We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
385
179
24
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
179
24
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutwalking distanceplace to stayfamily suitethe ground floorrooms are bigexcellent locationvisit manalihigher sidenice gardenthe cottagesoff seasonbeautiful propertyfront officekeep up the good workawesome foodroom service
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 610 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The first glimpse of the hotel is absolutely impressive. The property is very well maintained and the room was really good. We were looking forward to a quiet and peaceful stay but alas that was not to be!

Our travel agent had booked us in this hotel. After we landed there, we understood that the hotel is frequented by party freaks, boozers and youngsters. The day we landed there was a major party planned that started after about lunch time. The staff at the reception told us that the party was expected to go on until midnight. The music was so loud that we could hear it even in our first floor room. We had to fight (real bad) to get a change of room. They shifted us to a rundown suite on the fourth floor. That didn't help much since the party soon shifted to the lawns outside the hotel and the music was audible even then, right into the night.

We were so disgusted that we went out for both meals so didnt try any food there (that was what was supposed to be excellent, unfortunately).

I blame this hotel (and my agent too) for spoiling my holiday experience at Manali. Perhaps the hotel should inform guests about their 'planned parties' before accepting reservations. Or at least be a bit more sensitive about guests who are more peace-loving!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arpitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your views. We understand that we did not deliver on your holiday expectations and we are sorry for the same.

However, its not us who let you down. The booking agent should have been more specific about your stay requirements so that we could have advise him appropriately. Manali is a holiday destination – where different holiday makers come with different requirements and expectations. And no matter how hard we try, we can not please everyone at the same time.

So yes, on the said day we did have a day party in our lawns, and everyone was invited. And most of our guests had a good time. In any case, its better to have a day party instead of a night one. We are still sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Lodge is located on the quaint Old Manali road just a few minutes (literaly!) walk from the Mall Road. The location is very central as with young kids you want to be around the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We booked this hotel after reading many good reviews. When we reached the hotel, we really liked the outlook of the hotel surrounded by a very beautiful garden. We wanted to stay at the cattages but they were fully booked. Our room on 2nd floor had a great view and the interiors were beautifully done. We enjoyed our stay there. They had a very nice garden facing resturant on the ground floor. One thing we missed which i usually provided in all hotels is complimenatry breakfast.
The hotel was very close to the market and the main road, so at night also we were able to hear the traffic passing by. Apart from that, everything else was good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Wonderfull place to stay in manali.the best thing about hotel is that it is just 2min walk from the main market of manali.room service are good and the well maintained.the staff are well mannered.And the hotel garden are also very good nd maintained.But in the kitchen cottages in the kitchen there are very old cutleries which we can’t use.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ILoveDisneyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The hotel is an excellent place for unwinding, offerring magnificent views of the Snow Peaks surrounding Manali. Rooms are decent sized with heating facility. Food is expensive though. I would recommend to opt for rooms only without food package as there are plenty of good joint in the market which is cpl of minutes walk from the hotel. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayur_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews