We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Drifters' Cafe - CLOSED

Drifters' Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving a great selection of all-day fare from American, Continental and select Indian cuisine, along with dedicated breakfast, lunch and dinner items, and a fully stocked bar, Drifters’ Café is best known for its vibe that allows you to achieve a lot by doing nothing at all.Walk in any time of the day, and you’ll find that time takes on its’ own pace. Take your pick from a selection of exciting board games, relax in the comfort and warmth of fireplace on a cold snowy day, browse on our free WIFI, swap stories with fellow travelers from around the world or just laze around with a book from the library or while listening to some of the best music in town. Post sunset, the Café takes on a different flavour. You could be seated next to a singer from Latin America, a banker-on-a-break from Europe, a journalist from Russia or even an exotic dancer from the Middle East. We run day's special menu during summer months. We even extend our Cafe service on the first floor Sun Deck during sunny days.We often have different themed events happening in the Cafe, like Live Acoustic Music, Karaoke, Quiz Nights, Live Electronic Music & more. All of it contributing to making your evening a fun experience. Ask any regular visitor to Old Manali, and he’s bound to tell you “Drifter’s Inn and Café is where the action’s at!” At the risk of sounding a bit immodest, no, he wouldn’t be exaggerating.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Heard some music as I was walking past so I decided to stop in and have a listen. I ordered a few beers and a pizza and listened for almost two hours. Had them top my pie with all sorts of tasty veggies. The tables were clean, chairs were cozy and the lighting was perfect for several people to read books. If it's atmosphere you're looking for, you'll find it here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hibchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
thank you and hope we get to meet again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    91
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax and hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is arguably the most relaxed place with really good food to match up in Old Manali. The owner is a friendly chap and the staff is always willing to cater to special requests going beyong their pretty wholesome menu.

In my 10 days stay in manali I was here for almost 6 - 7 days. Enough said.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
sorry am a little late to acknowledge your generous words.... thank you very much for appreciating our efforts.

it was so nice to have to visit us so often during your stay in old manali. hoping to meet you again in the coming years!

best wishes :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Decent place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place is frequented more by foreigners than Indians, can spend time playing board games/ novels or just idllying. We had coffee and Brusketta which was ok-ok.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ankitfrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Old Manali moslty caters to backpacking travellers - foreigners as well as indians.

hope you visit us again and try our continental fare, our specialty.

thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We landed at this place early in the morning for breakfast. Quiet and nice environment, they have loads of games available, perfect for lazy breakfast. Must try their yak cheese, fresh and good. Their mushroom toast also are delicious............

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
thank you. hope you visit us again on your next visit to Manali :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So so, but expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Although the vibe is good, the food is totally over-priced. We only had the worst waffle in the world, and a very average tart. Also, the coffee is so so, and people smoke up the place inside. So, the doors are left open and you freeze to death in the 'non-smoking' section - nothing divides it from the smokers. Free Wi-Fi is good, and toilet is cleanest in Manali

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Glomyvry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yumthang, Owner at Drifters' Cafe, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We strive for excellence but nowhere claim to be perfect... improvement its a continuously ongoing process. As regards Drifters' being expensive... Lemon Curd Tart is for Rs 60 and Coffee for Rs 50.... not really expensive by restaurant pricing standards. We would be one of the few restaurant in Manali which maintains a strictly non-smoking section. Its difficult to pull that off in a place like Old Manali when 90% of the travellers are smokers. Having said that, we will certainly try and improve our ventilation levels. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drifters' Cafe also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing