We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to nature !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Dervin Reney Saparamadu
Beverly Hills, California ,90210. USA
My wife and I stayed two days in this Lodge. We traveled across North India on a long holiday trip and Johnson Lodge is one of the best places we came across. My wife loved the two young ladies at the front desk who helped as with everything. The staff there was kind, extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious can clean from top to bottom. Excellent service! Excellent people!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DervinSaparamadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback and writing such wonderful comments. We take great pride in our staff and we'll surely pass your kind words to the two young ladies. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you very soon.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Johnson Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We came off a very grueling trek and The team was extremely tired. my wife was just hoping to crash into a nice hotel and relax. Nisha - front desk was extremely helpful and supportive. The restaurant was quite well designed and beautiful. the property itself is quite well located and within walking distance of both old manali and MALL ROAD. Highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balaji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a phenomenal comment. We're glad you had a lovely time with us. We're lucky to have such wonderful staff working with us. We'll surely pass on your praising words. We look forward to serving you on your return trips to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for a short weekend trip to manali and called ahead for a booking. There was five of us staying in two rooms. They didn't charge extra for the third person in one of the rooms. The rooms are spacious with the largest double beds I have ever seen. The bathrooms are clean and spacious. We had one corner room and it was great being able to wake up and see the snow covered mountains from both sides. Being able to have breakfast or tea on the amazing grounds is a delight.

We felt the rooms are reasonably priced but the breakfast and other amenities are a bit expensive.

Room Tip: pick corner room numbers 201, 301, or 401.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishGuptasfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a phenomenal comment. We’re glad to read that you liked our spacious rooms. It is great to see that we made an impression that would be remembered years later. We hope to see you visit us again for another memorable experience in the near future.

Warm Regards
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Very cosy make u feel like home ,very close to nature which relaxes the individual. Delicious food will ignite ur taste bud and multiple platter gives one opportunity to experiment with different type of food ,the drinks n music together uplift ur mood which makes one joyful ,and mind it won't bother much from ur wallet so have fun n blast !enjoy.

Stayed: May 2557
4  Thank Sanjeev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read you liked our food. Our Johnson bar and restaurant does some wonderful authentic cuisine and reading over your review clearly shows that you had a chance to indulge in some of those delicacies. We look forward to welcoming you again to Johnson Lodge.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We read many reviews of Johnsons and then decided not to stay there as we wanted some place quiet and away from the market. But then we realised after checking in to another property, the merits of Johnson. This is how we discovered Johnson. We had come back from a 5 day trek and I was aching all over and I was looking for a good spa/massage centre. Someone had reviewed the Magnolia spa in Johnson and rated it highly. So I fixed an appointment and went.
The Massage was excellent and the ambiance in the restaurant and the food was 'idyllic'. That prompted us to check for availability of a room for the rest of our stay. We got a room and we moved the next day. It was a little pricey, but we moved nevertheless.
The beds were huge. so our family of 4 (2A,2C) could sleep comfortably without extra beds. The beds were awesome (maybe i am exaggerating a bit after camping out). the rooms are BIG, tastefully done. Lovely views of the mountain from the room. The restaurant is picture perfect, some indoor/outdoor seating, good food, lovely garden, furry dogs. Just what we wanted...to bask and potter around after a trek. Its 5 mins to the market, in case you wanted something.
Staff is friendly and accommodating and not in your face.
I would spend that money and stay here, it was great. And a 10/10 to the spa therapies.

Room Tip: higher floor, lesser road noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuckyRamamurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a phenomenal review. Your compliments for our lodge and facilities are every welcoming. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel has a nice old world charm to it. Rooms are nice, spacious. Staff is polite but service is a little slow.

Food is good. All rooms have nice views of snow capped mountains. Hotel has a lawn with sitting and i think this is one of few hotels with this luxury. Market is only 100 mts away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deee_kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Johnson Lodge, as you had mentioned in the heart of city, our hotel does have an old world charm with a modern edge to it. We would like to thank you for your appreciative words and are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the quiet yet central location of our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed there after completing our trek and the great staying of this hotel refreshed us completely from our last 7 days fatigue. The bar is superb and the snacks are just awesome. The view from the rooms are also very scenic yet it is just 5 min work from the main bus stand.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect and the cottage was also awesome. For family or friends cottage will be prefer...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soumyajithaldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that we met your expectations and found the services and hotel facilities to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.4 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#2 of 126 in Manali
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 126 in Manali
992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 126 in Manali
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 126 in Manali
714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#8 of 126 in Manali
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Lodge & Spa

Address: Circuit House Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manali
#6 Spa Hotel in Manali
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range: $68 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 6,726ft in the magnificent Himalayas, Johnson Lodge is a fairy tale lodge set in the heart of Manali. Just a stone throw away from a dense pine forest with an impressive view of the towering mountains and a 5 min walk to the Mall, Johnson Lodge's ideal location draws visitors from all over the world. Johnson Lodge is a fine example of the colonial era with a sprawling beautifully head out garden. Wood paneling and unique art work creates an aura of old world charm. Wooden flooring,rich furnishings complimented by modern amenities make the rooms- a home away from home, a luxurious retreat. Soaked in the space that is accessible to all the adjacent sightseeing points, Johnson Lodge spells charm, delight and indulgence. The Bar and Restaurant at Johnson Lodge offers a wide range of cocktails/mocktails and mouth watering cuisines. The Spa Magnolia at Johnson Lodge offers specialized Ayurvedic treatments that leaves one rejuvenated. And for paws, claws and jaws- we are perhaps the most pet friendly hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Johnson Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson's Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing