We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peal Hidden in the Himalayas !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peal Hidden in the Himalayas !”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Last month i was in Manali for a vacation with my family.we straight away walked inside Johnson Lodge and asked if they had rooms available. Luckily we got one at the first floor. The room was very commodious, designed in a very simple but artistic manner. There is a big window from where you can have great views of the mountains. The place is very near to the Mall Road yet so quiet.You won't feel that you r so near to the market. They have an alluring garden inside the lodge where you can sit in the evening n have try some of their flavory cocktails.The food at the restaurant is divine.We liked the food so much that we never went out to any food corner. The best charm of the property is their staff. We would like to thank Nitin at the front office.We always saw him with a sweet smile on the face. And also Ankit and Vishal. I really admire the efforts of their PR girl Ankita who assisted us with the places to see in Manali. All you people are the biggest assets to this property.If anytime in life i visit Manali again, I would only recommend Johnson Lodge.You people are doing a great job. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: go first for the floor even others are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thakursk04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank You for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you found the rooms of the lodge comfortable and enjoyed the View along with the décor and surrounding landscape. We are Glad to know that you enjoyed the food served by our restaurant.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    162
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
193
129
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Johnson's is one of the , if not the best place to chill , eat , drink and stay in manali ! away from the busy market of new manali , its got the most perfect ambiance with lush green lawns and cleanliness all around. very polite and helpful staff ! i would recommend this place to stay to everyone if its in your budget !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FractalGlider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali and taking time to review our lodge. We are happy to know that your stay was comfortable in the lodge. Thank you for appreciating the ambiance and the open air sitting area in the premises.

We appreciate that you found our staff cooperative and polite. Reviews like yours motivates our staff to work more efficiently.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patiala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is something in the mystical mountains of Manali , I have been visiting Manali since past ten years. This time I stayed at the Johnson Lodge and I don't have anything but great views about this hotel. The staff ,food , services, ambiance , room linen , decor and cleanliness all impeccable. I am so very impressed with the hard work that the staff put's in hat's off and keep up the great work . Thanks for making my holiday so comfortable and full of memories to take back . I think Ill keep coming back to this place again and again . Salud !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very tastefully done . Comfortable and sunny .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayanti p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank You for your candid feedback and a five star review for our lodge. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the décor and loved the hotel. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you liked the view from our lodge and the ambiance .

We are happy to know that you liked our food and the bar. We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guest experience and welcome any suggestions.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in Manali this june and stayed at Johnson's lodge.We reached Johnson's on a drizzling afternoon and found the place cosy & quaint.We were quickly alloted our rooms and a hot piping lunch was laid .The food at Johnson's is awesome(which I guess everyone knows) but many would be aware that they also serve amazing Indian cuisine other than the yummy Italian.We were taken good care of esp. by Mr Ranjeet Negi (The Manager-who's now a good friend.) who made our stay very comfortable.He personally checks into the details- from guests,food drinks,music,reservations etc. etc.The rooms are big and very comfortable. Overall our experience at Johnson's-I have only one thing to say"MEMORABLE"-If you miss it,the loss is yours. Sachin-Delhi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachinnagpal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travellers,

Thank You for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you found the rooms of the lodge commodious and quiet. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the décor of the lodge. We are glad to know that you liked the Indian and the Italian food at our restaurant.

We appreciate your candid feedback about the services of our staff. This galvanizes our staff to work more efficiently.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was in Johnsons lodge this June with my family and group of friends . When I was told that we are booked in Johnsons , I was little apprehensive how the place would be ( considering we are so spoilt by Taj & Oberoi hospitality) ..... But I must say that we were not the least disappointed. When I walked into Johnsons I was welcomed by a warm cosy lobby of pinewood flooring which led to the den and to the sensuously lit bar . The whole place seemed ambivalent and nostalgic . It seemed to have appeared from the era of RAJ.. If the Britishers made a summer home Johnsons would qualify to be 1 . The staff was courteous and prompt ... Mr Ranjeet Negi( manager of sorts- he was more than just that) was very polite and friendly.... He made sure we feel at home . The food was simply sumptuous Italian and Indian (yes they also serve Indian) ... So if you are totally fed up of eating European food in Manali cafes during the day then Johnsons Indian is just not bad. ( also great for kids -- daal parantha) ...... Yes the music is little disturbing at night For kids ...If they can do sum sound proofing cause maybe all may not prefer to keep up till late , unlike us who danced like crazy on the amazing collection of songs that Mr Negi bragged day aft day .. Overall it was my BEST TRIP in the hills ...... Keep it up Johnsons. Would love to come back

Room Tip: Cottages are better any day or go for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supreet-nagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Johnson Lodge. It is of immense motivation for us to read such positive reviews. I am happy to know that you loved the stay in our lodge and you found the lodge beautiful. Thank you for appreciating the décor of the lodge. We are happy to know that you liked the food at our restaurant.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Last month i went to Manali for weekend and stayed with Johnson lodge. i would say that my stay at Johnson lodge made my trip a really awesome. The peaceful environment and comfortable stay provided by Johnson lodge was all that one need on a weekend for making it count. The Italian cuisine of the lodge was delicious and i had never eat so delicious food earlier. The staff is friendly and cooperative, specially the Front office, Mr Ankit Dutta And Mr Naveen.
they were very generous and helpful. overall Johnson lodge made my weekend really countable. it was really an awesome experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohit09Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank You for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you found the the lodge comfortable and enjoyed the View along with the décor and surrounding landscape. We are Glad to know that you enjoyed the food served by our restaurant.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Manali was my dream Destination. This summer my dream come true when i got opportunity to visit Manali 4th May 2013. The first thing in my mind where we can stay. We book Johnson Lodge . when we saw hotel we all are very happy because location of hotel is very good, rooms are good our room was on second floor and view from window was beautiful. Food was also good. staff was very cooperative and honest. When we leave Manali my friend forget her wrist watch that was very expensive. Ms. Ankita call us and told us about watch. She ensure she will courier wrist watch in our address and after a week we got a courier and Ankita fulfill her commitment . We realy thankful to Ankita and all Johnson Lodge staff. Next time when i got opportunity to visit Manali Johnson Lodge was my First Preferance...........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hemant956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review Johnson Lodge, Manali. We truly value the opinions of our guest.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay very comfortable, enjoyable and are happy to know that you found our lodge beautiful, easily accessible and with all the required facilities. Your appreciation of our services is a great source of encouragement to us.

We appreciate your feedback about the service and cooperation of our staff

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travellers.

With Regards,
Team, Johnson Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.4 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 118 in Manali
444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#3 of 118 in Manali
933 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 118 in Manali
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 118 in Manali
869 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 118 in Manali
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#8 of 118 in Manali
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Lodge & Spa

Property: Johnson Lodge & Spa
Address: Circuit House Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manali
#5 Family Hotel in Manali
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 6,726ft in the magnificent Himalayas, Johnson Lodge is a fairy tale lodge set in the heart of Manali. Just a stone throw away from a dense pine forest with an impressive view of the towering mountains and a 5 min walk to the Mall, Johnson Lodge's ideal location draws visitors from all over the world. Johnson Lodge is a fine example of the colonial era with a sprawling beautifully head out garden. Wood paneling and unique art work creates an aura of old world charm. Wooden flooring,rich furnishings complimented by modern amenities make the rooms- a home away from home, a luxurious retreat. Soaked in the space that is accessible to all the adjacent sightseeing points, Johnson Lodge spells charm, delight and indulgence. The Bar and Restaurant at Johnson Lodge offers a wide range of cocktails/mocktails and mouth watering cuisines. The Spa Magnolia at Johnson Lodge offers specialized Ayurvedic treatments that leaves one rejuvenated. And for paws, claws and jaws- we are perhaps the most pet friendly hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Johnson Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson's Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing