We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to be back!!!”
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Himalayan
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2011

AWESOME!!!
we booked this hotel after seeing the excellent pics they had uploaded in their website...and after a long and bumpy journey to manali...we were like " they better be nice''...
and it was nice and how!!
THE HIMALAYAN is a tastefully done victorian style hotel where nature's serenity is at its best. The cottage we stayed in had a living room with a fireplace,a well equiped kitchenette,a bedroom with a baywindow and a victorian bathtub. the view frm the balcony is picturesque and rare.the cottage is surrounded by orchids and other exotic flowers....
the staff were very warm and though the resturant is not functional they packed breakfast for us at 6am!
this hotel is owned by a family who were making us feel at home with a great amount of appreciation and courtesy. hope to return to them once they are fully functional. this is undoubtedly the best hotel in manali.all the best to the team.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank ishajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for The Himalayan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 459 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stumbled upon The Himalayan by accident as my wife and I were walking in the vicinity of the Hadimba Temple and I am so glad that we did!!! We decided to check out early from the hotel we were originally booked in. Both of us work for an architectural firm and to stay in a resort with such lovely surroundings combined with brilliant gothic architecture was a real treat.

The cottages laid out in gardens abundant with Daffodils and orchards in full bloom added to the whole experience. Our cottage provided us magnificent views of the freshly snowed mountains. The cottage interiors are plush with working fireplaces (a rare luxury these days) and victorian bathtubs. We both love to cook and found the kitchenette especially useful with children. Also, my hats off to the housekeeping staff for taking brilliant care of the hardwood plank floors.

The kids simply loved the large trampoline and we hope to return soon to make full use of the swimming pool as well!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Phiroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

enjoyed the views from the cottage.great hospitality. very conveniently located - close to all the restaurants & the mall, yet tucked away with great views of snow peaks . still very new but promises to be a beautiful resort once it is fully functional. hope to go back for another holiday someday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank rats_3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were in manali for a week and were told about The Himalayan by a friend who had been there. I got there without having to ask for directions, as it is very conveniently located close to the city center. Once there, it seemed so far away from the madding crowd. The Himalayan resort is absolutely beautiful place in terms of architecture, landscaping and room decor. I can go on about it but just visit it and discover it for yourself.

Room Tip: All the cottages have their own great view
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank ads212000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Mayank-----My amazing vist to Manali became more memorable because of the hotel i opted for. I opted for the resort as it looked very nice on the internet as most of the hotels do, but the moment i checked in i got much more than what i expected. Starting with the warm welcome, the hotel staff was very co-operative and friendly and they took all my needs as there responsibilities and it felt like being at home.In short if you are planning to visit Manali do go for Himalyan resort. Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Mayank_fddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anderson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 126 in Manali
992 reviews
1.1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 126 in Manali
883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#8 of 126 in Manali
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 126 in Manali
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#11 of 126 in Manali
538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#3 of 126 in Manali
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Address: Hadimba Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Manali
Price Range: $137 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Himalayan 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique castle resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest Chambers in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 Duplex Cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Fully equipped Boardroom. An elaborate Spa will be added in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing