefully done suites and rooms offer a breath-taking view of the surroundings. It is a perfect retreat to all to experience the true flavour of Manali from nature to adventure, from culture to cuisine and from rejuvenation to religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manali Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manali Heights Hotel Manali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing