We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but Horrible Stay”
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Himalayan
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but Horrible Stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Out of all the good options available in Manali, we opted for The Himalayan as we had read amazing reviews about it on Tripadvisor & other websites. During our booking also, Ms. Mimi was really helpful in providing all the relevant information. She even gave us a decent discount & a room on the higher floor.

When we had stayed in Sunder Nagar for a night stay enroute, she even called in the morning to inform that since it had snowed overnight, we should either stay in the hotel or look for an option in kullu.

We arrived the next evening & honestly, the hotel has a very impressive structure. The room allocated to us was also nice & spacious with two separate double beds, one for us & the other for our little daughter. The bathroom is also quit huge with separate bathtub & shower cubicle although the water takes ages to warm up. The room also had a fireplace & one can pay Rs. 500 to get a basket of wood.

The food is also good & served hot. The trouble started when we were informed in the evening that there is no electricity in Manali for the past two days due to snowfall & all the hotels are running on back up generators hence the hotel will shut off the generator at 11 PM & it will start again in the morning only.

We were provided with hotel water bottles & that was the only complimentary thing the hotel could provide for us to get through the night. You can imagine our plight of spending the night in a hotel without any electricity, heaters, hot water in the wash room & in freezing cold condition with a 3 year old daughter. We had no choice but to order for a basket of wood to make us warm for the night.

Somehow, we managed to spend the night getting up at regular intervals to keep the fireplace going. Thankfully, the backup generator started at 8 the next morning but to our dismay it was shut again at 11 AM. Upon inquiring, we were informed that it will now start in the evening only & since most of the people move out during this time & come back in the evening only hence they cannot operator the generator only for us. They, however, did inform that they can start the generator for us for about half an hour so that we can wash & change but if there is still no electricity, the same routine would be followed for the night. When I protested & argued, I was informed calmly that the system will not change in case we are not happy with the arrangements, we can check out.

It really put us in a fix as we were with our little daughter & thought it important on the hotel's part to inform us of such eventualities so that were better prepared. Since, we were sharing our concern & exchanging mails with the hotel for almost a week, this should have been informed to us rather then getting a rude shock in the evening when we arrived.

If the hotel is projecting itself as a luxury brand & charging accordingly then services should also be of the same level. Instead, such an approach made us think twice why we ignored other options & preferred to stay here which felt like a very basic, budget hotel. All the other positive aspects shrank when we were made to go through this ordeal. I immediately rang up Holiday Inn, checked out & shifted there which provided us with all the comforts of a 5 star luxury hotel.

Given the option, I would never stay here again & will never recommend it to anyone else also.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask all the relevant questions related to your stay before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Suhas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    89
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
163
143
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at himalayan, 1 night in classic castle and 2 nights in grand castle. The experience was good except the delay in service for breakfast and dinner. The food quality is simply mouthwatering and best in class. The view and the location of the hotel is simply best.
The dormitory is not good for drivers as it was not clean, and better one should make arrangement somewhere else for driver.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohil7987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had stayed at hotel The Himalayan...and it is the third consecutive year I have stayed here at The Himalayan ...I can not imagine staying at any other hotel in shimla. It has superb location, excellent rooms, brilliant homely veg food....simply love the food...one of the best thalis I have eaten.

The staff is so nice and helpful. They always have a smile on their face and ready to help you in whatever manner required...including suggest places one could consider visiting in and around shimla ... the not so frequented sight seeing places....or atleast places not on regular tourist circuit.

The rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable...most importantly very clean.

This hotel takes the concept of "Hospitality" to an all new level...which would be very difficult to
match...even for 5star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rahulduggal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palampur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Been to manali a few times, but The Himalayan is one of the best resort in the valley with clean rooms, great service, amazing food. Overall great experience !! The staff is courteous as well. The mountain view from the swimming pool is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at the Himalayan (castle side) and being my first visit to Manali that too in winters, i was scared as in how will the hotel be, how cold will the rooms be and how will we survive the night but Himalayan made me forget all those worries and have a great stay.

Pros:
1. Nice friendly staff at the front desk and the restaurant who do everything they can to make your stay a pleasure. Even the reservation team is very prompt and patient in answering all your queries about the place and the room choices.
2. Very friendly management team who go out of way to help their guests ( for instance: the day i arrived in manali there was a taxi strike and upon calling the hotel, the owner came in his personal vehicle to pick us up)
3. Very nice rooms with fireplace (please enquire while booking for a usable fireplace)
4. 24 hrs hot water
5. We stayed in the month of January and it was snowing outside but still the room was warm and cozy thanks to the heater provided.
6. There is no buffet but guests on a MAP plan can decide their breakfast and dinner from the in-room food menu. The food prepared was delicious (do try the butter chicken- amazing)

Cons:
1. The hotel is a good 20-30 min walk from the mall road (approx 1.5 km) and the walk is uphill. (this is not against the hotel but travelers preferences)
2. The breakfast options can be increased to bring in more variety.

All in all i would recommend this place to anyone and everyone who wants some peace and tranquility in life, good service and wants to run away from the mad crowd and noise of Mall road. But if you spend most of your time on the mall road then book Jhonson's Lodge (that's way nearer to the Mall road yet far from noise (8-10 min walk from mall road).

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent (they just differ in room size), choose a room that suits your budget. I sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohtak
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the resort in Dec. 2013. After all night driving in foggy conditions reached early morning much before the check in time and the people at the resort immediately provided an alternate room till my booked room was made up for me.....the room was with a balcony with a working fire place which was most relaxing during the evening till late night. The food was wonderfull.....staff was very very friendly and cooperative always ready to serve.....bed was very comfy with very good linens.....bath was with a tub and shower cubicle and hot water was in plenty. Everything was hygenic and clean.....good quality toiletries and plenty of space in the room made a perfect holiday......to conclude, I can very well say it was a wonderful place........away from the hustle bustle of the town.....highly recommended......would definitely go again .....Thank u all at The Himalayan.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Pradeepmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Himalayan over Christmas and it was an incredible experience. It was our first visit to manali and with our young child, we were anxious not knowing what to expect!

We were extremely pleased with the hotel team right from the first interaction when they responded to our reservation enquiry promptly and efficiently, subsequently shared information on places to visit, how to book a cab to get to the hotel from Kulu airport and fares. Our check-in was smooth and took very little time, the room was ready and appropriately heated. The staff were attentive and responded positively and efficiently.

Nishat and Mimi, the owners, took personal care of all guests and not just us. Their newly opened cellar bar with the fireplace was the perfect setting and the ideal meeting place to hang out at with other guests.

The Architecture of the hotel is quite unique and drives some interesting conversations. We stayed at a cottage and it was extremely comfortable with all required amenities. With some minor interior and finishes upgrades this Hotel could easily become a luxury boutique hotel!

During check out, due to the heavy snow, the credit card machine connection did not work. Nishat was kind enough to offer that we could pay after returning back home! ATM's are aplenty in Manali and we did not need to take Nishat up on his offer but the gesture scored many points in my books!

Overall, as guests, our expectations were exceeded and the stay was delightful!

Will we go back? Sure....again and again!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank ShishirShrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#3 of 118 in Manali
924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 118 in Manali
867 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 118 in Manali
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#9 of 118 in Manali
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#8 of 118 in Manali
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#7 of 118 in Manali
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Property: The Himalayan
Address: Hadimba Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Himalayan 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest rooms in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Fully equipped Boardroom. An elaborate Spa will be added in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing