We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the other side of manali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RedHouse Cafe & Inn
Ranked #65 of 324 Manali B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2012

tucked away in old manali, red house is one of the best kept secrets... and a great place to stay. away from the hustle and bustle, it's an awesome place. great views, great little garden with apple trees and a really great host in raj, the innkeeper, as he like to call himself. music, books, movies... red house has it all.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views of the friendship peak on one side and the chikka seri mountains on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pranaychettri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

First thing you notice as you approach RedHouse Rooms and Cafe is that this place is right in the heart of the small town atop a small hill nestled amidst apple orchards and great views of the river Beas, the Deodar forests and is surrounded by mountain peaks on all sides ( some of them being snow capped). The small unassuming RedHouse Cafe sign board says sit, surf, laze, lay, eat, play, read, drink, sing, think, dance or dream..
The people managing the place are welcoming, very hospitable and always happy to help you around. Huge clean rooms with equally huge windows gives you the feeling of lots of space and a complete getaway. Some rooms have windows on 3 sides and an attached small kitchenette ideal for those looong stays.

RedHouse cafe serves lip smacking food all day long with fresh seasonal supplies plucked straight from the kitchen garden and neighborhood farms. On request you could get lucky with off the menu local specialties such as Siddu which is kinda like a steamed or pan tossed whole wheatflour muffin stuffed with walnut and poppy seed paste and to be dipped in ghee ( clarified butter).. yummmm!!

There's free to use in house Library, WiFi, Telescope, Computer printout's, Music collection, Guitars and Board games. Most evening's have live jamming sessions around the bonfire with nice conversations that go on till late. Saturday evenings the bonfire starts as early as 6.30 pm.

The most difficult part about being at RedHouse is leaving from there.. sigh!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RajatWadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Redhouse is perched above a gorgeous stream that fills the air with music at all times of the day. There are beautiful views both from the window, and the balcony.

The food and the coffee is delicious. I still think of their Didi's Sandwich. Yum!

The inn-keeper, Raj, is great to talk to, and makes you feel completely at home. I was in love with the music he played on his system throughout the day.

Oh, talking of music... there's often a bonfire at night, which is the ideal place for you to pull out your guitar and get singing!

I highly recommend Redhouse to anybody travelling to Manali, who'd like to stay in a place surrounded by breathtaking beauty, and managed by people who become friends, even before you know it. :)

Room Tip: The 2nd floor room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazaldhaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were so glad to find this place. We spent more than a week there and will certainly go back when we are next in India. Raj the owner is a great guy (and now a great friend). The rooms, food and price are fantastic as are many other things which you will discover if you stay there! Oh and I was even given a guitar to practice with! If you are in Manali and what to meet some lovely people and stay in a very comfortable place in a great location then the Red Guest House is the place to go to. Oh.....one more thing I forgot to mention......I was so happy staying there I proposed to my girlfriend in the bedroom!!!!! And yes she said "yes" !!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms have a superb view of the apple orchards and mountains so whatever room you stay in I am s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brade007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The redhouse cafe is such chill and relaxing place to stay! If you are looking for a spot that is also surrounded by nature and hosted by kind people than this is where you want to be. The owner Raj is a great guy who will make you feel at home straight away. If you are in luck, the travelers and the guys from the Redhouse will play music at night around a campfire. Great experience! So, when you travel to Manali, it's not complete until you pay the Redhouse a visit:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Skok_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My experience at redhouse was incredible. The location gives you the feeling of a countryside house, and has privileged views over snow painted mountains.

Food is also amazing, and the people there made me experience the Indian hospitality at it's best.

Danyavad!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RodrigoAtuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is one of the best places to stay in old manali specially if u like nature and greenery......With warm hospitality they make you feel at home.The room itself are spacious and very clean. Would have loved to stay for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kanishk b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.5 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
1.7 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#5 of 132 in Manali
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 132 in Manali
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chetna
Hotel Chetna
#178 of 324 in Manali
12 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#8 of 132 in Manali
725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedHouse Cafe & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedHouse Cafe & Inn

Address: Clubhouse Road | V P O Old Manali, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range: $15 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RedHouse is a mid-budget boutique inn - with 3 Rooms & 1 Service Apartment (2 interconnected rooms with a kitchenette) - offering views of rolling apple fields, open skies & snow capped mountains. The rooms are topped up with basic modern amenities like free Wi-Fi, Satellite TV, Room Service, Hot Water, Electric Room Heaters, etc. RedHouse is also an Apple Garden Cafe intended to while away one’s time - atop a hill & by the sounds of a rivulet. Sink into the delectably surprising menu: a mix of comfort food from around kitchens of the world (including the 'House' special). We understand & appreciate the love for food & don't mind tuning our food to different palates/likes. We also offer (as lounge activities) - board games, books & guitars. Feel free to request a look at our selection of English & American TV Shows, Movies, Cartoons & Music. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing