We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, good view.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Nest Old Manali
Ranked #34 of 269 Manali B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, good view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this guest house for 5 days. We had a room on the second floor. The rooms have a nice balcony with a lovely view. Take the second or thirth floor if you like to have a nice view at the hills. The service was very good. They helped us with arranging a busticket and were always willing to advice us. They also have a nice restaurant which serves good food. The rooms were very spacious and clean with a huge bed and a nice hot shower.
The locations is perfect, it's in Old Manali and it's surrounded by shops and restaurants.
We had a great time and we definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Janne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
24
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Though I don’t normally make reservations before heading to a place thronging with places to stay, this time around, I made an exception. Maybe ‘cause I recently got married and was going with my wife (No, it wasn’t my honeymoon).
Read through a few reviews and thought I can safely try out this place. Called, and got through to a courteous Prem (and for those whom it matters, yes he speaks fluent English). Over the phone he agreed to book a room on the second floor (I read that the view from the upper floor rooms were a tad bit better).
We reached a day after, in the morning and were kind of tired after an overnight bus journey from Delhi. Right as the bus came to a halt, Prem called to confirm my arrival. He asked me to take an auto and hand over the phone to the driver for directions. And I did that (Very thoughtful of him, I thought).
On having reached, Prem said that I’ll have to settle for a first floor room for a night. The occupants of the upper floor decided to spend one more night and so he couldn’t allot it to me. The charges will be a bit lesser as compared, of course. Disappointment!
But, he said, there is a third floor too, with duplex, family rooms. Slightly costlier but with the best views. Though it’s just the two of us, (and the prices were kinda more than my budget), we decided to take a look. And voila, it’s the best room in the hotel. Tidy. Clean. With a good view of the mountains (with a few guesthouses thrown in left and right) and two very distant waterfalls too (Monsoon time, you see). Delight!
Ordered an English breakfast and a Continental Breakfast and sadly, I made the wrong choice. The hash browns weren’t really hash browns. The ham, butter and jam were missing and the milk coffee wasn’t too exciting. Second disappointment!
Thankfully, no more disappointments after that.
What followed were 4 days of bliss. A super-clean room smelling of fresh wood. Brand new towels (with their tags still on). A clean bathroom with a new geyser (very important). Basking in the sun in the balcony (yes, every room has one). And superlatively commendable service by the one-man show.
Room service. Tips on the weather. Info on walks & treks around. You ask for it, and Prem smilingly obliges. And on being asked why they don’t serve trout, he even arranged for one from the restaurant next door.
Lastly, quite a nice place to stay (even the guy at Drifter’s where I last stayed and recommend too, said I made a good choice). Now that’s bigger than my compliment (one by a competitor).
The only area they could do with some improvement is the platter breakfast. Having said that, the masala papads that we had with our late night evening drinks were awesome. And the Veg. Sandwich in the morning thereafter was nice and fresh too. And the best part, they don’t frown a bit when you tell them that you got dinner from somewhere else and would like empty plates and cutlery to have them in your room.
So pack your bags and head to Tourist Nest to experience the best service you have ever come across in recent times.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Room 116 is a nice choice if you want a duplex. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pranjal_Bordoloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in Tourist Nest for only one night. We had stayed in another guesthouse in Vasjisht which we didn't like. Since one person of our party of three was ill, we looked for another guesthouse. We thought we would stay for 2 nights but the person got better so after we got back from paragliding she said she had made reservations for the bus leaving in the afternoon. Check-out time had past but we were only charged one night.
The rooms are not really big but clean with a little balcony and overlook a small quiet garden. The guesthouse has a small reception where Mr. Prem works. He is very helpful, friendly and speaks good English. There is also a cozy restaurant with nice food and friendly personnel.
We all really liked our stay there and we would certainly stay there next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eniro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in old manali. So we came across tourist nest which is actually a good place to stay with quite reasonable rates. The view from the balcony is beautiful especaily if u choose to stay on d top floors. Mr. Prem was very good at hospitality. I would like to come back again and stay whenever I plan my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me & some of my friends stayed in the family rooms. It is new and I think it's quite good for groups of friends and family to visit. It has wifi and hot water. The price is not expensive per person. Clean and comfortable. Anyway I like it~

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soohang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tourist nest guest house in old Manali is just amazing, great location, friendly staff and specially Mr. Prem Kumar at reception is outstanding. Rooms are nice spacious with awesome views and the best part is all the rooms face spectacular Himalayan range. Try to get on 1st or second floor for much better view. Rooms are easily available within 600-800 Rupees, and worth it- VALUE FOR MONEY. Hop out of the hotel and you are in Old Manali , i am glad to discover this property.
I hope this review helps to all those bag packers looking for something good.

Room Tip: Go for 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkVibgyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Although they wehe rebuilding the place we still rent the rooms. Even rebuilding they just start working after 09:00 am and they stop at 18:00. Ther ewas a lot of rebuilding guesthouses and hotels in may and a lot more noise at other places even at 23:00 or 24:00.

Roomrates groundfloor 300-350, first floor 400, second floor 500,third floor ?
All the rooms are just the same but the view is better.

We stayed for 10 nights in a room on the first floor. Still nice view from our window and balcony. Every room has its own balcony. Rooms are spacious 4x4. Bed was a bit firm. Nice and very clean room and bathroom. Bedsheets, towels are clean. they dont provide toilet paper. Tv on every room with all the film and sport channels (uk). Wifi (first floor is the best connection). Last few days the connection was bad and we gave them advice how to improve it without anu costs. They have a backup for powercuts.
A boiler in the bathroom provide hot water for 3 a 4 minutes. Very hot and powershower.
Breakfast was ok. We never ate diner there. About 25 % more then elsewere in Manali for the same food. But the food was ok.
Nice and helpfull staff. Because the guesthouse is a little offroad there is not to much noise at night.
The walls are a bit thin so you can hear everything the neigbourghs are doing.
There are nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Great bakery just around the corner with great breakfast bread and good pie.

if you go to dharamsala after Manali just book a ticket for a minivan by the staff. (just 7 1/2 hour, instead of 10 in a bus !)

Next time in Manali i will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Satkar Residency
Hotel Satkar Residency
#60 of 114 in Manali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#16 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Johnson Lodge
Johnson Lodge
#3 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#26 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banon Resorts Manali
Banon Resorts Manali
#29 of 114 in Manali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock Top Inn & Cafe
Rock Top Inn & Cafe
#25 of 265 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Nest Old Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Nest Old Manali

Property: Tourist Nest Old Manali
Address: Next to Dragon Guest House | next to Dragon Guest House, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Nest Old Manali ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing