We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Beas (HPTDC)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Beas (HPTDC)
Ranked #51 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Kokata,West Bengal,India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I liked this place just because I had a room by the river Beas. Maintenance of rooms, furniture and toilet is poor . Staff seemed to be helpful. Very poor breakfast choices. But it is great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandakphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    55
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
60
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited Manali in Dec..2012 along with my wife to Celebrate her B'day. Spent 4 nights in the Hotel;December 15,16,17,18. Had gone through the reviews written by travelers on Tripadvisor and was mentally prepared for an Okay type of rooms,service etc. We reached there early say around 6.00 hours went straightway to hotel but nobody opened the door. Had to take a room in guest house for two hours. This was the only bad experience we faced otherwise every experience was very good I must say. I can understand why they didn't open the door it was very cold out there and moreover I was supposed to check-inThey provided extra quilts during night when asked for and moreover very friendly guiding about the local sights. at 12.00 hrs. Still they gave me a room at 7.00 hrs. Rooms are old as the Hotel itself but quite large. i had booked this Hotel for the location and believe me I am proud of my decision. I had booked DBR with Balcony and it was worth. Service is not as bad as some people find .Problem arises when we wnt Tea,Breakfast etc. in our rooms though this is everybody's right. Staff was nice and cooperative. Mr, Chaman-the caretaker,Mr. Sharma -The Manager deserve a good word. In all it is for those who r looking for a safe,affordable,well located place. I will be booking the same Hotel when I visit Manali next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yadee_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is not a posh, polished place. In fact, it seems to be from another era, when it must have been a favorite haunt of the babus who freeloaded here. Carpets are worn out and often unkempt, amenities basic and the staff forgetful (though courteous). A basis request like television remote takes several repetitions to get fulfilled.

Also, if you walk-in and get a room for say three days, and someone else books it online from the third day, you will be asked to change/leave depending on availability. Government works in mysterious ways.

However, every time you walk into the room, the roar of Beas greets you. It takes some time getting used to, and I often wondered what appliance did I leave on! The balcony has a great view of the river, and it is extremely soothing to just sit there. The mall is a short walk away. I would easily rate this is as the best hotel in Manali as far a location goes. Also, food served in the canteen is good. The tarriffs are reasonable, but in an off-season, cheaper choices will abound.

In short, stay here for that room by the Beas. It has little else to offer, other than its great location. If that suffices for you, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Rooms in 30x series are right at the ground level from the road and have excellent balconies overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankkuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Right at the heart of the city and an awesome location. In couple of minutes walk you will reach the mall road and the river beas at few yards of view from your room terrace. As some of the previous reviewers said the hotel may have few negatives but the location and the value(Rs.1500 you will get good rooms, log on to HPTDC website to book rooms) you wont get a better stay then this, as i have past stay experiences in the city.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have good view, still ensure you are taking a room with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodtraveller I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Beas in Manali is an economical and at the same time has all the facilities. the river Beas running at the back of the hotel is an wonderful sight and attraction there. the staff are very cordial and helpful. the hotel provides north. south indian and continental cousine. In short, it is the place at the heart of the city, nearer to the bus stand and very neat and economical to stay

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vijayabharathi4456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Dont ever think of staying in this pathetic hotel if you are looking for a good service, its carpet are rotten , room full of smell.....& wrt to service , terrible......They will never pick up the room service phone neither reception, if by mistake they pick up they will be extremely rude..i asked them for mineral water , they banged the phone telling its not a 5 star hotel.. in the name of complementary breakfast they will give you paratha's which are so thick that no human being can eat , my stay was so patheictic that i have to check out in middle of my vacations to another hotel...Staff is rude& like a govt office in which nobody will listen to you & ful of rudeness...IN short they will torture you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanu_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manali hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic location, and that will score over all the negatives for this hotel. True to its name, just on the river Beas, you get to enjoy the river to the fullest if you are staying here,
Quality of stay is not great, neither the service - this being a government hotel shows in itself, not great in terms of maintenance, hygiene and cleanliness.
But all said and done, I will stay here the next time also when am in Manali, because of its location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#14 of 118 in Manali
266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Satkar Residency
Hotel Satkar Residency
#44 of 118 in Manali
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#3 of 118 in Manali
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chichoga Holiday Inn
0.5 mi away
Shingar Regency
Shingar Regency
#30 of 118 in Manali
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Snow Park
Hotel Snow Park
#50 of 118 in Manali
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beas (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beas (HPTDC)

Property: Hotel Beas (HPTDC)
Address: Near Government Bus Stand, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing