We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away for your own good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sandhya Manali
Ranked #90 of 123 Hotels in Manali
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keep away for your own good”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in the new Hotel Sandhya, Manali for 3 days (24/May to 27/May). 3 families with total of 6 adults and 6 kids. Before the full story, let me summarise it in one word: appalling.

The disaster started upon arrival itself. We had booked and paid advance for a 3 bed "cottage" as per their website. But when we landed, it had magically converted itself to the top floor of a regular hotel building. When we entered the rooms after a long tiring drive from Shimla, found everything covered with a thin layer of magical manali snow. Only that it was not snow and just dust from painting or something. All rooms, furniture, beds, everything!! Apparently, the rooms were brand new and nobody had even bothered to check if it is in inhabitable condition. Based on our complaint, a bunch of guys soon arrived and cleaned up the place, while we waited.

On the plus side, the rooms were spacious, restrooms well designed and kids had a fun time bundled in the hall room in their extra beds. Only if they had bothered to clean and check things before our arrival.

From next day, started a long string of problems. No hot water, no room service unless explicitly called, no towel replacements...nothing. The excuse from management for everything was "its a brand new hotel sir". Maybe we should have paid using brand new handwritten IOU notes. The brochure also mentioned kitchen facility in the cottage...yes, there was a kitchen space, but a nice cache of brick and mortar pieces were delivered to us thru the chimney opening within afew hrs of our arrival. Maybe its a new experimental construction technology.

We put up with all this nonsense as we were still having a good time with friends and kids. Then came the jewel in the crown. On Friday, all 12 of us came down with severe stomach infection. We had food only from the hotel and nowhere outside, so the source was pretty obvious. We also met 3 other families staying there who hit the same problem. Imagine a 14hr bus journey to Delhi to manali with kids and adults all sick. We got thru this only with gods grace. And pampers diapers. Guess the hotel managements response..."its a new hotel sir".

All of us are senior managers in multi nationals like IBM, Cisco, Nvidia and can understand the business interest in opening up a not 100% ready facility so that billing can start. However, the response to the issues we faced were below expectation. So was the request for cash settlement about 1hr before our bus leaves. (Who the hell does not take plastic these days??!!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VM_at_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel Sandhya manali offerred excellent services during our vacation from May20-23. Mr Duggal (AGM) had arranged sightseeing around manali, rohtang pass and solang valley. The whole trip was made enjoyable by the hospitality of the staff, especially Mr Ramesh Negi who received us and managed our trip.

The view from the room was also good (as requested) . All together, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishnanunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I initially had worries about the Quality of this Resort(Sandhya Manali). But the moment i reached Manali , the hotel people gave me a call & picked me up from the Bus stand to the Hotel.

The hotel people gave me the food of my choice & their local sight seeing plan was superb.

On the day of departure , they even presented us a gift.

Altogether , the experience was Fantastic.

Keep up the Good work Sandhya Manali !!!!

Have a nice trip !!!! :)

Regards
Akhil Raman

Room Tip: Book the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akhilraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I visited hotel sandhya in April this year,from the time of booking till i checked out its been amazing,great hospitality from the management team to the staff boys,best arrangements ,awsome food,it was a best and awsome experience I ever had.. great going team of Hotel sandhya,Would dfinitely be the place for recommendations to anyone.
Sandeep

Room Tip: Cottages amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandeep n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faridabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sandhya hotel the most curtious staff I ever met. I visited Sandhya hotel, manali with my family for vacation in April, 2012 and simply loved the experience. The staff is most curtious, helpful, hospitable, and hardworking. They make it a point to plan almost everything about your trip and ensure that you get the most relaxed atmosphere. Really delighted to visit that hotel. Saurabh

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have visited Sandhya palace manali in last week of Feb 2012 for My honeymoon trip.
and really its a wonderful experience.
1.Hotel staff is very co operative and quick responsive even if you required something at midnight.
2. One advice for management please get any swipe machine so that visitor can make payment through their card which definitely increase your service value

This the best hotel for a couple.
Prefer their cottage if your on your Honey moon.

Room Tip: I have booked a room in sandhya palace hotel manali for 3N/4D but they have upgrade my room to thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I don't know whether it's the people, the place or the atmosphere that makes a location an memorable experience. but after visiting Hotel Sandhya Manali ... i am sure it takes a correct blend of the three to make one's visit an unforgettable memory.

Visited Sandhya Manali for my honeymoon last week of march 2012, and after researching quite a few hotels, finally chose Sandhya Manali, and i am very happy with the decision, i was promised a good deal and was delivered fully. I would strongly recommend you to stay at the cottages as they are very comfortable, the wooden structure looks quite neat, the toilets are very clean, with a private balcony ... and surrounded with lovely mountains... Another nice thing about the hotel is the quality of food... especially the breakfast menu and the indian food. Really looking forward for the new 50 room property coming up right next to the hotel which may operate from May... So do check it out.

Finally my special thanks to Mr. Duggal (GM)... u are a Perfect Host ... and looking forward to see you very soon. Mr. Negi and our lovely server Mr. Surender ... thank u guys for taking good care of us.

CHEERS :)

Room Tip: Cottages are the best options if you are looking for a good experience. Also the new property right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.7 mi away
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
#32 of 123 in Manali
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Manali
Golden Tulip Manali
#69 of 123 in Manali
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 123 in Manali
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Manali Heights
Manali Heights
#33 of 123 in Manali
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadways Inn Manali
Broadways Inn Manali
#106 of 123 in Manali
110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 123 in Manali
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandhya Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandhya Manali

Property: Hotel Sandhya Manali
Address: Kanyal Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 123 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sandhya Manali 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sandhya Manali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing