We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little guesthouse with very helpful personnel.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Nest Old Manali
Ranked #36 of 307 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in Tourist Nest for only one night. We had stayed in another guesthouse in Vasjisht which we didn't like. Since one person of our party of three was ill, we looked for another guesthouse. We thought we would stay for 2 nights but the person got better so after we got back from paragliding she said she had made reservations for the bus leaving in the afternoon. Check-out time had past but we were only charged one night.
The rooms are not really big but clean with a little balcony and overlook a small quiet garden. The guesthouse has a small reception where Mr. Prem works. He is very helpful, friendly and speaks good English. There is also a cozy restaurant with nice food and friendly personnel.
We all really liked our stay there and we would certainly stay there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eniro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Tourist Nest Old Manali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in old manali. So we came across tourist nest which is actually a good place to stay with quite reasonable rates. The view from the balcony is beautiful especaily if u choose to stay on d top floors. Mr. Prem was very good at hospitality. I would like to come back again and stay whenever I plan my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me & some of my friends stayed in the family rooms. It is new and I think it's quite good for groups of friends and family to visit. It has wifi and hot water. The price is not expensive per person. Clean and comfortable. Anyway I like it~

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soohang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tourist nest guest house in old Manali is just amazing, great location, friendly staff and specially Mr. Prem Kumar at reception is outstanding. Rooms are nice spacious with awesome views and the best part is all the rooms face spectacular Himalayan range. Try to get on 1st or second floor for much better view. Rooms are easily available within 600-800 Rupees, and worth it- VALUE FOR MONEY. Hop out of the hotel and you are in Old Manali , i am glad to discover this property.
I hope this review helps to all those bag packers looking for something good.

Room Tip: Go for 1st or 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinkVibgyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Although they wehe rebuilding the place we still rent the rooms. Even rebuilding they just start working after 09:00 am and they stop at 18:00. Ther ewas a lot of rebuilding guesthouses and hotels in may and a lot more noise at other places even at 23:00 or 24:00.

Roomrates groundfloor 300-350, first floor 400, second floor 500,third floor ?
All the rooms are just the same but the view is better.

We stayed for 10 nights in a room on the first floor. Still nice view from our window and balcony. Every room has its own balcony. Rooms are spacious 4x4. Bed was a bit firm. Nice and very clean room and bathroom. Bedsheets, towels are clean. they dont provide toilet paper. Tv on every room with all the film and sport channels (uk). Wifi (first floor is the best connection). Last few days the connection was bad and we gave them advice how to improve it without anu costs. They have a backup for powercuts.
A boiler in the bathroom provide hot water for 3 a 4 minutes. Very hot and powershower.
Breakfast was ok. We never ate diner there. About 25 % more then elsewere in Manali for the same food. But the food was ok.
Nice and helpfull staff. Because the guesthouse is a little offroad there is not to much noise at night.
The walls are a bit thin so you can hear everything the neigbourghs are doing.
There are nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Great bakery just around the corner with great breakfast bread and good pie.

if you go to dharamsala after Manali just book a ticket for a minivan by the staff. (just 7 1/2 hour, instead of 10 in a bus !)

Next time in Manali i will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place stands out relatively to same class guesthouses you may encounter in India.
It's run by a very helpful and pleasant Nepalese guy (if i recall his name is Prem) and the guesthouse owner is too, very nice and welcoming
The rooms are well kept ,clean and each room has a small balcony viewing the Kulu valley and a beautiful garden filled in flowers, cherry trees and more.
There's also a restaurant which is highly convenient for late night/rainy day room-service.
We were charged around 500 rupees for a third floor room. It's slightly more expensive than other guesthouses around( 100 r difference - not critical), but it's worth each rupee. The slightly higher price keeps out cheep, noisy and annoying backpackers.
Very recommended
Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room (Third max), allows better view of the Kulu valley
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leon_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Great midrange budget option. All the rooms have balconies with good mountain views and TVs and they're clean. Good location near the center of Old Manali. About Rs 400 for a room on the 1st floor (1 floor above ground level) is more expensive than some places, but the quality here makes the price a good value. Next time I return to Manali I'll stay here.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank TravelsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.0 mi away
Banon Resorts Manali
Banon Resorts Manali
#28 of 126 in Manali
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#2 of 126 in Manali
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dragon Inn
Dragon Inn
#39 of 307 in Manali
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zostel Manali
Zostel Manali
#3 of 313 in Manali
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shobla Pine Royale
Shobla Pine Royale
#17 of 307 in Manali
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock Top Inn & Cafe
Rock Top Inn & Cafe
#24 of 313 in Manali
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Nest Old Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Nest Old Manali

Address: Next to Dragon Guest House | next to Dragon Guest House, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range: $284 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Nest Old Manali ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing