We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overhyped”
Review of Pause at Manali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pause at Manali
Ranked #5 of 305 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to Pause@Manali with high expectations based on all the reviews in Trip Advisor and we were highly disappointed. Food was served very late after lot of inquiries, that also cold. We asked the boy to take it back and bring back after heating it. They have a special arrangement for parathas. Whatever vegetable they will cook in night, they will serve stuffed paratha of that vegetable next morning. First night they served potato so next morning it was potato stuffed paratha, 2nd night it was mixed vegetable so next morning it was mixed veg stuffed paratha. Apart from paratha they can serve you only bread omelet, no other option in breakfast.
Even after repeatedly informing to Mr. Rohit his only response was, I don’t know why this is happening.
Rooms have no wardrobes or hangers. So if you are with family you have to pile up everything on floor.
We had initially booked it for 4 nights but because of the horrible service we decided to leave it after 2 nights. Thank god we took that decision and opted for the best service & food.
Only advantage is that the view is excellent and the room & bath rooms are spacious. So if are a group of bachelors and don’t care about food & service, but want a nice view to relax PAM is just for you. But strict No-No for family from my side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anjana-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you think our facility is not meant for families however given the spacious rooms and common areas, food and service experience we are having many many repeat visits from our customers which is quite heartening to see especially since we have just completed our first year.

Honestly this is a service industry and every one has a different level of expectation and we completely respect each individual's likes and dislikes. All we would like to reiterate that this is a B & B and we charge accordingly... so we are not able to offer an extensive breakfast menu like a 5 star hotel can afford. Our breakfast is limited to veg or cheese sandwich, 4-5 different preparation of eggs ( you can choose ), parathas, porridge and some times alloo puri.

Regarding no wardrobe we are sorry for trouble you had. We have 9 rooms and 3 rooms (room at rear portion on each floor) don't have wardrobes rest all rooms have wardrobe. The room you choose with all wood cladded wall was the one which did not have wardrobe. Really sorry. However now onwards we will point it out to customers when they are choosing their rooms about this little detail as well so that they can make a better decision. Thank you for pointing this out to us as till now no one pointed this out to us.

We regret for not able to meet your expectation.

Regards
Team Pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
76
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked the room in the hotel thru telephone booking. check-in was ok. When i wanted to check out 1 day early, the hotel Co-owner Manu charged me full rate for 5 days and they even spoiled my Honeymoon...by not adhering to honeymoon package..the services were very standard...the food is very highly priced...which is way below standard quality of what they charge...the hotel co-owner was too harsh in his talks while making the final bill settlement and was very very very greedy towards money...looks like they have built hotel on such top to scare customers and to to make them go on their toes to make the payment as the hotel owner desires...the owner - Manu was too rude... He is just greedy for money more than looking forward for customer satisfaction. I suggest to never to choose this hotel ever, even if you don't find any place in Manali.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam_7Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry about the inconvenience caused to you, we always go that extra mile for our guest and believe us we understand and believe in customer service. The package booked by you was for 4 nights & 5 days and cancelling a day prior does not get you complete refund on pro-rata basis.

There were expense incurred on cancellation and fresh booking of volvo tickets which is not in our hands, likewise on local sight seeing package. We did deduct the amount in regard to flower decoration & cake. This we could do as it was in our control, although we are sorry you could not enjoy this as it was planned for last night (4th night).

We are sorry that you found the food expensive but honestly we cannot serve good quality home cooked food to two people (proper meal including non veg) below 500/- which we believe is very decent rate.

We sincerely apologize for inconvenience caused to you and hope that you would have stayed 4 nights.

Regards
Team pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

One of the best and cosiest places i have been to,excellent view of the mountains and rivers and the staff is also very friendly and helpful,especially the manager Mr.Manu Seth who also organised a brilliant trek for us. Pause@Manali is like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Any room makes sure that you wake up to a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surya704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us along with your family, thank you for leaving your feedback for fellow travelers, we do hope you will give us a chance in future to host you again.

Good Day
Team Pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had one of the finest experiences of all my Hotel stays accross the country at Pause Manali on my 2 days stay on 18th and 19th April 2013 and the Hotel is an excellent property located on the Top most of Manali but the Managment of the Operation in Charge Mr Manu Sheth (an Born Hotelier of Patila with Hotel Managment Degree from Australia and an VIvid Trekker accross India )and an Person whoes Operations and Service provisions are JUST PAR EXCELLENCE, I have travelled in India and Abroad but never have found such an Excellent and Able Operation In charge like Mr Manu Sheth and was completely bowled over by the hospitablity and comfort that was ensured by Manu and his Team, Well furnished Clean Rooms, Homely Food and Guidance by Manu made me and my Family exprience with Complete satisfaction and Delight the Beauty of Manali and all the nearby places Solan Valley ,Snow Point, Old Manali Village , Popular Cafes Nr Hadima Temple and Visisth,Kulu Shopping points and Manikaran which we covered by Road on the Excellent Guidance provided by Mr Manu Sheth and even to the Extent if you wander from your route and GPS is not available just Call Manu he will provide the Guidance to the extent escort is sent to guide you back to the Hotel from the Lost route in Manali if in case, I would say to Make Manali Memorable just Book your Rooms with Pause and forget everything else as they really take Great care of you

Room Tip: Choose the Room Facing the Entrance has excellent View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you leaving such kind words about us, we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to hosting you soon again in near future.

Personal regards
Team Pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recenty stayed with 6 other friends..... Every time I have been a guest of Manu Seth (owner of Pause), he raises the bar of hospitality.... Had a great time on the fantastic trek & camp organized to Malana village... Manu's got a great taste & has again made a property that offers superb views of snow clad himalayas & away from the mela-like feel of Manali.... Looking forward to many more holidays with Manu....

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor front side offer great views of snow clad himalayas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GautamJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us again and also leaving kind words. Its always a pleasure hosting you at pause@manali.

Warm regards
Team Pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a hidden gem! Possibly one of the best hotels in Manali, The best part about the hotel is its location - nothing beats the joy of waking up in the early morning and watch the snow clad mountains.

It has lots of wood, a rustic ambiance and innate warmth about it. The rooms are massive (we stayed in 302 with a private balcony and the bed was Big enough for 3 people to sleep comfortably). The rooms were having LCD TV with a satellite connection. I did a long research on various sites to select a place for our stay in Manali and finally had selected Hotel Pause. I must say that we spent a really good time there starting from the very first moment we entered the property to when we checked out! Humble but efficient management, a very cordial and cooperative staff team in place.

The hotel had an awesome variety in terms of food and the food served was excellent and fresh. It was truly home cooked food every night and we really enjoyed each and every dish – there were varieties during the Breakfast and dinner every time you sit in the Dinning Table.

We loved every minute of our stay there last week. Right from organizing the Toyota Etios Cab from Delhi Airport, through the seamless check-in process, up to the departure, we had a wonderful stay.

The best part - the staff! We are used to friendly staff in Indian hotels, but The Hotel Pause surprised me with its keen eye, friendly disposition and positive attitude and genuine warmth.All credit goes to the Owner Manu and Rohit who made our stay memorable.

Overall, a wonderful experience. My daughter Apeksha loved the place.

Pause is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to our friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant Mr. Manu and Rohit t!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjan_mukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving just a lovely feedback for us, we are glad you enjoyed our property and we could meet your expectation. We do hope you will give us a chnace again to host you in near future.

Good Day!
Team Pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was in manali from April 15 till April 18th and I am glad that I made Pause@Manali my stay , which I found through tripadviser.
One would love the property the moment they enter into it and your love would keep growing the time you step into the balcony to take in the ample view of snowy peaks and the valley ahead.
Service is prompt and you are served dinner in a very personalized manner.
Quality / Variety of food is ok and that is the sole reason I am not giving 5 stars to this one. Adding a menu of weekly food choice with price would definitely fill this gap.
Rohit played the role a vital role in me choosing this property. Very diligent in keeping up with the guests through his follow ups. Really impressed with his zeal of customer service.
I would definitely recommend this to others who are interested in staying away from hustle and bustle of the city life and want to enjoy their stay in the lap of nature.

Room Tip: As such all the valley facing rooms are good but I would suggest 301 and 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Salman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit S, Owner at Pause at Manali, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy you choose Pause@manali for your stay and enjoyed yourself. It was a pleasure to have you with us. As regards to food, we try to keep the choise to minimum so that the quality is maintained, we make all food fresh and do not prefer cooking on pre-cooked curries.

We will certainly take your suggestion and try to include some more finger foods and more variety. Thank you for leaving your valuable feedback for us.

Warm regards
Team Pause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.1 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 123 in Manali
974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 123 in Manali
880 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#2 of 123 in Manali
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#16 of 123 in Manali
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#10 of 123 in Manali
533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Utopia Resorts & Spa, Manali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pause at Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pause at Manali

Property: Pause at Manali
Address: Simsa Kanyal Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the highest points in Manali just 3 kms from the main Mall Road, overlooking the beautiful Rohtang & Hampta ranges and surrounded by apple orchards, Pause is a little pocket of Joy in Manali. Spacious well equipped rooms with breathtaking views, quiet and calm surroundings yet just minutes away from the Heart of Manali Pause is a perfect place to stay for your next vacation in Manali or a stop-over before starting an adventure of Fascinating Ladakh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pause at Manali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing