We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“found bit expensive”

Johnson Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 136 Restaurants in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Now you can have some quality time with your family and friends at the Johnson Bar and Restaurant, Manali. Whether you want to gather around the fire places on chilly winter evenings or soak up the sun in the garden on warm days, you will always have great time. The cozy ambiance at the Johnson Bar will set you at ease. Choose your favorite drink from the extensive list of wines, liquors, exotic cocktails and mind blowing shooters and have a blast with your friends or spend some quality time with your near and dear ones. The multi-cuisine restaurant, boasting our new Italian chef, serves some mouthwatering Italian, continental, Indian and Asian cuisine. Thanks to the great food, lovely ambiance with the garden setting and friendly staff, every meal here will be memorable. We have Live Music Events regularly where some of the most famous musician plying live music giving guests a first hand experience. At Johnson the party never ends.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“found bit expensive”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

the hotel is very nice and the bar was also excellent. there is a fire place and lovely music. drinks were nice but expensive. there is also a pool table but old one. rather then this my experience was very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaibhavking007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review. Glad you enjoyed the warmth. We will be upgrading the pool table shortly.

Cheers!
Johnson Bar and Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    196
    40
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back..!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had a chance to stay at this place this winters and this place did not disappoint...arguably the best hotel in the town serving superb quality food..
this is a special restaurant. The location is a fantastic one, at the heart of the city and one can feel the opulence the moment you enter, with great interior work and decorates.
Food is served right on time and good taste.
Overall..this place promises a quality time along with great service and delicious food.
Totally recommended..!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandhyaverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a great review. Good to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and enjoyed the restaurant too . Thanks once again and hope to see you back with us some time soon.

Cheers!
Johnson Bar and Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirsa, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place for food”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

we visited manali in Dec 2013, we had heard about this place, in the night of christmis we enjoyed the night life of manali at this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajmer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful words. Great to know you enjoyed your visit over Christmas with us. hope to see you all back soon with us.

Cheers!
Johnson Bar and Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“himalayan trout to die for!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Bohemian, stylish and a delightful place to be. This place is arrogantly polished and worth repeated visits. The food they serve is delicious and served with great care. The Himalayan trout and apple toddy would sweep you off your feet. You can sit here for as long as you want and enjoy your meal. From the looks of it this place also has lodging facility and seems decent, except for lack of view. The place is well decorated and warmed by a fancy fireplace. its quite an experience. I really hope even the manager of the place would inculcate dome of that warmth in his attitude.

Out and out a must visit. And please explore the menu beyond the usual momo and noodles. This place has a wealth of cuisine to offer. Cheers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post . We're glad that you had an enjoyable dining experience at our restaurant. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Cheers!
Johnson Bar and Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“mixed experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

had a nice outdoor lunch with family last thurs, the pizza was outstanding so was the pasta and tandoori trout but the veg biriyani was disastrous it had a all mashed up look with red colour thrown in. the taste of the biriyani was pedastrian to say so but the consequence of eating this meant we fell sick one after the other in less than 3 hours post this. we did bottled water throu out the manali trip but at Johnsons it was either the biriyani or the water served on the table which sent us into a unplugged situation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefRajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to read that you liked our food except for the Vegetable Biryani. We do use RO water filters at our restaurant. And also, high level of hygiene is maintained in the kitchen while procuring, preparing and preserving the food. We would also like to bring to your notice that the red color you had mentioned in your review was kesar sprinkled on it. Regardless we will look into this very seriously and improve on the same.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Bar and Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Been to Johnson Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing