We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to stay in Old Manali. ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifters' Inn & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 266 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Old Manali. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I got to know about drifters via TripAdvisor and decided to book a room here, but had to reschedule two days in advance and Nishant (The owner) was very accommodating. My bus from Dharamshala arrived at 6am and inspite of the checkin time being 12pm, Nishant made sure I was given a room as soon as I arrived. The rooms are cozy and have clean bathrooms. Also, the hotel staff made sure there were clean towels available. Excellent service and great rooms with picturesque views of the valley. I truly enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and an even bigger thanks for acknowledging our efforts.

Best wishes and happy drifting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    86
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
128
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely warm vibe of this upmarket backpackers.
Only stayed one night, and the only free room was the nicer top storey room, which was really comfy, clean and had a nice view.
Staff were warm and friendly. Cafe was a great spot to chill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are thrilled to know that you had a great stay.

Best wishes and happy drifting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of the best places to stay in the backpacking hub of Old Manali. Superior rooms cost Rs. 1100 and regular rooms are for Rs. 700 per night. The rooms arent large but comfortable and clean. The washrooms were a bit cramped but clean nonetheless. They provided a complimentary bottle of water and Tea-coffee maker with sachets once during your stay.The staff is polite and attentive and Wi-Fi is free for guests. Lack of room service is a dampener but the place has a great cafe with excellent food.Special praise for the hospitality of the owner Nishant.

Room Tip: Take the superior rooms on the top floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh6296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again, thanks for choosing to stay with us and for posting us yet another review.

We like to have our resident guests join us in the Cafe area where they can play board games, share / swap stories with other travellers, make new friends. Thus we encourage our guests to eat in the Cafe instead of their rooms.

Wish you the very best and hope to see you back here at Drifters' soon.

Happy Drifting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this guest house.The best rooms are on top floor
Rooms are nice and clean.Staff very friendly.The loction is very good close to main street in Old Manali.Good value for money for the room but Cafe is expensive

Room Tip: Best rooms are on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlyNahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

And thanks for posting us a review.

Best wishes and happy drifting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Now here is a place that holds true for all the reviews. Situated in
old Manali its one of the best stay options in
Manali….clean…..comfortable and great food. Old Manali as such has a
very laid back feel to it, inspite of it being such a big tourist
hub….I wouldn’t be wrong if I compare the feel of old Manali to the
laid back beach ambience of Anjuna or Palolem in Goa and hence
Drifter’s takes the whole ambience of old Manali and puts it in their
stay. The hotel is on the way to Manu temple and offers great views
of the apple orchards and the surrounding mountains. The rooms are
quite basic but clean and comfortable. The owners of the hotel are
genuinely interested in making your stay comfortable. The best part of
the hotel its food. You can order anything here and it will be
awesome. I did try food in other places in Manali but Drifter’s was
the best food we had in Manali. The café is relaxed and is a great
place to meet fellow travelers and could just chill out there for
hours. So great value for money….awesome food…..comfortable stay….
Great location…..superb views and a great host….Drifter’s has
completely nailed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickg316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a huge bunch for staying with us this year and an even bigger bunch for posting us such a sweet review.

We really had a good time meeting you and hosting you.

Hope you'll return one day soon.

Till then, happy drifting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed just one night but loved it.
Very nice lounge, exelent food, but most of all - lovely owner and superb service. for over an hour he looked at the for a hotel in another city, called them and did everything e asked for and more. Good to leave your money at such man's pocket.
Highly recommended for those who are looking to have good place at a low budget.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us.

It's my pleasure to be of any help to you.

Happy Drifting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the best stay options in Old Manali. Location is little towards the Manu Temple, but offers a good view. Cafes, bakery, etc. are nearby. They have parking space unlike many hotels nearby. The best part of the drifter's Inn is the restaurant. Nice and comfortable. Very good staff and always available to help you. Nishant, the owner, is very helpful. Talking about Rooms, they are of ok-ok sizes and have big windows overlooking the road. there is no building in the front of hotel, hence we get to see a nice cliff. I would advice you to stay here in Old Manali, if you are looking for an economical stay. There are no Coffee makers in standard rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitDhanawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishantSingh, Owner at Drifters' Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and also for reviewing our guesthouse.

It's our pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again in future.

Happy Drifting :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.8 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Johnson Lodge
Johnson Lodge
#3 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#16 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#8 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#5 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters' Inn & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters' Inn & Cafe

Property: Drifters' Inn & Cafe
Address: Manu Temple Road | Old Manali Village, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home for 'drifters' from all over the world - with well appointed & cozy rooms (en-suite bathrooms) and Sun Deck terraces. The views of the valley and the snow capped mountains are unarguably the best you will get to see from anywhere in Old Manali. We lay a special emphasis on your comfort, privacy and safety. We've even got an all day Cafe serving continental fare and a fully stocked bar - where we theme events. Some of the other on-site amenities are: Sun Deck cafe, free WIFI, travel desk, free parking, library of books, musical theme nites, free cloak room etc. Its definitely one of the best stay n hang-out options in Old Manali. Happy Drifting! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing