We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Himalayan
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

If location speaks a thousand words, then this hotel speaks a romance novel, I have been to manali couple of times but this was our best stay in manali only hotel with a pool and Magnificent view from cottages and above all Mohi brothers owners of the resort the best host's.Good food and nice cottages.Only place in Manali where i will be staying.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RobbyBrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 478 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

In less than a month i have made two trips to Manali and the stay at the Himalayan is the reason for the return trip.I read all the reviews before deciding on Himalayan and the property is the best Manali has to offer.The cottage is awesome as the owners have gone into detail while constructing from the flooring ,the bathrooms,the rooms with the finest construction material used and the housekeeping had the rooms cleaned to detail.The morning started with tea at the balcony with breathtaking views and then moving to the pool side where the major part of our day was spent.The kids had a blast in the pool and refused to move out despite the icy cold water.If it was not the pool then it was the trampoline where even the older members of the group had a good time.in the end the owners took extra pains on insuring that we visited the right spots in Manali and made our stay truly enjoyable.My destination in Manali forever !!

Room Tip: I stayed in the cottage but checked the rooms also.The rooms are great.Stay there to believe it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank jaijeet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were a group of 4 families visiting Manali with Kids....The hotel has both plus and Minus.. The owners were extremely helpful in aspects not relating to the property. but with the running of the property they need to catch up.. the room service was pathetic... Season time shold have a morning buffet laid out. the food had to be ordered way in advance and took hours to be sent to the room....
Also they shuld fence the pool, as thats also the common path to go in and out of the property, so was very dangerous with kids being around... Need to have more activities for kids..

Keeping the food aside which left us in bad taste.. we had a good Holiday

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dolls108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHimalayan, Resident Manager at The Himalayan, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Although, it is our endeavour to provide top-notch & timely service to all our guests, we regret for any lapse that may have occurred on our part.

You will appreciate that we he have the luxury of ample open spaces for children to frolic about & enjoy nature in all it's glory. The large Swimming Pool, Trampoline & Tennis is being offered for amusement of both children & adults alike.

Since, our swimming pool is al fresco, it is not possible to fence & therby confine it, without marring the inherent character of the property. We believe our guests are responsible enough to ensure that their children are not left unattended/ unsupervised in & around the pool area; to which effect a'Pool Rules' advisory is also clearly displayed on the premises. Our staff has also been instructed that the pool area is kept safe & unattended children are escorted back to their parents.

Nevertheless, you feedback has been well received.

Thank you for choosing us for your vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Gorgeous and convenient location high up in new Manali, The Himayalan is a beautiful stone castle which took over a decade to build (told to us by the owner Nishat, who took excellent care of us).

My husband and I went here in the first week of July for 5 nights, stayed in the Classic as well as the Premier Room. Classic is smaller, but since we got the corner room we had the best view in the hotel of the mountain tops. Premier Room was extremely spacious and had a balcony overlooking the pool.

Rooms are rustic and are very clean, well maintained and same applies to the bathrooms. Bathrooms have a shower cubicle as well as a bathtub. The rooms don't have fans, but are available upon request. You don't really need them as weather is cool all year around. Must keep your windows closed towards the evening so to avoid mosquitoes. If you have an early check-in do mention that to the hotel prior to your arrival. Housekeeping and room service are very efficient. Indian food here is delicious! Breakfast is very average, you would rather go to the wonderful restaurants/cafes close by. Poolside is very nice to eat your meals by or unwind for a drink.

The hotel is relatively new, so everything is not functional. They have a massage room with a male and female masseuse, where I thoroughly enjoyed my massage, but my husband wasn't too happy with his. Book your massage much in advance as well.

Overall we had a great experience, and would definitely visit the property again, especially once it's entirely up and running! Thanks for the hospitality Nishat!

Room Tip: Premier Room No.1 has a balcony, gorgeous view and super spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Ritika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I chose to spend two nights at this amazing hotel this week. As we are familiar with most of Manali, we were pleasantly surprised by a place that felt completely away from everything we had experienced of Manali town. The most impressive aspect of The Himalayan, aside from the natural beauty of the mountain setting, was the attention to detail. Every piece of furniture, every stone staircase, each window casing was well-planned and beautifully crafted. It reminded us of the bed and breakfasts we are accustomed to visiting in the US, though even more grand and luxurious.

My husband thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, which was kept clean and fit beautifully into its flower garden and cottage environment. I will definitely come prepared for a swim next time!

To the owners: Thank you for a truly delightful stay and for your warm hospitality. We feel refreshed and ready to go back to work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which had windows facing tall apple trees. We might go for room 1 next time, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Unforgettable few days spent at The Himalayan Resort & Spa! Spectacular location, splendid views & warm & courteous service...One regret only, should have planned a longer stay. Kudos to the The Himalayan team!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

In addition to being, by far, the best property in Manali, my fiancee and I were very well looked after by Bobby and Nishat and their wives. They are fine folks who really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Keep up the good work and greetings from Vermont!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Danhee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
1.1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#4 of 141 in Manali
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#11 of 141 in Manali
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#5 of 141 in Manali
756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 141 in Manali
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 141 in Manali
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Address: Hadimba Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Manali
Price Range: $152 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Himalayan 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique castle resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest Chambers in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 Duplex Cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Fully equipped Boardroom. An elaborate Spa will be added in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing