We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laidback delight!”
Review of Drifters' Cafe

Drifters' Cafe
Ranked #5 of 154 Restaurants in Manali
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American, Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving a great selection of all-day fare from American, Continental and select Indian cuisine, along with dedicated breakfast, lunch and dinner items, and a fully stocked bar, Drifters’ Café is best known for its vibe that allows you to achieve a lot by doing nothing at all.Walk in any time of the day, and you’ll find that time takes on its’ own pace. Take your pick from a selection of exciting board games, relax in the comfort and warmth of fireplace on a cold snowy day, browse on our free WIFI, swap stories with fellow travelers from around the world or just laze around with a book from the library or while listening to some of the best music in town. Post sunset, the Café takes on a different flavour. You could be seated next to a singer from Latin America, a banker-on-a-break from Europe, a journalist from Russia or even an exotic dancer from the Middle East. We run day's special menu during summer months. We even extend our Cafe service on the first floor Sun Deck during sunny days.We often have different themed events happening in the Cafe, like Live Acoustic Music, Karaoke, Quiz Nights, Live Electronic Music & more. All of it contributing to making your evening a fun experience. Ask any regular visitor to Old Manali, and he’s bound to tell you “Drifter’s Inn and Café is where the action’s at!” At the risk of sounding a bit immodest, no, he wouldn’t be exaggerating.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ambience and Decor - They have a smoking and a non-smoking section; the smoking section next to the bar has low seating.
Food - Excellent Trout dishes; Stroganoff, Steaks and Pizza. Great cheese cakes.
Drinks - Affordable , A beer would cost Rs. 150. They have happy hours in weekdays(Buy 2 get 1 free).
Cost - This place is slightly more expensive than other Cafe's in Old Manali.
Music - Lounge
Other fun activities - Board games.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rishabh6296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting and reviewing Drifters' Cafe.

It was our pleasure to have you over and we hope to see you back again soon :)

Till then, happy drifting!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 350 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a fun place in the evening however the seating in the cafe is a bit uncomfortable as the cafe is mostly full the only seats available are with triangular chairs!!
You can play board games and relax with a beer with tasty finger food. But that's about it. The place is some what over rated! There are Mosquitos under the corner tables and tourists lost in fumes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wandering-thots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting our Cafe and for appreciating the place.

Happy Drifting :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent food menu, chilled out environment, polite and friendly owner ( the bald guy) ... go there for drinks and snacks...its just the best place to be whether you are just transiting Manali or even planning to stay put. Excellent!

Thank sapananand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a ton for visiting our Cafe. We are happy to serve you. And we hope to see you return to Drifters' on your future travels to Manali.

Happy Drifting :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

we found the food average here...ambience is very nice..they have given a nice soothing and sober look to the cafe. there are chairs,high chairs and lower sitting which looks nice ,just behind that they have rooms to stay on second and third floor...room rent was very reasonable but room size was very small .. its a nice experience to be here once but not a place to visit again and again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting us and for posting us a review.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm writing this review from the place itself, on my second visit.

First time my bill was 140 INR (for a tea and a brownie), wi-fi password was given upon asking and staff was moderately friendly.

Now, upon asking for just a tea and getting my laptop out, I was soon asked in a very rude manner if I was using wi-fi (which I could just lie to, but was honest and said yes), and that there would be a 50INR charge for 1 hour of usage.

I find this outrageous, specially when other places in town have exactly the same conditions and service, better food, better ambience and far better prices! Event faster Internet can be found just across the road!
This place is nice to sit in and it's warm and cosy and very Westerner, but c'mon, everyone that has been to India knows you can get a full meal from 50INR, and everyone that has stayed in Manali for long enough knows their food and tea is not that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank EmanuelxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hahahahahaha... this is really amusing and funny :)

It hurts to pay up ... eh? You think you have a right to use our business resources and we do not have a right to earn any profit? Unreasonable!!

We'll be happy to not see you again coz we are not here to serve free-loaders! We even have a WIFI charge message put up in our Cafe for guests like you.

We would rather save our resources for those who understand value and appreciate our efforts.

Have a splendid time in Manali :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drifters' Cafe also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Been to Drifters' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing