We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like i am in heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Johnson Lodge
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Feel like i am in heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Thanks for such a great stay if It is possible I want to live my whole life in Johnson lodge . I have lack of words to express my great experience of this visit . The location is so attractive and near to nature . The hotel staff is very cooperative and always present for my help . The rooms are very comfortable and unforgetable natural view of trees and mountains. The one thing that attract me most of its management which provides me neat & clean room and bathroom . The food quality is very good . It is not wrong if I say that i feel like king and hotel is just like my palace.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singhiskingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our lodge. Thank you for writing a five star review. This will inspire our management to work more efficiently. We are so pleased to know that you had a great time here at our lodge during your visit to Manali. We are grateful that you found the rooms of the lodge comfortable and enjoyed the View along with the décor and surrounding landscape. We are Glad to know that you enjoyed the food served by our restaurant.

We appreciate your candid feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    155
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
126
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We checked in the hotel on 25th may..the staff was helpful and the food was too good.....tandoori trout is a must have here.the only disturbance is the loud music which blares out almost everynight after 9 or so. There is a lot of alchohol going on and its a nuisance.
Try to take the room on 3rd floor or forget sleep before 12 night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shwetzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our lodge. We are happy to know that you had a good time at the lodge. We feel happy to know that our staff was cooperative with you. Also, we are glad to know that you liked the food at our restaurant, specially the tandoori trout. We apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the loud music played in the bar. We provided your feedback in follow up with our team. The party is organized only on Saturday nights for the outsiders as well as the ‘in house guest’. We deeply apologize for the uncomfortable night you had to spent at the room of our lodge. We will take this as a suggestion.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

i was amazed by the beauty of manali nd things got better with my stay at johnson lodge..many of my friends told me about the lodge..i thought what must be soo good about this lodge..but the experience was completely amazing..the ambience was great..the staff was really helping and cooperative..and i would also like to thank the sweet girl at PR..she was really supportive and was able to clear all my queries..so thumbs up to support and services of the lodge..the view was really amazing from there..there was calmness in the air which i loved the most..i had a great time at the johnson lodge..i'll come back soon but seriously Good job guys..you made my stay at the johnson lodge memorable..thank you soo much..nd johnson lodge-"5 stars" from my side..cheeers...!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karanj_orion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank You for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you found the lodge comfortable and enjoyed the View along with the décor and surrounding landscape.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am in Manali as I am writing this review...I usually don't write bad reviews or about negative experiences...but this is an exception..it's because they spoiled my trip to Manali, a good time that I was looking forward to when I booked this place for 2 nights (29 and 30 May and check out on 31 may) almost 3 months before through make my trip.

I was already in Manali 3 nights before I move to this place on 29th May. I called them in the morning on 29th and requested to keep my luggage and they allowed me to keep it and asked me to check in later at 2 pm, I happily did so and then headed to explore Manali with my wife and 4 year old son.

The SURPRISE was waiting when I came back to check in at 2 pm. There was an open air party going on (with ENTRY FEE) in the Hotel's garden with a very loud music (Rave, trance and what not.. I was told it was organized by the hotel owner).

I asked the front office staff about how long party would go on and I was told that it was for an all day (started around 1 pm) and late evening upto 10 / 11 pm event. I knew that the hotel has live music played in the EVENING (but that is inside in the bar area) but I wasn't ready for this. I just could not bear that loud sound..I was feeling cheated...I was there to relax to enjoy the food, weather and nice music but certainly not for this unwanted noise. I was given Room no 201 (that was on 1st floor, no complains about the room it is fantastic) None of us could sit inside the room for more than an hour with all the windows closed.

I requested the front office staff to reduce the volume at least and wanted to talk to the manager / owner, but my request was politely turned down and I was offered 50% off on that days room rate, the same place in which i could not seat/ relax for a minute. I asked them about how does it make any sense that I am not able to enjoy the place (for which I came all the way from Mumbai /Thane) and I am offered 50% discount (or even 100% for that matter)..I did not come here for getting a discount and getting unpleasant surprises. I was with my 4 year old son who wanted to sleep but could not. The staff was help less about the loud music as it was arranged by the OWNER himself/ herself. It was not just me but many other guests complained about it and I was surprised to see that...a party for mostly outsiders (with ENTRY FEE, so it was not for the in house guests only) not living in the hotel was more important than the hotel guest who all came from far away places. Finally I called up make my trip and cancelled the accommodation in the evening at 7 pm, thankfully i got a decent and peaceful place nearby got escaped this horrible noise pollution (it may be well suited in the disc/pub).

I went there with lot of expectations but the OWNER had some other plans for the hotel guests.

Well hotel and the food as reviewed here by many must be good/ great..but the Owners/ management certainly should not SURPRISE there hotel guest like this and take us for granted.

I have some snaps of this EVENT uploaded here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Umesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your comments about your experience you had at our lodge. We apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the loud music played at the day event. We provided your feedback in follow up with our team to ensure that everyone is consistent with how this situation should be handled. We are now introducing lounge music in place of very loud music. We deeply apologize for the uncomfortable night you spend at the room of our lodge.

Thank you for the suggestion and we hope to have the oppertunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

First off, there are two Johnsons. I guess in an earlier, simpler time, it was one big happy johnson's lodge. But now the property lies divided by a low boundary wall, separate entrances and two very confusing ( for the traveller ) names. Johnson's lodge and restaurant ( shows up as johnson's hotel on most websites), and the older Jimmy Johnson's Lodge and Johnson's cafe. The later is older and run by the aged parents and the doting daughter (she runs the cafe, and does a damn fine job of it. Fabulous food, and lively atmosphere, with live music on some evenings, plus a gorgeous sit-out area). The cottages are compact and have a genuine old world wood and stone feel. The former, and the newer Johnson is run by the son, who we were told, lives in Mumbai ( the owners of Johnson's lodge and cafe, the parents and the daughter,live in manali). While this trivia about the absentee landlord may seem insignificant, the discerning traveller will easily spot several differences in the upkeep of the properties.
That said, the newer Johnson, has now engaged an Italian chef, who runs a very tight and ship-shape kitchen. The food is simply amazing. Plus she has quite a presence. The hotel is pet-friendly, and assorted mutts can be seen in the well-kept front lawns at most times.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashthe14th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank You for taking time to review our hotel. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you found the ambiance of the lodge good. We are Glad to know that you enjoyed the Italian food cooked and served by our Italian chef at the restaurant.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Johnsons lodge was a last minute find at 11pm..in the night. We were tired after a long 11 hour drive and this hotel took us by surprise. Superb cosy mountain view rooms with classy wooden flooring. Confortable beds , new spotless clean soft linens and a good ckean bathroom. The staff very friendly and helpful. Lovery bar with some seriously sumptious italian food.all in all a very good stay. Good looking property and very walkable to the main market (5mins). Parking is a tight spot if u have a car but thats really not a complain. Good work guys keep itup. Will be back only to stay with you. I paid an awesome tariff of rs.3500 all inclusive with breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commando2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank You for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you found the rooms of the lodge comfortable and enjoyed the View along with the decor and surrounding landscape. We are Glad to know that you enjoyed the Italian food served by our restaurant.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

even before we checked in... they were so helping and understanding... it was our 4th trip to manali and we stayed at other resorts in our previous trips... every time we used to walk past johnsons ... we would stop n think nxt tym for sure this is gonna b our stay place... and i booked johnsons well in adv this year to make sure we were there... all of us had a very happy relaxed and memorable trip this year... all 5 stars for Johnsons Lodge!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitaligogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank You for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. Hope you had a great time here. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge.

We appreciate your feedback about the services of our staff.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manali
2.8 mi away
The Anantmaya Resort
0.4 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 118 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#8 of 118 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 118 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#7 of 118 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snow Peak Retreat
Snow Peak Retreat
#5 of 118 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Lodge

Property: Johnson Lodge
Address: Circuit House Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manali
#5 Family Hotel in Manali
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 6,726ft in the magnificent Himalayas, Johnson Lodge is a fairy tale lodge set in the heart of Manali. Just a stone throw away from a dense pine forest with an impressive view of the towering mountains and a 5 min walk to the Mall, Johnson Lodge's ideal location draws visitors from all over the world. Johnson Lodge is a fine example of the colonial era with a sprawling beautifully head out garden. Wood paneling and unique art work creates an aura of old world charm. Wooden flooring,rich furnishings complimented by modern amenities make the rooms- a home away from home, a luxurious retreat. Soaked in the space that is accessible to all the adjacent sightseeing points, Johnson Lodge spells charm, delight and indulgence. The Bar and Restaurant at Johnson Lodge offers a wide range of cocktails/mocktails and mouth watering cuisines. The Spa Magnolia at Johnson Lodge offers specialized Ayurvedic treatments that leaves one rejuvenated. And for paws, claws and jaws- we are perhaps the most pet friendly hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Johnson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson's Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing