We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humiliating experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Me and my hubby were on a honeymoon at this hotel and like every other person i was impressed by the photos on the website, i booked a 3 night trip worth Rs.21,000, which was double the cost compared to any other 5star hotel in manali in the month of january,still just to make it special we paid it.
Day 1-- we reached manali at 8am and check-inn by 8.30am paying rs.100 for a pickup from the manali bus stand which is 0.5kms from the hotel, since then we shifted 3 rooms throughout the day, imagine after a journey of 13hrs by bus from delhi...until finally we got a room which had hot water as it was snowing n the climate out.
Day 2-- We went for site seeing and left the keys at the hotel for room cleaning n got a shock of life when we found our Rayban glares worth Rs.5000 missing from the room,also to be clear we were very confident that the glares were left at the room as out of excitement i was clicking the pictures of the room before moving out for site seeing and the glares are int he pictures... all messed up after coming back, we spoke to the manager, Mr. Yatin and he claimed to have checked the cctv cameras but cudnt find it, so we told him that we will deduct the amount from the final bill, he readily agreed n we were fine bout it, thou we wished that we had got them back as that was my gift to my hubby, but the hotel laid such a terrible trap that left us almost in tears... On the last day when it was time for us to check out, we had a bus to catch from outside the hotel at 4.15pm and we came int he lobby by 3.45pm, i checked the bills and was almost saved from an attack, the hotel has charged us Rs. 14,000 as miscellaneous, when inquired they blamed us for burning the mattress in the room through a mere heater, gosh last moment and they created a scene, had the mattress been burnt they should have told us much before that we are charging the same in your bill but all was revealed at the last moment when they knew we will just not have time to defend as we had all our tickets booked in advance, we told them that we were not to be blamed as we just dint had any clue bout the same, they became so rude and arrogant, that we felt like slapping them, the manager turned his face saying he cant do anything bout it, and we have to pay the amount, as they had also agreed to give us a discount when we had no proof that the glares were stolen. they literally locked the main security door and dint allow us to let go until be paid extra 14000 apart from our package... left with no option and not wanting to miss the bus we paid the amount. I am lodging complaints against this hotel at the consumer court and as well as at the manali tourism department....So guys please support me and just dont make a fool of yourself with the nonsense reviews written bout this hotel. We have spoilt our honeymoon by booking this hotel please dont repeat this mistake.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
22  Thank Travelouge_1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, General Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

At the outset, we thank you for choosing our hotel and sincerely regret the inconvenience faced during your stay.

You paid Rs 100/- directly to public transport. We were never informed of your arrival details nor were we asked to receive you on arrival at Manali.

The loss of your glasses was taken seriously by the entire team at Rock Manali, to the extent that on your asking we looked for it even on the roads where you walked that particular evening. This reflects on our efforts and your uncertainty regarding the place where you might have lost your glasses. As you would remember, we did explain while checking you in that all valuables are your responsibility and to secure them further there was an electronic locker in your room. Nevertheless, during the same evening I promised to give you a suitable discount to compensate for your loss, as we wanted you to be cheerful during your special trip.

The duvet, and not the mattress as you mentioned, was damaged. As per your request, additional gas heater was provided for strict use in the living-room of your suite. You were told not to use it in the bed room. However the duvet got burned as the gas heater was used in the bedroom or maybe the duvet was carried to the leaving room, very close to the heater. You were charged for the same as per the standard industry norm for any damage caused to the property by the guest’s negligence.

As alleged, none of the exit doors were ever locked. All through we earnestly requested you to clear the bill and eventually we did not even stop you from carrying the damaged duvet along.

Despite our undisputed correct stand, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope to welcome you again at Rock Manali.

Warm Regards,

Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

At first we were not thinking to go to manali but after hearing that it’s snowing so we made a arrangement of going to shimla, as we went there last year but never been to manila. so thought of going to Manali for a change this time and found a hotel to stay but was not satisfied with the heating system so we went and saw some hotels and were not able to find a good hotel with luxury as well... suddenly we saw a hotel while going back to the old hotel and just thought to give it a try... i am glad that we made a stop there as it turned out to be the best hotel in terms of luxury and with loads of pleasure.... the view from the rooms is amazing ... out there from our window a belt of mountains were covered with ice and a very soft sunlight in the morning when it touches the peak it is one sight that i have not even imagine to see in some of the world hotels
The staff is always smiling and ready to be at service 24/7. About food there is no comparison, it’s the best i have ever eaten in north India....
The hotel staff treats you in such a way which made us feel special there.
I’m taking back some of those memories that i can never forget
Will be coming soon and would also recommend if a person wants to be pampered....

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, Public Relations Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks For choosing Rock Manali. We at Rock Manali Thank you for choosing us above other options and are delighted that we could meet your aesthetic taste. We are ecstatic to receive your kind words and generous review that imparts assurance and inspires us to soar higher in future and emerge as the best luxurious resort in Manali. Rock Manali believes in aesthetic delights and takes pride in hosting guests of rich taste like you who enjoy and appreciate the same.

Sincere thanks for taking out time to post your views and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Team Rock Manali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Coming from Casablanca , Morocco, i am very well aware of what hospitality and service means for a visiting guest,,,,,
And i encountered the best when i had visited Rock Manali with my friends,,,,,,,!!!!!!!
Hassle free booking over the net,,,,,,warm courteous staff,,,,,superb interiors,,,,,,sumptuous food,,,relaxing spa ,,,,,a neat fitness gym,,,,,beautiful lawn ,,,,,a small cosy bar,,,,,,
The evenings were splendidly entertained by live songs on requests and also a splendid dance area with complete paraphernalia,,,!!!!!
I would very much like to come back with my family whenever time permits !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, Public Relations Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Rock Manali. We are glad to learn that our hospitality and ambiance matched your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our biggest reward is your satisfaction. Your views are valuable for us in maintaining our finesse.

It was a delight serving you and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Team Rock Manali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The quiet and luxurious ambience of the hotel instills a sense of warmth ,,,,blends super hospitality with amazing choice of food !!!!
The interiors are very well thought of, with a super blend of modernity and old age charm,,,,,
A neat cosy bar, a relaxing experience at the spa, playing area for the tiny tots, a lush green garden to rake in the warm sunshine,,,,an ideal retreat for the family !!!!
Hassle free booking from Germany,,, and we left with extremely fond memories,, !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the hotel spoils you for the choice of rooms !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mintoo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, Public Relations Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rock Manali. It is our delight that our services met your choice and expectations. Our biggest reward is your satisfaction. Your views are valuable for us in maintaining our finesse. We thank you for your words of appreciation that encourages us to serve you better each time.

It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Team Rock Manali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I thank my friends who suggested Rock Manali for my short break. It's an amazingly quiet and relaxing place. The rich interiors and lush lawns pamper and soothe. The smiling staff and great food add to the warmth. On the whole it was a stay worth more than I spent. Missed the beautiful snowfall yet came back with an experience so cherished that it would take me there again very soon.

Room Tip: Mine was corner suite with a panoramic view of the majestic himalayas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, Public Relations Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks For choosing Rock Manali. We are grateful to you for the wonderful words of appreciation. Rock Manali believes in aesthetic delights and takes pride in hosting guests of rich taste like you who enjoy and appreciate the same. We are indeed encouraged by your remarks that will help us make Rock Manali the best resort in and around Manali.

It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcome you again soon .
Best,

Team Rock Manali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Manali....I have never tried anything else besides Span Resorts. However, this time due to some booking issues I gave Rock Manali a shot based on the nice pics posted up on its website.
The hotel lives up to those images and beyond.
Nice aesthetics, welcoming staff and best of all GREAT FOOD!!!

Room Tip: You can ask for special meal requests off the menu. The hotel catered to our gujarati friends with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nfshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing Rock Manali. We are glad to learn that our hospitality and ambiance matched your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a delight serving you and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best,
Team Rock Manali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This new hotel has great features to attract.I was a bit apprehensive while booking this hotel as i did not had much reviews about this hotel but found it worth.My room was river facing and had a beautiful view. Employees were cordial and services were spontaneous.Food was also good.I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockManali, Public Relations Manager at Rock Manali Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks For choosing Rock Manali. We at Rock Manali Thank you for choosing us above other options and are delighted that we could meet your aesthetic taste. We are pleased that you enjoyed our ambiance and service. Your overwhelming remarks are very encouraging and will help us keep up our finesse in hospitality and decor in future.

It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best

Team Rock Manali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.3 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 128 in Manali
461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Manali
Golden Tulip Manali
#77 of 128 in Manali
78 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manali Heights
Manali Heights
#29 of 128 in Manali
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Banon Resorts Manali
Banon Resorts Manali
#32 of 128 in Manali
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#7 of 128 in Manali
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#8 of 128 in Manali
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Manali Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Manali Hotel & Spa

Address: Kullu Manali Highway | Rangri, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Manali
Price Range: $54 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Manali Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock Manali welcomes you to its luxurious dwelling embraced by the idyllic environs of the river Beas and dense drape of pines framed with snow capped serene mountains. Blending style with splendor, the resort is designed and crafted diligently for the comforts of a perfect retreat. Cutting across the green spread of the garden is the natural stream quietly flowing in tune with the tranquil surroundings. An attractive play station for children in the sprawling lush lawn with comfortable lounge and garden sit-outs ensures fun time for your entire family. Indulge yourself in the exquisite experience of the best of modern facilities and nature’s bounty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rock Manali Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing