We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, Spacious Duplex right on the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Independent Cottage. Conveniently located. Overlooks river.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Independent Cottage. Conveniently located. Overlooks river.
Bedroom1 with Ensuite Bedroom2 with Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Independent Cottage. Conveniently located. Overlooks river.
Bedroom1 with Ensuite
Bedroom2 with Ensuite
The Garden to the Cottage (Summer)
Living Room
Snowing Outside. Snug Inside.
Dining Room
Kitchen
Sun Room. Overlooks River
Landing & Stairs
Car Parking Area
Snow at The Secret Cottage
Cheer All Around: Blooming Flowers. Lush Trees. Convenient Location. Overlooks River (April)
The Outdoors: Owner's Main House (Summer)
Views from the Pine Walk
Day Trip to Shoja
Views from Orchard Cabin
Dusk at the Cottage (Winter)
The Entrance to The Secret Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manali, Manali Tehsil, Kullu District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Milan B
1 review
“Charming, Spacious Duplex right on the Kullu-Manali Highway”
Reviewed October 10, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

The Secret Cottage is a charming, spacious duplex amongst the orchard and right on the Kullu-Manali highway. Surrounded by the pomegranate and apple trees and the Beas river just besides the road, makes you feel very close to the nature. And yet the location is such that you can get the local buses to either Kullu or Manali at the doorstep. The property was squeaky clean and very comfortable. Huge personal collection of DVDs, books and board games are on offer, should you wish to laze around and enjoy some leisure time. There was a reliable wifi connectivity as well. I was impressed by Deepak's responsiveness and his organizational skills. The blue folder had everything a tourist would need, be it cab driver detail, eateries around the cottage or any help to plan your sightseeing. It was very thoughtful for the host to stock milk, eggs, bread etc. and it was not on the house. Suman, the caretaker of the property is an amazing cook and cooked dinner for us for the entire stay.

Not only Deepak has got a great property, he also has got great people running the place. We decided to skip sightseeing for a day and watched movies, read books and engaged with Suman's children. We were so touched when the little one gifted us 2 of her sketches. We also spent sometime chatting with Deepak' mom. She generously offered us pomegranates and japani fruits. We mentioned to the local driver that we would have loved orchard fresh apples but they have all been harvested now. He was there to drop us to Kullu with some apples from his orchard. It will be difficult to put in words the love and care we received here. Where else would you find the purity in thoughts amidst the corporate plastic smiles that has engulfed the world, but in the Devbhoomi Himachal. And Secret Cottage has that in abundance !!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2018
Milan, Glad you enjoyed our unique way of hosting and we were able to live up to your expectations. Thanks for the kind words. It was our pleasure hosting you at The Secret Cottage, and hope you come to visit us again, sooner than later. Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SajGan
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 1, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The cottage is in a beautiful small orchid very close to the Kullu - Manali highway. It is very easily accessible via public transport. All buses going from Kullu to Manali stops and is a 5 min walk from the Bus stand. The close proximity to the market place allows you to get all the required essentials, also there are few restaurants nearby to satisfy your hunger.
Coming to the property, it has two floors of build up area. You will get the entire cottage which can accommodate 6 + people easily. It is a perfect home with a lovely kitchen. The fridge is stocked with the essentials and the caretakers next door are always happy to help. We went to them regularly borrowing some atta, oil what not. The kitchen has a beautiful view and we ended up cooking most of our meals there. There is a regular caretaker who cleans the house everyday.
Most of our time was spent relaxing in the beautiful hall with all the amenities like CD player, TV, cable, board games. Deepak the owner has a good collection of movies and books which will keep you occupied during the stay.
Overall we had a great experience, both with the stay and the people we met.

It as really like staying at your own home. Very cosy and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2018
Dear Sajit, Glad to learn that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our unique way of hosting. It was our pleasure to host you and you are welcome back, anytime. Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikasB645
1 review
“Beautiful cottage on the Manali highway.”
Reviewed July 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Loved the stay at the cottage, can easily accommodate 6 people. It has two floors, on the ground floor it has kitchen, dining and drawing room and second got 2-bedrooms with a small sitting room. The host is very friendly and will easily guide you with the location, nearby food joints etc. The drawing room is hug with a number of books, DVDs and music CDs to pass your time. Would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in between Manali and Kasol, both the destinations are approx 1-hour drive away in opposite direction.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2018
Dear Vikas, Glad to learn that we lived up to your expectations and you and your friends enjoyed the stay at the cottage and our unique way of hosting. We look forward to having you back soon. Regards, Deepak Suri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nandeshwa...
1 review
“A beautiful cottage for a peaceful escape.”
Reviewed June 29, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is a beautiful cottage, meticulously built, very well thought off, aesthetic and functional, located just off the main road.
Hearty home cooked meals are served. In case you fancy something different, there are a number of restaurants at a 10 minute walk.

The staff is very warm and hospitable. Rooms and surroundings are extremely neat.

A lot of character is prominent in the cottage, most of the items tell a story, it was built for personal use after all.

Host has ample knowledge about the surroundings and can point you to anything and everything does not matter how diverse your taste is.

Walk to the river is 5 minutes. We stayed at the cottage for about 4 days.

Not recommended: Secret Cottage is an extremely peaceful / leisurely place will not appeal if you want something with a louder / commercial appeal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Dear Nandeshwar,
Glad to learn that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our unique way of hosting. It was our pleasure and we hope to see you back soon. Regards, Deepak
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyptrip
1 review
“A perfect home stay”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This house is amazing, beautiful and everything you want on a vacation. It's a home away from home. Huge bedroom, nice dining area, massive CD/DVD/Book/Video Game collection. The surrounding area is also beautiful and the river is a few metres away. The house is big, tidy and superb. It's an hour+ drive from Kasol but if you want to live in good place, look no further.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2017
Dear Karan,
It was a pleasure to host you and your wife. We are happy that we lived up to your expectations.Thank you for your review and hope to see you back soon. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anjanab05
New Delhi, India
1 review
“My lovely home away from home”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A hot meal on arrival lovingly prepared by Suman and warm happy welcome by the host Deepak certainly set the tone for what was in store during my stay at The Secret Cottage. An introductory house tour revealed well appointed rooms with mountain views, and a great collection of DVDs, music and games for children. Sip tea in the sun room as the sun rises, sundowners in the garden under the plum tree, walks by the Beas gushing downhill and night caps watching good cinema.
Add to that the warmth, geniality and depth of knowledge of the host who will point you in the right direction in about everything including angling spots, mountain treks etc......Do Visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Dear Anjana, Glad that you enjoyed our unique way of hosting and we were able to live up to your expectations. It was a pleasure having you at The Secret Cottage and hope you come back to your "home" sooner than later. Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SN1999
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay with river flowing nearby. One can just walk for 500 mtrs to reach and have a lovely river side walk and enjoy the surroundings. Small plantation within the Cottage is a must for nature lovers. You will find Pomegranate, Peach, Pears etc trees. The cottage provides you with essential amenities which Deepak has ensured.
Manikaran is 90 minutes from here. There is also a Vaishno devi Temple at the Hill Top in Kullu which one can visit.
Also it was very nice have a brief chat with Deepak's mother who sent us lovely juicy fruits (local fruit - not recalling the name) since we were fasting that day. On the whole a neat and nice place which is well maintained and furnished.
Just one suggestion - if Deepak can ensure that someone is available to carry the luggage up into the cottage. The caretaker is a middle aged lady and obviously we carried our luggage upstairs. Senior citizen visitors to the cottage ideally should inform him this requirement and am sure he would take care of this. Did not have lunch or dinner so cannot comment. But am sure it would be good considering all other things are well taken care off.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
"Dear Sharad, It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Thanks for the constructive feedback which we will take on board. We are glad that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our unique way of hosting. We hope to see you back soon. Regards"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing