We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven in old Manali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Nest Old Manali
Ranked #39 of 305 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“heaven in old Manali”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tourist nest guest house in old Manali is just amazing, great location, friendly staff and specially Mr. Prem Kumar at reception is outstanding. Rooms are nice spacious with awesome views and the best part is all the rooms face spectacular Himalayan range. Try to get on 1st or second floor for much better view. Rooms are easily available within 600-800 Rupees, and worth it- VALUE FOR MONEY. Hop out of the hotel and you are in Old Manali , i am glad to discover this property.
I hope this review helps to all those bag packers looking for something good.

Room Tip: Go for 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkVibgyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
24
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Although they wehe rebuilding the place we still rent the rooms. Even rebuilding they just start working after 09:00 am and they stop at 18:00. Ther ewas a lot of rebuilding guesthouses and hotels in may and a lot more noise at other places even at 23:00 or 24:00.

Roomrates groundfloor 300-350, first floor 400, second floor 500,third floor ?
All the rooms are just the same but the view is better.

We stayed for 10 nights in a room on the first floor. Still nice view from our window and balcony. Every room has its own balcony. Rooms are spacious 4x4. Bed was a bit firm. Nice and very clean room and bathroom. Bedsheets, towels are clean. they dont provide toilet paper. Tv on every room with all the film and sport channels (uk). Wifi (first floor is the best connection). Last few days the connection was bad and we gave them advice how to improve it without anu costs. They have a backup for powercuts.
A boiler in the bathroom provide hot water for 3 a 4 minutes. Very hot and powershower.
Breakfast was ok. We never ate diner there. About 25 % more then elsewere in Manali for the same food. But the food was ok.
Nice and helpfull staff. Because the guesthouse is a little offroad there is not to much noise at night.
The walls are a bit thin so you can hear everything the neigbourghs are doing.
There are nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Great bakery just around the corner with great breakfast bread and good pie.

if you go to dharamsala after Manali just book a ticket for a minivan by the staff. (just 7 1/2 hour, instead of 10 in a bus !)

Next time in Manali i will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place stands out relatively to same class guesthouses you may encounter in India.
It's run by a very helpful and pleasant Nepalese guy (if i recall his name is Prem) and the guesthouse owner is too, very nice and welcoming
The rooms are well kept ,clean and each room has a small balcony viewing the Kulu valley and a beautiful garden filled in flowers, cherry trees and more.
There's also a restaurant which is highly convenient for late night/rainy day room-service.
We were charged around 500 rupees for a third floor room. It's slightly more expensive than other guesthouses around( 100 r difference - not critical), but it's worth each rupee. The slightly higher price keeps out cheep, noisy and annoying backpackers.
Very recommended
Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room (Third max), allows better view of the Kulu valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leon_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Great midrange budget option. All the rooms have balconies with good mountain views and TVs and they're clean. Good location near the center of Old Manali. About Rs 400 for a room on the 1st floor (1 floor above ground level) is more expensive than some places, but the quality here makes the price a good value. Next time I return to Manali I'll stay here.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Tourist Nest is really very good place to stay in Old Manali. We paid 500 INR in begining of July for double room with privat balcony and bathroom in 1st floor (2nd floor 600 INR and ground floor is probably 400 INR). Room was clean, nice, quiet (we were treking there and that's why we were looking for qiuet accomodation in Manali) and full of light. Guest house has, I think, best location in Old Manali - out off a bit noisy main street (but only few steps from there) and sorrounded by all you need - internet cafe, resturants, shops, bakeries, etc.. Its garden is quiet and nice . Staff and owner were helpfull and very friendly. There is very good restaurant (especially Tibetian food) in the garden with very friendly prices. I can only recmenend it.
Michal, Czech republic

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are similar. Only wiew dipend on a floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michal_CZ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#27 of 123 in Manali
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 123 in Manali
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Satkar Residency
Hotel Satkar Residency
#41 of 123 in Manali
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zostel Manali
Zostel Manali
#3 of 308 in Manali
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neelgiri Old Manali
Neelgiri Old Manali
#155 of 305 in Manali
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchards House - The Hidden Tribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Nest Old Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Nest Old Manali

Property: Tourist Nest Old Manali
Address: Next to Dragon Guest House | next to Dragon Guest House, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Nest Old Manali ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing