We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property located on hill top”
Review of Snow Peak Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snow Peak Retreat
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful property located on hill top”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

very nice hotel giving spectacular views of the lush green mountains and glaciers.
rooms, lawn balconies very nice.
the only negative thing is that its located far from the mall road and food is very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Manager at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Best Regards
Shubham sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    158
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
217
258
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we knew we had made the right decision by choosing it. Our family holiday for 3 nights and 4 days was made memorable by the comforts the hotel provided. The food is exceptional, service par excellence. Rooms are very very comfortable and friendly staff. If you are looking for comfort and beautiful scenery, you should stay here. Manali is beautiful but 3 nights stay is enough. But if you are adventure freak, then you can stay here for more days. I'll definitely come back to this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank veeramaniveeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Manager at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Best Regards
Shubham sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed from 16th May till 19th May 2014. We were their on our honeymoon trip.

As per the location wise its awesome but far from the mall road but no regrets.While checked in to the room I found room are not cleaned properly,hair on bed and quilt cover is not fresh but I have neglected all that, but when I went to bathroom I saw flakes are about to fall from the roof top then I called reception and complaints about the same so finally we got the another room.

Food is expensive and they have limited dishes on the buffet for Breakfast and dinner.On the second day of the breakfast I founded hair in one of the dish(egg burji) and it was informed to the waiter at the restaurant but no response from the managers.

We requested wine and cake during my stay,they given excuse for the cake that its not available which was informed to them 01 month prior,finally they provided with wine on the very first day.On the day of checkout after telling the bad experience they waived off the charges for cake and wine.

On the day of checkout I was not well at all, so requested for late checkout. But Mr.Vivek who is at reception was refused that they are expecting the checkin in the same room. We were relaxing at garden and restaurant of the hotel till 17:15 hrs as I cant move out. As informed to me earlier that room is going to taken by other guest but it was never happened till we left.

The incident took place it was unacceptable on the last day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bejoy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Owner at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience. Please note that we are a small retreat only and not a 3-4 star hotel but as a family runs property we always try our best to satisfy all needs and extra needs of our clients.

We have gone through the points raised by you and please note our comments below as:

1. As you are aware that check out time is 11 noon and check in time is 12 noon. As after check out we need minimum 1 hrs to get the room ready for next check in. But in case there are some early check outs at hotel or we have room vacant we don’t keep the guest unnecessarily in waiting and we try our best to accommodate the guest is allocated room as soon as possible.

2. Normally all Volvo buses arrive Manali bus station between 08:30 to 09:30 in morning we provide complimentary pick up from Volvo station to hotel and if rooms are not checked out or not ready for check in then guests have to wait at lawn or reception till the room is ready for their check in.

3. But some time due to lot of early arrivals it is very difficult and we don’t get more then 15- 20 minutes to prepare the room for next check in. As after a 15 hrs long and hectic bus journey no one is ready to wait for long and want immediate check in to their rooms.

4. On 16th May also we had around 12 room’s who were arrived by Volvo bus in morning. While till 11 AM only 4-5 rooms were checked out and other were packing their baggage as most.

5. We are agreeing that there can be some omission while cleaning the room as we didn’t get appropriate time to prepare the room. The guests waiting at lawn were in hurry and want their room as soon as it possible.

6. Yes! We received your complaint regarding hair but after receiving your complaint we had immediately changed your room. Although it was very difficult as it peak season period and we were totally sold out. We have to keep another guest in waiting for few more minutes and only then we were manage to change your room.

7. It is a new property sir ! we inaugurated on 06th May 2013 only, but due to contrasted weather conditions roof or wall flakes are normal. You won’t believe but it was repainted last month only when we were finishing our top floor we had done some patching and touching in all rooms where ever we had seen the flakes. You can see the condition of small pillars at stairs which had been fixed more than 5 times but still wrecking

8. Regarding bed sheet and quilt cover. Please note that bed sheets and pillow covers we change on daily basis and quilt cover at least one time for one guest.

9. Regarding cake and wine we had your request by mail but we didn’t received any information from you that for which day and what time we need to place the cake in your room as most of the time guests want to present as surprise to their partner. Anyhow we accept our mistake and apologize for the same. We have to order cakes in bakery in Manali city area (2 kms from hotel) and we provide only fresh things to our guests which was not possible on 16 May due to village fair road was closed till 08 PM.

10. As informed earlier also that Volvo arrival time in Manali is 08-30 to 09:30 AM. But the departure time from Manali is 04:30 – 05:30 PM. Hence like you we get lot of requests for late check outs also and it is only subject to availability of rooms. It is only possible if some rooms are coming late in evening or we have room vacant ( no occupancy)

11. On 19th May your room was allocated to a family who booked 3 rooms the 02 rooms were ready and provided them immediately and 3rd room was the same in which you were staying (No 118) as room no 118 was not ready hence in morning they adjusted themselves in 02 rooms only (116 and 119) and after your check out the room no 118 was also allocated to them.

Again we apologize for the inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was simply an awesome experience staying at Snow peak retreat for 3 nights. We were 3 couples and they provided 3 super deluxe rooms at the top. View of mountains from the private balcony was simply superb. Rooms were very well decorated and bathrooms were clean. All the hotel staffs were very polite and their service was also great.A little improvement could be made in food but overall it was a great stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Super deluxe rooms at top
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Manager at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Best Regards
Shubham sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here between 22 May and 26 May. I chose this hotel for my honeymoon destination after recommendation from my friend who had stayed here in January. The property is located close to famous hidimba temple and offers breathtaking view of snow-capped mountain peaks and entire manali town. Behind the hotel is a cedar jungle and apple orchards. Hotel is new and has a beautiful garden where you can enjoy sip of tea while enjoying the beauty of Manali. Property is new so rooms are clean with comfortable bedding. The food served also rejuvenates your taste buds. The only problem I observed was traffic jam on Manali-Hidimba temple road as thousands of tourists throng here throughout the day. Similar problem was faced in Manali town. Traffic jam was worse on Manali-Rohtang road where traffic was moving at speed of hardly 1km in one hour. But if you want your soul get melted with nature, and if you want a calm atmosphere with real himachal beauty, you would no doubt forget such minor things. The moment when we parked our car and embarked stairs to the hotel, our hearts said that we have been recommended for the right choice. This was an added advantage that we could walk down the hidimba temple thrice our stay. Shall also thank Ludar and Vivek for perfect arrangements and making us feel comfortable all the time. A must stay place with beautiful people.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sanchitpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Manager at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Best Regards
Shubham sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in the month of March. There were 6 of us. Right from the time we started speaking to the Hotel Management (Mr Luder, Mr Vivek) we found them to be responsive and understanding. Our stay was also excellent. The rooms have a 5 star look inside and the mountain view is breathtaking. And a plus here all rooms have an excellent view. On departure we had to leave early in the morning. The hotel staff provided us with a packed breakfast and they threw in lots of chocolates ( because we had a kid with us). They took extremely good care of us and I will rate this as one of the best experiences I ever had.

If you are going for snow sking I will recommend to use the hotel services itself as they will take you to the right guys. We had a guy called JP as our trainer and he was very good. On the day we were going out there was heavy snowfall and all roads to Solang Valley were jammed. Yet he managed to take us there and gave us a good experience. We noticed along the way lots of other guides were taking tourists to spots far lower than solang valley (citing inaccessibility which was essentially cheating the customers) but this guy was true to his word. This is his number 08988289768

Room Tip: Any room will do but the ones on the top floors are the best bet for a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddinesh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Manager at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Best Regards
Shubham sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thanks entire team of Snow Peak Retreat, for serving our Guest with great enthusiasm,devotion and hospitality in real. All 21 Pax from Kerala were very happy throughout their stay and satisfied with the services provided. We would like to give our special Thanks to Mr. Luder Thakur owner of the retreat for his special care to our group and to his devotion to satisfy guest personally. We would also thankful to Mr. Vivek GM of Snow Peak Retreat for his great job in the parlance of the satisfaction of the group. Thanks So much and waiting for another deal with the superb hotel in Manali i.e. SNOW PEAK RETREAT.

Regards
Harish Gautam

Director,
Indo Asiana Travels

Room Tip: Rooms of second floor are best as far as scenic view is concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndoAsiana123_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Peak R, Manager at Snow Peak Retreat, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Best Regards
Shubham sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.0 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 123 in Manali
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 123 in Manali
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 123 in Manali
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 123 in Manali
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#8 of 123 in Manali
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#16 of 123 in Manali
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Peak Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Peak Retreat

Property: Snow Peak Retreat
Address: Near Hadimba Temple, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Peak Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly formed property built in the Himalayan style with spacious and wood paneled rooms. Nestles amidst the apple orchards and beautiful pine forest on the outskirts of Manali Wild life Sanctuary, a part of Great Himalayan National park. It is located, just walking distance from the famous land mark of Manali “Hadimba Temple”. The Hotel prominently stands on an elevated area, providing best view of the surrounding Himalayan Ranges. Managed by a crew of efficient, professional and friendly people, hotel provides nice homely atmosphere and is equipped with all the modern amenities. We believe in tourism with character and concept, here, a personalized attention is paid to even little details of services as owners themselves are fully engaged in operation. Each room has a personal balcony, designed in a way, where one can sit and enjoy the breathtaking view of the adjoining snowy peaks.As one sets his or her sight on Grand Himalayas from the window of Snow Peak Retreat. Surrounded by the various beauties of Nature, breathing in pristine Himalayan air, here mind glides into the world of the divine aura of Great sage, Gods and Goddesses. This is the reason why the Great saints, spiritual masters, poets and artists have been journeying to this Special land of unparallel beauty and grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Snow Peak Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing