We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEWS....EVERYTHING ELSE WAS AVERAGE..NOT WORTH IT...”
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Himalayan
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEWS....EVERYTHING ELSE WAS AVERAGE..NOT WORTH IT...”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are regulars at Manali....and have our favourites and other places to avoid list. sadly The Himalayan is one place we will avoid. the views are certainly fantastic, the garden and poola are all great. but there is much more to a hotel than all this. everyone has different requirements and i guess for me service does matter. in Manali there is no dearth of good hotels with spotless rooms and great views....so service will set you apart. the Himalayan is a huge rambling castle type place, spacious rooms and bathrooms. no soul, no warmth...just a castle with rooms. they have breakfast inclusive deals also...but they have seperate tiny menu for the breakfast inclusive deal. if you order an extra omelette then you are charged extra. which is the weirdest thing ever. the only tea you get is a regular kind and if you ask a Darjeeling tea for breakfast then you are charged extra. even the small guesthouses do not do this. any good hotel gives you a hearty breakfast and how much can one person eat. we had kids with us and even they disliked the food. there was no warmth and cheer at all in the service and the breakfast stinginess was not pleasant. i rather stay at Baikunth magnolia where the manager is such a nice, warm person and the rooms are at Par if not more and its got lovely gardens, views and a manager who is always helpful and pleasing. also the Banon and Negi´s Mayflower and Johnsons are way better options.

The Himalayan for me was not a hotel i ever intend to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sailor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    90
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
167
144
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located in panoramic position with a perfectly managed garden and swimming pool the rooms are done in medieval stile with nice furniture very clean I really suggest this place.
I cannot review the restaurant as we went all days at la plage

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AugustoPiccagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and had not a single moment's regret! Sure, it's a little pricey and we hadn't initially planned on such a budget, but if, like us, you like to remember destinations by your hotel room, then this is worth every dime. It is a small property but seems expansive, because of the extravagance of its architecture and service. The managers must really be praised for investing more imagination and sophistication than money. It really does cheer one up to sit in the "refectory" and have dinner, as opposed to any old hotel restaurant. The continental food is at par with Johnson's Cafe and La Plage, so you do have the option of staying in your room, watching the rain in your comfy pants and dig into delicious tuck! The swimming pool and surrounding area are admirably maintained, something I didn't expect at a hill station. Each room has a fireplace and bathtub, and very lavish, Victorian settings. Even though we're bored of Manali, we'd love to revisit it just to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Itihna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed in the hotel from18 June to 24 June, Great hotel to spend your vacation if you are looking for a quite & peacefull time, reaching the hotel a bit of a challenge as located at the end of road with limited or I signage. The rooms though slightly small have a fabulous view , from them stayed on the 2nd floor slightly cumbersome to reach up if travelling with children .Have a gym with a great view. The breakfast very simple & mundane for the price of the room. Go for the cottages if budget permits. Food taste average to very good. The owners are extremenly hands on specially tulsi who is an amazing host. The view from crows nest simply outstanding. Lot of thought gone into the hotel. They should look at a child menu as lot of children come. I was given a very .

Room Tip: take the cottages if budget permits& carry good snaCKS TO HEAT IN THE ROOM
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pradipta_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located very near to the famous Hidimba temple, the place is much more than any hotel. We stayed in a room overlooking the pool, the location and the view is wonderful. The best thing about the place is the quiet that you experience in an otherwise overcrowded Manali. You just turn into the Hotel lane and it is another world altogether. The castle and the cottages give a feel of the space. Coming to the food, it is very homely. The staff is courteous and helpful, special mention for Rajesh from the front desk. I stayed for two days and had it not been for other plans would have stayed put for more.

Room Tip: Best place to be in if you are in a group, book a cottage and enjoy the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travellingsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The rustic and the old london castle feel of this hotel was refreshing. The four poster beds in teh rooms just added to the charm along with the winding stone staircase.

The rooms were large with functional fire places making the stay refreshing and cozy at the same time. The view from the large balcony was that of the snow capped himalayan peaks.

The staff was courtenous and attentive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anupama_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shimla
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

the himalayan is a nice place to stay, beautiful views, nice cottages, clean, beautiful building and a good swimming pool.
The worst part is the slow service, and by slow I mean terribly slow, to make it worse we asked the waiter, why are you so slow? He answered- 'hotel ke maalik ke guest aaye hai'( the hotel owners guests are here). that was annoying! like we were staying for free!
and to us it seemed to be like a family run affair, not very professional, just wishing the 'maalik' good luck and good sense to not screw up a nice property!
i'd recommend people to bring some food with them, even to the restaurant, so that you have something to eat while you wait for your order to arrrive and then later if you order something in between your meal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stom188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#3 of 122 in Manali
961 reviews
1.1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#4 of 122 in Manali
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#8 of 122 in Manali
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 122 in Manali
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#5 of 122 in Manali
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#9 of 122 in Manali
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Property: The Himalayan
Address: Hadimba Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Himalayan 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest rooms in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Fully equipped Boardroom. An elaborate Spa will be added in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing