We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An awesome home to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe
Ranked #35 of 301 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“An awesome home to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This review is a long-time overdue! Vashisht Home Stay is an awesome place to stay –marvelous host, great food, fantastic views, and modest, but clean, rooms. Just give a hint to our Bengali host that you like Bengali food and enjoy the rest of your stay with gourmet food for every meal !!

Though it is not a five start hotel, there is no shortage of services. Tours, camping, car, sightseeing – all can be arranged through our host. Five star for hospitality.

Though Manali itself may not be in my wish list to visit again, I think I’ll go there again, just to stay a few days at “Vashisht Home Stay”.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicSwami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
6
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goa Velha, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

3rd visit here. Shalu and her small crew will take great care of ya. Starting with a beautiful n clean room, stunning views, to the amazing Indian & especially Bengali foods. It's my Vashisht home away from home.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Howard-OnaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I must be biased towards Beas to have visited Manali thrice, but this time was blessed with a stay at Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe. Travelling with my 12 year-old daughter only, I needed to blend a comfortable stay with facilities and fun - and lo! it was all there at Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe. With fellow travellers, we arranged a picnic on the riverside, had party at night, tasted all the food I craved for, and embarked on a trek through pine forests to nearby Jogini Falls. I never realised there would be a home miles away from my home and peace and tranquility would be my week-long companion in Vashisht.
There are 3 well-appointed rooms in the Home Stay but ample room to roam about in the common lounge and the cafe. Stunning natural view from the balcony will keep you pondering on the ways of Creation, and a cup of hot lemon tea brought by the host, even before you ask for it, will surely soothe your soul. Even while working, the host finds out time to chat heartily on myriad subjects. The overall atmosphere rings with homely warmth. Thanks to all staff and the management, we will surely make it to Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe sometime again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumantoBhowmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Well, I visited Vashishth in May 2014 with friends. Initially I had heard about the place being conveniently located yet not commercial. I think this is one of the biggest advantage Vashishth Home Stay has. The views are superb whether you are sitting in the balcony, common lounge or your own bedroom. The rooms are basic with attached toilets and extremely clean. Food too is very very good. The Banerjees who look after the place are very hospitable and do everything they can to make sure the guests are comfortable. I am definitely going back to this place and would advise all nature lovers the same!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sayani m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had found this place on TripAdvisor and was little speculative before actually reaching it. The highlight of this home stay is Mala Banerjee who goes to every length to make you feel at home and comfortable. Like she says- Just voice it and it will be done. She makes the most delicious food and does not cut any corners on the portions or the taste. I look forward to staying with her every time i visit the hills. I must mention her place is very quiet and away from the crowds. The views are awesome and a great place to unwind and chill. All the best to her for the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that faces the valley and must have peri peri chicken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyaAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I want to come and stay in this house whenever possible. The excellent warm homely atmosphere makes me feel as if this is my own .
Food to whatever my taste wants, rooms cozy and comfy and the view, I don't need to go anywhere to get a better view.
In one word I am now hooked to this guest house- I will go again very, very soon-

Room Tip: ,book well in advance for the room on the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Walking into vashisht was like walking into home but only with the most beautiful view ever of the mountains and the constant sound of the 'beas' river. apart from the comfortable rooms and the breathtaking view, what would want us to visit the place again and again would be the most warm and accommodating host, her staff and her food. miss sipping on my mint tea in the warm balcony along with the beas and the himalayas for company !!
we left the place with a wish to have stayed for a few more days......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhumika1nahata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#30 of 129 in Manali
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bhoomi Holiday Homes
Bhoomi Holiday Homes
#109 of 301 in Manali
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Classic Cottage
Village Classic Cottage
#203 of 301 in Manali
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thunderworld Club
Thunderworld Club
#236 of 301 in Manali
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mountain Trail Manali
0.0 mi away
Karma Cottage
Karma Cottage
#14 of 260 in Manali
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe

Property: Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe
Address: Vashisht Road, Vashisht Village | PO Vashisht, Manali 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms are double bedded and have attached bath with geyser. Extra bed can be arranged on request. Clear view of the mountain range from the rooms. Room charges include b/f. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vashisht Home Stay and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing