We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best place to stay in manali away from the main crowd”
Review of Pause at Manali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pause at Manali
Ranked #5 of 325 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Trip Advisor was one of the reason for choosing this place and now its time to give my take on what was it all like.

The main USP of Pause is that is far off from the main manali city and gives a good lonely serene experience among the top of hills. The rooms offer a stunning view of the snow clad mountains. There is a big common gallery for the rooms at each floor where you can relax and enjoy the view.. Mr Manu who runs the place was very helpful with all the arrangements. The staff was courteous and prompt with their service. The food is freshly prepared and has a home cooked touch to it. the property is one year old and nicely maintained.

On the things that can be improved is the variety of food and including one dessert in the meal. Who doesnt want to end the meal with the dessert right. Second is the geysers fitted in the room are not strong enough to make the chilled water hot and it still feels cold in the extreme weather.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogeshkkanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback and observations. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

In regard to desert, we did have it in past against payment but got a very cold response and hence had to withdraw. We will try to incorporate again and try.

Sir heaters / hot water do become a bit of problem in extreme cold times but then again for one person it is fine. For 2 people to take a shower, the best way then is to give a break of 15-20 minutes. Smaller geyser do not provide enough water for one person comfortable bath also.

Nevertheless we will try to consult a professional and check on other options.

Regards
Team Pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful place for four nights with my family from 31st March to 4th April. It was indeed a wonderful place to stay in Manali. As soon as one walk in, he will feel the lovely air of calm with a cozy room with minimalist furnishing and a beautiful mountain backdrop for a stunning view. It seemed to me a permanently happy place, secluded from the hustle & bustle of Manali town and from outside world too, where time seemed to slow down and life for a brief moment becomes problem free. Location is uphill at Simsa Kanyal road and is in perfect height in the hill to enjoy the beauty of the nature. It is just at the lap of snow capped Majestic Himalaya with a breathtaking view of Beas valley and Manali town down below and with a long range view of snow capped mountains of left bank, including a glimpse of Rohtang range. It was indeed a perfectly indulgent and relaxing getaway. Pause @ Manali is an excellent family friendly B&B and one will feel like a home away from home. It is one of the most casually and comfortably positioned property to enjoy Manali for a family and group. We had an excellent stay and wonderful experience, as not a single detail was overlooked. The proprietor & host Manu was helpful & courteous and had planned our everyday trip on each day perfectly. The other people like Dev, Mohan, Jatin are helpful and have been working relentlessly to make your stay wonderful. Wooden interiors, comfortable beds, wonderful host & support staff, delicious food, warm environment, great hospitality, amazing view and possibility for trekking to uphill village roads to enjoy natural beauty, is making this property wonderful. I would definitely return to this lovely place again and hope to join Manu in his trekking trip in future.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor front side two rooms. 302 is having best balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrishanuMahapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for your lovely feedback, happy to hear you had a good time. It always brings a smile to host guest like you, was a pleasure to host you.

Pause waits for your return..............

Regards
Team Pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to Pause@Manali with high expectations based on all the reviews in Trip Advisor and we were highly disappointed. Food was served very late after lot of inquiries, that also cold. We asked the boy to take it back and bring back after heating it. They have a special arrangement for parathas. Whatever vegetable they will cook in night, they will serve stuffed paratha of that vegetable next morning. First night they served potato so next morning it was potato stuffed paratha, 2nd night it was mixed vegetable so next morning it was mixed veg stuffed paratha. Apart from paratha they can serve you only bread omelet, no other option in breakfast.
Even after repeatedly informing to Mr. Rohit his only response was, I don’t know why this is happening.
Rooms have no wardrobes or hangers. So if you are with family you have to pile up everything on floor.
We had initially booked it for 4 nights but because of the horrible service we decided to leave it after 2 nights. Thank god we took that decision and opted for the best service & food.
Only advantage is that the view is excellent and the room & bath rooms are spacious. So if are a group of bachelors and don’t care about food & service, but want a nice view to relax PAM is just for you. But strict No-No for family from my side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anjana-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you think our facility is not meant for families however given the spacious rooms and common areas, food and service experience we are having many many repeat visits from our customers which is quite heartening to see especially since we have just completed our first year.

Honestly this is a service industry and every one has a different level of expectation and we completely respect each individual's likes and dislikes. All we would like to reiterate that this is a B & B and we charge accordingly... so we are not able to offer an extensive breakfast menu like a 5 star hotel can afford. Our breakfast is limited to veg or cheese sandwich, 4-5 different preparation of eggs ( you can choose ), parathas, porridge and some times alloo puri.

Regarding no wardrobe we are sorry for trouble you had. We have 9 rooms and 3 rooms (room at rear portion on each floor) don't have wardrobes rest all rooms have wardrobe. The room you choose with all wood cladded wall was the one which did not have wardrobe. Really sorry. However now onwards we will point it out to customers when they are choosing their rooms about this little detail as well so that they can make a better decision. Thank you for pointing this out to us as till now no one pointed this out to us.

We regret for not able to meet your expectation.

Regards
Team Pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked the room in the hotel thru telephone booking. check-in was ok. When i wanted to check out 1 day early, the hotel Co-owner Manu charged me full rate for 5 days and they even spoiled my Honeymoon...by not adhering to honeymoon package..the services were very standard...the food is very highly priced...which is way below standard quality of what they charge...the hotel co-owner was too harsh in his talks while making the final bill settlement and was very very very greedy towards money...looks like they have built hotel on such top to scare customers and to to make them go on their toes to make the payment as the hotel owner desires...the owner - Manu was too rude... He is just greedy for money more than looking forward for customer satisfaction. I suggest to never to choose this hotel ever, even if you don't find any place in Manali.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam_7Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry about the inconvenience caused to you, we always go that extra mile for our guest and believe us we understand and believe in customer service. The package booked by you was for 4 nights & 5 days and cancelling a day prior does not get you complete refund on pro-rata basis.

There were expense incurred on cancellation and fresh booking of volvo tickets which is not in our hands, likewise on local sight seeing package. We did deduct the amount in regard to flower decoration & cake. This we could do as it was in our control, although we are sorry you could not enjoy this as it was planned for last night (4th night).

We are sorry that you found the food expensive but honestly we cannot serve good quality home cooked food to two people (proper meal including non veg) below 500/- which we believe is very decent rate.

We sincerely apologize for inconvenience caused to you and hope that you would have stayed 4 nights.

Regards
Team pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

One of the best and cosiest places i have been to,excellent view of the mountains and rivers and the staff is also very friendly and helpful,especially the manager Mr.Manu Seth who also organised a brilliant trek for us. Pause@Manali is like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Any room makes sure that you wake up to a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surya704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us along with your family, thank you for leaving your feedback for fellow travelers, we do hope you will give us a chance in future to host you again.

Good Day
Team Pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had one of the finest experiences of all my Hotel stays accross the country at Pause Manali on my 2 days stay on 18th and 19th April 2013 and the Hotel is an excellent property located on the Top most of Manali but the Managment of the Operation in Charge Mr Manu Sheth (an Born Hotelier of Patila with Hotel Managment Degree from Australia and an VIvid Trekker accross India )and an Person whoes Operations and Service provisions are JUST PAR EXCELLENCE, I have travelled in India and Abroad but never have found such an Excellent and Able Operation In charge like Mr Manu Sheth and was completely bowled over by the hospitablity and comfort that was ensured by Manu and his Team, Well furnished Clean Rooms, Homely Food and Guidance by Manu made me and my Family exprience with Complete satisfaction and Delight the Beauty of Manali and all the nearby places Solan Valley ,Snow Point, Old Manali Village , Popular Cafes Nr Hadima Temple and Visisth,Kulu Shopping points and Manikaran which we covered by Road on the Excellent Guidance provided by Mr Manu Sheth and even to the Extent if you wander from your route and GPS is not available just Call Manu he will provide the Guidance to the extent escort is sent to guide you back to the Hotel from the Lost route in Manali if in case, I would say to Make Manali Memorable just Book your Rooms with Pause and forget everything else as they really take Great care of you

Room Tip: Choose the Room Facing the Entrance has excellent View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you leaving such kind words about us, we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to hosting you soon again in near future.

Personal regards
Team Pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recenty stayed with 6 other friends..... Every time I have been a guest of Manu Seth (owner of Pause), he raises the bar of hospitality.... Had a great time on the fantastic trek & camp organized to Malana village... Manu's got a great taste & has again made a property that offers superb views of snow clad himalayas & away from the mela-like feel of Manali.... Looking forward to many more holidays with Manu....

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor front side offer great views of snow clad himalayas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GautamJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us again and also leaving kind words. Its always a pleasure hosting you at pause@manali.

Warm regards
Team Pause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.1 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
0.5 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 141 in Manali
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 141 in Manali
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#20 of 141 in Manali
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#11 of 141 in Manali
553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vintage
Hotel Vintage
#17 of 141 in Manali
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pause at Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pause at Manali

Address: Simsa Kanyal Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range: $21 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the highest points in Manali just 3 kms from the main Mall Road, overlooking the beautiful Rohtang & Hampta ranges and surrounded by apple orchards, Pause is a little pocket of Joy in Manali. Spacious well equipped rooms with breathtaking views, quiet and calm surroundings yet just minutes away from the Heart of Manali Pause is a perfect place to stay for your next vacation in Manali or a stop-over before starting an adventure of Fascinating Ladakh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pause at Manali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing